We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera
Reviewed 3 October 2016

A little wary when we arrived for a single nights stay after reading some of the reviews; however, we were very happy with our stay. Reception were so kind and helpful, chasing up our bags from a transfer from another location and next day chasing up our taxi. Room was spacious and very clean and overlooked the historic fortress town above. Breakfast was actually really good - plenty of choice of the continental fare despite a large coach party of elderly Germans trying to eat the whole content of the table single handedly :) We had a 20 mile walk ahead of us and we found the spread perfect.

The surrounding town was not particularly vibrant but the local Coop provided the 'bottles' we needed to aid sleep. And at last for later that evening the satellite TV actually showed some English speaking channels unlike many hotels we visited.

Room Tip: It may be best to ask for a room overlooking the hilltop town above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BladderedBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

12 - 16 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We turned up here with no booking and the girl at checkin was the most helpful checkin person I have had anywhere in the world. We could only stay for one night so she recommended some places nearby and seemed genuinely concerned for us.
The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. And breakfast was included in our rate of €70 for the two of us. The position was quiet and picturesque. It is only a short walk from the piazza and restaurants and the lift up to the old town.

Overall, if you are not in the old town, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly I must stress that the staff were excellent and very helpful particularly our waitress for our evening meal (Ellen) and the receptionist
Now the room and in particular the bathroom which was tiny and very awkwardly fitted out and the walls seemed paper thin and noise from next doors bathroom was all too obvious

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Flamingo3820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Friendly staff and a great location this hotel makes for a clean and secure place to sleep. If you're after a bedroom with all the mod cons and style to boot this isn't the place for you, but if you'd like to be one of the locals and explore what the area has to offer then this makes for a great base. There is no pool or outdoor space but the hotel is located right in the town center, backing onto the pretty piazza filled with shops selling some of the best tasting gelato and Italian desserts.
The breakfast is definitely geared towards those with a sweet tooth, with offerings such as pastries, traditional sweet breads and cakes and when in season, fresh fruits. The espresso is fantastic and really when in Italy what more do you need than a shot of quality coffee and a croissant to match!
When booking, ask for one of the refurbished rooms (located on the third floor) and although not a luxury stay this hotel is a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Third floor, ask for a corner room overlooking the piazza, more windows that make the most of view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlp5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This was a one night stop on a walking holiday. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was poor and inadequate for setting us up for a day of walking. Despite advising I needed gluten free options, none were available and no hot food on offer, not even toast.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much the same, although some may have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1 km away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
985 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Tre Perle B&B
Le Tre Perle B&B
#6 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
114 reviews
0.8 km away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
984 reviews
0.6 km away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
456 reviews
4.1 km away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera

Address: Via Oberdam 5/7/9, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $78 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vecchia Cartiera Hotel
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera Italy/Tuscany - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing