We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
May DMK
Bangkok, Thailand

Over expectation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2020
I and my partner stayed here for a night and had a really warm welcome by the staffs. The breakfast was really nice. So many choices. It was the first time I tried "Kaw Tom Tak" or soft-boil rice with pork mixing with curry powder (Authentic breakfast in these areas). I'm Thai but never try this dish before. The hotel itself is pretty old but It's in a good maintaining. The location is perfect. It's located just next to the flea market and just 100 meters from 7-11, a well-know convenience store in Thailand. The room was really good. You can see the Ping river from the room from almost every room (I guess). Overall, nothing to complain about a price I paid for (Below a thousand THB for a twin room).
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
la chambre et le coin salon
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
3.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Wonderful wood cabins
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
2.9 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
    0.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Trip.com
    1.2 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    4.3 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Double room
      3.8 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      • Lol.travel
      10.2 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
      View more hotels in Tak
      Reviews (129)
      Filter reviews
      129 results
      Traveller rating
      26
      51
      38
      13
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      26
      51
      38
      13
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 129 reviews
      Reviewed 12 August 2019

      Hotel is showing a few signs of age. The shower was a bit low and the water pressure varied. Still, we loved the hotel. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, river views were spectacular, the night market is a short walk away and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was also very accommodating and anxious to please. We loved our stay here and hope to come back.

      Room tip: Higher rooms offer better views and be sure to take advantage of the breakfast
      Date of stay: August 2019
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank doncoppock
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 July 2019

      Staff were very helpful when we needed help with a puncture. The room was nice and big and the bathroom had more products than a lot of hotels I have stayed in. The bed linen was lovely and white and the pillows were so comfortable, unfortunately the mattress was uncomfortable. The breakfast buffet had a good choice and a coffee machine. Service was good, its a great location not far from the main highway, we stopped here for a night on our way north, good value for money, Not a bad stay.

      Room tip: corner rooms have lovey views and are big.
      Date of stay: June 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      2  Thank Susan E
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 June 2019

      HOTEL: An older hotel that has been remodeled and well maintained. The hotel lobby and check-in/checkout desk is located on the second floor. The large room, bed and bathroom is first class. We had a corner room with a massive bay overlooking the Ping River. There is a large refrigerator in room and plenty of furniture.

      STAFF: The staff is accommodating and helpful.

      BREAKFAST BUFFET: Is very enjoyable with a large selection of Thai Food and Western Food. Plenty of staff to assist. There is a coffee machine providing a nice selection of coffees.

      Thai partner gave the Breakfast Buffet a thumbs up!

      SUMMARY: A nice hotel, with a great river view. Good Breakfast Buffet to start the day.

      Room tip: a corner river view room is assume!
      Date of stay: May 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank victorkwaterford
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 April 2019

      The room was everything I could ask for. The staff were friendly and efficient, the location beside the river was picturesque, the food at the free breakfast was good and dinner at the Chomping Restaurant beside the pool (with a live band) was excellent. This place is a great value.

      Date of stay: February 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank Hillsper
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

      Best hotel option in Tak.
      Large rooms providing all requirements for comfortable stay.
      Old thai style wooden decor reminded us of our earlier years of travel. Large window access to lovely setting views across to Mae Ping River.
      Foyer, lobby setting and pool area a pleasant feel.
      Smiling staff kind and friendly.
      Parking provided was secure and professional.
      Price B1200 slightly above average with good breakfast provided - was worth our while.
      Local market a short stroll away with plenty of local food options was a bonus.
      We have earmaked for return again on our next road trip through the golden land.

      Date of stay: April 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank mark l
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews