We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous villa - and a great host”

Review of Stone Castle Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the shaded veranda enjoy the view sipping your favourite drink
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
view from the shaded veranda
enjoy the view sipping your favourite drink
sunbathing in style
treat yourself
lounging and dining is the shaded veranda with great views
sunrise colors
kitchen
hall by the kitchen
dining by the barbeque
barbeque
dining room
dining room
the fire place
view from the lounge
the lounge
the lounge
the lounge
single bedroom with study and views
single bedroom
dusk colors
single bedroom
single bedroom
a single bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
a view from above
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Marathon, East Attica Region, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cruiser40...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous villa - and a great host”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Eleven shapenote singers (3 couples and 5 singles) had a great week in the Stone Castle Villa, just after the school holidays were over.
The Villa was immaculately cleaned prior to our arrival – Michael has furnished the place really tastefully (mostly with English fixtures and fittings by the looks of things). Space was the key to our choice of Stone Castle Villa, but it delivered much more than that – two brilliantly equipped kitchens and 3 or 4 spacious sitting rooms and reclining areas, including the pool surrounds. The lift was a bonus – given the amount of water and wine we managed to consume! Everybody who wanted their own bedroom was accommodated and Michael seems to be on a continual upgrade path with the beds and some of the other facilities. The accommodation would easily cope with a couple of sizeable families – where youngsters need their own space.
Apart from the ‘singers’ who had some great performances both in the villa and outside, the Villa was really well sited for access to Athens, as well as the Marathon area and some very attractive beaches nearby. We were very pleased to have a couple of cars for dropping people off at the nearest beach which is a couple of miles away, and for shopping/touristy trips.
The house is completely private on a sparsely-populated section of the coastline. The pool area is beautiful – including the charming cat, christened Homer, who had very sophisticated tastes (although he was feral, and ate anything including uncooked tomatoes!).
Highly recommended – the welcome and hospitality of Michael was exceptional – we were all homesick the moment we left. We’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space is incredible
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please read all of the positive reviews. They're absolutely spot on.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Michael and Matina were indeed the hosts that have been previously described.
'Over and above' is an understatement...there will be a few lovely surprises which await you:-)
The villa is fabulous...There is air con in every bedroom and the pool is great.
My family of sixteen (including young children) had an absolutely brilliant time.
We loved the 'remoteness' of the villa and chose not to do very much except go to the local beaches/tavernas and
jump off the nearby rocks into the safe, clear sea..
However, there are many sightseeing opportunities locally but you do need a car in order to take full advantage of them-Michael will be more than happy to help you with this.
I would recommend this villa with out a doubt...and to have such a friendly, genial interesting host was a bonus.
Thank you Michael...We've just got home and are wishing we were still there. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's interest in our specific needs.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah0sul...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful well equipped villa with excellent views”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our group of 11 had a wonderful week at Stone Castle Villa in the last week of May. We were blown away by Michael's hospitality - he provided drinks and a delicious Greek meal for us on arrival which was totally unexpected and he was so accommodating with all of our requests. Michael lent us his Sat Nav for the week, which was such a help.

The villa is even better than it looks in the photos. It's multiple balconies and terraces gave us plenty of space to enjoy the stunning views. We were impressed that the kitchens were really well equipped.

Thank you for having us Michael and for a brilliant holiday. We would definitely return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you Sarah, It was so nice to meet you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryO2445...
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“SPOTLESS SPACIOUS SCENIC SANCTUARY”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stunning property, spacious, comfortable, beautiful décor, captivating views, will definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, Size of property, Captivating views,
Liked least: Mozzies
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you Mary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm S
County Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Stone Castle Villa was perfect for our week in Greece with our large group of 14 friends. The property is built on a hillside with stunning views out across the sea. The house is spacious with enough bedrooms (most with balconies), bathrooms, lounges and 2 kitchens. The house has a fabulous outdoor terrace which was perfect for meal times, day or night. There is also an amazing BBQ area with pizza oven included. The outdoor pool is also a nice bonus.
Michael was a great host. As we arrived late he had a meal prepared for us all. He was great to communicate with during the booking process and before we arrived. All question's were answered.
If I'm ever lucky enough to visit this part of Greece again, I will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you Colm for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and host you, you were a great group!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing