We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning country retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious, comfortable living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious, comfortable living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Spacious, comfortable living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Horspath, Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BusyLondo...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning country retreat”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I traveled up for the bank holiday with our 3 young boys to visit places around Oxford. We all loved the peaceful and pretty setting of Glebe Retreat- it had all the mod cons that we are used to at home (in London) but in the country side. The owners were very hospitable and ensured we had everything ready on arrival!
If the occasion arose and Emily would have us, we would love to stay there again and already spread the word among family/friends- it is a stunning country retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review of the holiday home, its an absolute pleasure for me to know how much my guests have enjoyed their stay and the property - we would love you and your family to come and stay again sometime in the future and I hope your recommendation to friends, family and anybody reading your review will be encouraged to visit. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1z123
Patras, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation close to Oxford”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 4 days in July with our teenage children. We all loved the accommodation (a recently converted barn) - very nicely done, nice furniture, very spacious, spotlessly clean, very organized and safe, plus... two ponies, two lamas and two very friendly dogs keeping us company on the field next to the house. The house is in a quiet rural location just off the Oxford ring-road, close to a "park and ride" (Thornhill) where you can get a bus into Oxford (20 min to the center) or London (OxfordTube or X90), or rent a bike to visit the nearby park (Shotover County Park). There is a Tesco Superstore close by on the ring-road (also a SportsDirect, Next and Boots). Only suitable if you have a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your break at Glebe Retreat. Your review is very complimentary of the holiday let and expresses the important fact of the ideal quiet location which is only a short journey from Oxford city centre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helma S
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed 7 days in Glebe Retreat and we adored it.The cottage was so spacious, clean and comfortable.We enjoyed the calm and the excellent view. Glebe Retreat was a ideal starting point for excursions in Oxford and around. We visited Blenheim Palace and the cotswolds villages and Oxford, of course.

The children loved the animals - even if the smallest child was a bit afraid of the dogs. Even she loved them ! The dogs were well trained and really family dogs. But the shetties were the reason why we had tears while leaving..

The owners live close by - thanks for the lovely stay! And thank you again for the Easter treat for the kids - thoughtful little suprise!

We would recommend without any hesitation Glebe Retreat for a stay and we plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no dishwasher
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Thank you for this great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope other potential visitors to Oxford are encouraged to book and stay with us at Glebe Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sibbowhu
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely converted barn for 2 weeks lovely and clean comfy 5 star and the owners are so helpfull thank you aran and emily for a wonderfull stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Glebe Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin0074
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fantastic break at Glebe retreat, it was clean, comfortable and homely, the views are amazing and our children loved the animals. We hope to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
I am glad you all had a good break and hope to see you again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing