We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to Montalcino. It is very centrally located and while not fancy it was clean and our room overlooked the "old town" above. The furnishings are very basic and the bathroom modest. But for a one night stay it suited our needs. Included in our cost was a fairly decent breakfast. We were able to explore the old town, which was a little jewel of a medieval village. Not overrun with tourists or tourist shops. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and good value for the cost. Also, the staff was helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvspain69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

We accidently booked ourselves at this hotel, when we meant to book in Siena. Upon arrival we realized our mistake and weren't going to cancel our reservation, except they welcome we received was quite nice. We were travelling with a baby, and they had a cot ready and offered us a larger room than we had booked to accomodate the cot. So in the end we stayed there, and quite enjoyed visiting the small town. The town is easy to see in a half day, but is a quiet get a way and a relaxing place to be. The hotel staff made us an excellent restaurant recommendation and it was the best meal we had in Italy over an entire week. The hotel itself is somewhat old, and had an old feel to it, but is clean and the large windows in the room let in alot of light, which was pleasant. Breakfast is included and was fine. While this is far from a luxury hotel, it will certainly serve it's purpose to discover the Tuscan area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is located at the center of town wich is at the center of toscany, close to all the import sites of toscany. The service was beyond excepted, the rooms were very clean and the buffet breakfast was very rich.
We recommend the hotel to all who wants to stay at toscany.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris_berezovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Nice situation in the very center of the town. A little difficult to find without GPS. The rooms are big enough and the bathrooms almost too well equipped (bathtub superfluous today?)
The staff are extremely helpful. The hotel is clean. The garage below the hotel is convenient situated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussiogjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Despite being in an old paper factory, the hotel itself is modern, clean and businesslike. Not incredibly charming but very comfortable and clean. Our double room wasn't huge but had a decent sized bathroom and a really comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was great, with a good variety of things to choose from.

The village is lovely, with a castle and a couple of nice squares to walk around. We drove to Siena very easily in under half and hour. We managed to find a free parking space right outside the hotel, so it may be best to try this rather than pre-booking a paid parking space.

We found the service to be outstanding - when checking out we asked for advice on a good route to take to Lucca as we wanted to see some scenery and avoid the motorway. The lovely lady on the reception desk went onto Google for us and printed out full directions, a map and talked us through the route.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoisinMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colle di Val d'Elsa
1 km away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
953 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Tre Perle B&B
Le Tre Perle B&B
#6 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
113 reviews
0.8 km away
Palazzo Pacini
Palazzo Pacini
#2 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Relais Della Rovere
Relais Della Rovere
#4 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
455 reviews
4.5 km away
Villa Sabolini Hotel
Villa Sabolini Hotel
#3 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
298 reviews
4.1 km away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera

Address: Via Oberdam 5/7/9, 53034 Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Colle di Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Colle di Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $82 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vecchia Cartiera Hotel
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera Italy/Tuscany - Colle Di Val D'Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing