We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of honeymoon spoiled by this horrible accomodation”

Bodega El Molino de Cachi
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cachi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bodega El Molino de Cachi
Ranked #9 of 9 Cachi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2010

What was supposed to be something very romantic stay turned out to be a disaster. This hotel is a rip off with bad service from the owner and no English spoken so it is almost impossible to clear up misunderstandings. Owners knock on our door all the time, no moment of rest for ourselves. The worst of all is that the owners are unpleasant people. We felt trapped the whole stay and were very happy to leave. Don't go here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaffaJoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2010

Lets start with something positve. The location and the property are really nice and well taken care of. We booked the standard room but got upgraded to the suite when we arrived as other guests did not show up. This was a nice gesture from the landlady (Mrs. Durand). However, before we even got into our room (and before we could see what the price of the diner was) we were told that diner was almost ready and will be served at 8:30 pm (subtle detail: we were not asked if we felt like having diner). Please note that we arrived at 08:00 pm after a very exhausting drive from Cafayate over flooded roads. We didn't make a reservation for diner but we were tired and didn't mind so much about this although it felt a bit intrusive.
When we arrived in the room, we were unpleasantly surprised by the presence of a large framed picture of the two owners on a spot you can't ignore (and this suite is supposed to be a romantic room!). The next unpleasant surprise was that accoring to the hotel information book, the price of diner was USD 30 (excluding alcoholic beverages, of which no prices were shown ) per person which is very expensive according to Argentinian standards.
At 08:30 exactly the landlady came to our room to inform us that diner was ready. When we answered that we would be there in 5 minutes (because we were still unpacking bags and freshening up) she reacted annoyed. To be honest: the diner we had was very good and so was the wine but we couldn't help feeling far from comfortable in the stiff atmosphere as well as the attitude and presence of the landlady (if she was not present in person we heard her giving rude orders to the staff or having loud telephone conversations).
This uncomfortable feeling did not go away during the next day: please don't count on any privacy as the landlady keeps an eye on you 24/7: where ever you go, she is watching you. Besides this she does not hesitate to disturb you whenever she feels like. We are a well travelled couple but have never felt as uncomfortable as we did in this hotel.

The staff hired by the owners provided amazingly good service but are openly treated bad and are very obviously exploited by them. It is also clear that the fact that the hotel is overpriced does in no way benefit the hired staff.

Finally, although this has not been displayed on the website nor mentioned when we made the reservation, we found out upon arrival (by reading the hotel information book) that credit cards are not accepted. Cash only. This was very annoying as we had to go out the next day to find enough cash to cover the bill.

Our advise is: if you are a young couple, you better stay away from this hotel. Maybe it is more convenient for retired people but that is something we can not judge.
In comparison to other hotels we visited in the region during our 10-day trip this hotel is extremely overpriced.

PS: in case you really want to visit this hotel: be prepared for piped music (the Titanic soundtrack over and over again)
PS 2: in contrary to what one might expect visiting their website, NO English is spoken by the landlady. Apparently the landlord speaks some English but he leaves the contact with guests completely to his wife. He was only present when we paid the bill and even then didn't say a word.
PS 3: the landlady is all business and no prices are shown for the wine and other beverages. Beware!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank damaAMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Just happened on this page and although I had not written a review after my stay there several years ago I felt I needed to warn, "watch your money when paying your bill". The owners cheated me out of $90.00 and would not refund said when I brought it to their attention. The employees were wonderful and were treated like dirt. I gave one of the women who had a very young child some money and she cried.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

This is a charming property with all the amenities one could ask for. Alberto, his wife and their staff are warm and inviting, willing to share this special place with visitors.
We stayed in the master suite and it was amazing. The food is also special as is the scenery.

We traveled in Argentina for a couple of weeks and this was my favorite spot.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank workshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

After a long drive to reach Cachi there could have been no better place to arrive to draw breath and completely relax.

The El Molino was a wonderful place - a cross between a family home, a boutique hotel and a bodega - to spend a couple of days, and we would have happily spent more time here had it been possible.

The building itself is lovely, but it is the location that makes this such a spectacular place to stay. Set amongst mountains and vineyards, with little to disturb the peace and tranquillity other than bird song, this is the place to go to get away from it all in great comfort. The cool spring evenings were happily passed in front of roaring log fires.

We found the owners and hosts friendly, helpful and accommodating (notwithstanding the experience of the previous reviewer) including arranging horses for us to go trekking . The food, served in the splendid dining room, was some of the best of our trip, and the bodega's own wine was excellent.

A few kilometers out of the centre of Cachi, this is the perfect base for doing some walking, riding or just relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cachi hotels
6.4 km away
La Merced del Alto
La Merced del Alto
#1 of 4 in Cachi
340 reviews
8.1 km away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
12.9 km away
Sala de Payogasta
Sala de Payogasta
#3 of 4 in Cachi
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Hosteria ACA
Hosteria ACA
#2 of 9 in Cachi
259 reviews
8.2 km away
Art Hostel Viracocha
Art Hostel Viracocha
#4 of 6 in Cachi
68 reviews
8.4 km away
Hosteria Villa Cardon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega El Molino de Cachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega El Molino de Cachi

Address: Cachi Adentro, Cachi, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cachi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cachi
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"El Molino De Cachi Adentro" is a renovated mill on the edge of a ravine in the magical Calchaquí Valley. Hosted by owners Nuny and Alberto Durand, this charming finca is in a beautiful setting overlooked by the mighty 20,000 ft Mount Cachi. There are five bedrooms, each with en suite bathroom, a rustic atmosphere, and very charming and comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bodega El Molino De Cachi Hotel Cachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing