We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jonathan C

A very good hotel.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2018via mobile
I travel to Tak quite a bit; this hotel is a great place to stay. It is very central and the river view rooms offer lovely views over the river and to the mountains beyond. It’s not a state-of-the-art glitzy hotel, but has a very nice, if slightly old-fashioned, feel. Rooms are a little dated but comfortable, spacious, and well equipped, and always very clean. I love the balcony restaurant overlooking the river and street scene below. There’s a live band every night....a two-piece reminiscent of sort you got in Benidorm in the 80s, which becomes a quiet karaoke for local crooners later in the evening. There is a brilliant adjoining nightclub with excellent bands and DJ, ideal for the party animals yet it is entirely self-contained so hotel guests get no noise at all. All in all, a charming, comfortable and decent hotel. I’ll consider it my base for all future trips to Tak.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
la chambre et le coin salon
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wonderful wood cabins
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
2.9 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
4.3 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double room
    3.8 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Baanpooya Hotel and Resort
      3.5 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
      Restaurant
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Lol.travel
      • Vio.com
      10.2 km from Viang Tak Riverside Hotel
      View more hotels in Tak
      Reviews (129)
      Filter reviews
      129 results
      Traveller rating
      26
      51
      38
      13
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      26
      51
      38
      13
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      12 - 17 of 129 reviews
      Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

      So went on a road trip and ended up in a small place called Tak, interesting place lots to see.
      We decided to stay the night and went into reception to see if they had a vacancy.
      We ended up in a twin room for 1200baht about $50 Australian plus 2 free buffet breakfast.
      The hotel is an old one and rooms certainly need up dating which is happening at the moment.
      The hotel is positioned on the Ping river hence the name riverside. Some views are better than others and our room had part view of the river and overlooking a huge car park which was being set up for the Saturday night street market this is a huge affair.
      Our room was a reasonable size with twin beds rather big however, it seems to be a common issue through out Thailand the beds are so hard that you could bound rocks off them should this need arises.
      Breakfast was open from 6am to 9:30am there was an assortment of food for breakfast both western and Asian chooses.
      No information provided in the rooms re: room service times that the restaurant is open ect.
      We had dinner in the restaurant on site, seating was on around the pool and balcony overlooking the Ping river also live entertainment which had a nice.

      Date of stay: November 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 2mumies
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

      In the title I named all the advantages, besides that the staff is very friendly and polite.
      You can take a walk along the river and when you’re a vegetarian, there’s a lady at the night market nearby, that can prepare a tasty Pad Thai for you.

      Date of stay: November 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank TorretjedeCorse
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 September 2017

      There are less expensive options in Tak, but if you want one heck of a great view of the Ping River with a backdrop of the Maesot mountains, get a wide windowed corner room above the 5th floor. Breakfast buffet is good, room is clean, beds and pillows are comfy. I tried first for sold-out trendy SoHo, and I'm kinda glad about how things worked out.

      Room tip: Corner room gives great views if it's on the riverside.
      Date of stay: September 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank onetwor
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

      Stayed here many time over the past 15yrs,sadly the hotel is starting to fail now,,the rooms and bathrooms are ok but now in need of updating,staff around the swimming pool in the daytime are non existent ,if you want food or a beer it seems like a chore and carnt be bothered,,staff on a nighttime are more interested in looking after small group tours than other customers,also food and beer VERY overpriced.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank shuftyUk
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

      Entrance and lobby look fantastic. Rooms really need an upgrade. I rarely complain but there was a bad smell coming from the toilet, constantly. WI-FI very slow. Room looked very old and tired.
      On the plus, good views of the river (from my room) and breakfast was ok.
      Didn't try the swimming pool.

      Date of stay: June 2017
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank 857ederp
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews