We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Val d' Orcia Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Certificate of Excellence
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Val d' Orcia Gem”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We extended our stay so we could soak up more of the beauty, ambiance and peace of the area and this small hotel. Spotless rooms and great food. The owners and management were probably the most gracious and accomodating we have ever been lucky enough to stay with. They would go out of their way at every opportunity - we felt truly special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlrw524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    39
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
150
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarteano, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Beautiful location outside of Bagno Vignoni, an ancient thermal spa town with magnificent views of te Val d'Orcia. Silvano, the manager and the chef, Eliana as well as the front of house staff are all extremely attentive and make you feel completely relaxed and at home. Silvano and Nando speak excellent English and Silvano also German, so this makes life somewhat easier for those who struggle with Italian!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscanJDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We booked 2 nights but when we arrived there we decide to stay one more night as the place was wonderful, quiet, clean, with excellent food and service.
The restaurant offers excellent typical food and wines, carefully selected and the place is a real paradise!
Hope we can came back soon there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterM7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We spent just one night here but would have loved to have stayed longer! The location just outside Bagno Vignoni is fabulous - it only took us a few minutes to walk across the little footbridge and up into the old village. Our bedroom was spacious and tastefully decorated. There were lovely views from the bedroom and from the bathroom too. (Oh yes, just as well we didn't want to watch the television - because it didn't work!)

Breakfast was excellent (I loved the super-fresh fruit salad) and the waiter was charming. We ate in the restaurant twice (on the evening we arrived and at lunch the next day). The food was excellent (although it would have helped to have had a menu in English too!). Service was attentive and relaxed - we never felt rushed. The gardens and swimming pool area were much more attractive than they appear on the website.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Hotel Osteia Dell'Orcia is a perfect example of what you see on postcards of the Tuscan landscape. It is beautifully situated smack in the middle Tuscany with easy access to nearby villages and towns. The hotel staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable with a good view, and the lobby or lounge area reminds me of the country lodge that it is. The restaurant serves a decent breakfast that is included in the room price while the evening meals are not that good and much too expensive. I recommend eating in the nearby town for better food at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione D'Orcia
4.1 km away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.5 km away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
8.6 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.2 km away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia

Property: Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Address: Podere Osteria,15 | Località Bagno Vignoni, 53023 Castiglione D'Orcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castiglione D'Orcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castiglione D'Orcia
Price range (per night): $217 - $317
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osteria dell'Orcia - a former 16th century post house, along the antique pilgrimage road "Via Francigena" where, along with the centuries, kings and princesses stopped to shelter and rest.A total refurbishment was carried out at the end of the 90s with a minute care to preserve the originality of the buildings and yet to include the comforts needed for the descerning travellers.16 lovely and well decoreted appointed bedrooms, all with its marble bathroom and Jacuzzi showers, restaurant and lounges, gardens and natural settings are an ideal environment to relax, wind-down and recharge between visits to art cities and heavy traffic.Local products and ltasty typical dishes are prepared with passion by Eliana, served in the intimacy of our restaurant, accompanied by selected local and tuscan wines, from the rich and generous regions of Montalcino, Montepulciano, Montecucco, Scansano and Maremma. During the warm season breakfast, lunch and dinners are served in the garden overlooking Bagno Vignoni and its colorful tuscan hills.The panoramic pool immersed in flowered gardens, at the bottom of Bagno Vignoni, along the banks fo the river Orcia completes this lovely property.An ideal stop in a strategic position for bikers and hikers with many itineraries along empty roads in company of an artistic nature with musical notes of singing birds and light breeze and its luxurious floraWellness and well being in Bagno Vignoni with its roman spa baths and several beauty-farms availble at the doorstep of our Osteria dell'OrciaITALIANO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia Italy/Castiglione D'Orcia, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing