We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
USD 196*
USD 143*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 147*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 180*
USD 171*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 160*
USD 155*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 185*
USD 167*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 113*
USD 110*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 252*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
302
40
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
40
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbefore dinnerthe main houseisle of mullremote locationoff the beaten trackwine listwhite tailed eagleswonderful visita special placedrawing roombeautiful locationloch scridainat short noticesmall hotelfantastic foodstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Any trip to the Western Isles must include a trip to Mull to stay at Tiroran House. Laurence and Katie have created a perfect location to enjoy the delights of the Highlands with superb hospitality, delicious food and beautiful surroundings: you will be guaranteed a warm welcome and won't want to leave. Tiroran represents the best of Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCLEANSatATHOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had arranged to meet up again this year with some lovely friends we made staying last year and guess what we met some more new lovely friends who we have arranged to meet next June. Surely that tells you we were extremely happy with everything from the setting, the room, the wonderful staff and owners, oh and the amazing food! The company was so good we laughed so much, it was good for the soul. My husband took some persuading to come to Scotland last year but after just one day we had decided to come back! Roll on next June. Rob and Jan x

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We love the wild remoteness of Mull and when at the end of a long days walking you return to the welcome & comfort of Tiroran House it is an unbeatable combination. For us, the reason Tiroran stands apart from so many other places where we have stayed is Katie & Laurence's ability to make you feel how genuinely delighted they are to have you as guests and for the period of your stay you become a valued member of their extended family.

Together with their attentive, intelligent and charming staff, they are only delighted to accommodate your wishes and although it is an overused cliche, truly nothing seems too much trouble. On one occasion Katie's son James was conscripted to drive us to another part of the island which he did with great friendliness and courtesy so that we could repeat a walk which we originally did 30 years ago without on this occasion having to hitch home at the end of the day.

What have I left out ? Yes the food is excellent, both dinner & breakfast & Laurence's pre-dinner G&Ts with a choice of three scottish gins do stimulate the appetite. As some reviewers point out, Tioran house it is not cheap, but what a great place to stay in a wonderful part of Scotland. We were very happy there.

Simon. Oxfordshire

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great location. Beautiful gardens. Private beach.
Lawrence and Katie Mackay were the perfect hosts. They made us feel very welcome .
Bedrooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable.
Food was excellent.
We spent three days there and were very sorry to leave. We will definitely be back.
If you want 6* + service this is the place to visit. Nothing is too much trouble.

Iain and Margo Gray - Southport

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What a wonderful find. Tucked away in a beautiful location Tiroran house greets you through magnificent gates and a huge drive! ( I always wanted a house with an in and out drive ) You get this with Tiroran. Unpacking the boot before you park and having your luggage taken to the room is a great touch. Also, really liked the fact that the rooms have no numbers or names on the door and there is no lock (unless you ask for one) - Huge rooms and the East room looks over the front of the hotel gardens and down to the lake. We slept in an enormous bed (like princess and the pea) - and slept to the sounds of owls in the trees. It is such a quiet location. The dining was exceptional and I would say the best in our trip all the way from Islay up to Stornaway - well done to Laurence, Katy and their team - we will be back!! (the nice lady from the East Room). Only one piont to make, not all the rooms have showers (although they are planning too) - if you really need one rather than a bath with a hand held shower be sure to ask when booking! Just wonderful, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews