We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
122
239
93
28
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
239
93
28
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool cycling tour old town sullen waitress hf walking happily stay here again beautiful location san quirico no air conditioning rooms are basic spent two nights hot water tuscany andrea meat cheese relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I stayed at this hotel as part of a cycling tour.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the town centre, but not too far.
The pool is a great touch, for a relaxation after a long day riding.
I felt thre bed and pillow were a little hard for my liking, but still bearable.
I did eat in the restraunt fior dinner, preferring to eat out In the town.
Breakfast had a decent selection of stuff.
Staff friendly and ready to help.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The hotel is not new or fancy but has lots of character. It has an interesting, even a little quirky layout which adds to its attraction - the kind of hotel where you can take a number of different routes to go between two locations. The food is excellent and restaurant staff very helpful and accommodating. Bravo to Andrea in particular, who was particularly helpful. Most meals are taken on the terrace, where you can eat while admiring the Tuscan sunset.

Our (family) room was spacious and had a combined changing room and wardrobe, which was handy. Two washbasins in the bathroom was as nice touch too, and a good strong shower. The only possible negative was no air conditioning, but I don't know if that's true for all rooms. It wasn't a problem for us, as in the evening and with the shutters closed, were were comfortable enough. Also close by our room were two seating areas, where guests can relax in the evening, with sofas and card tables and an open fire - not lit and definitely not needed in June, but it it's still a nice feature.

The pool is excellent and a good size, with "waterfalls" over-spilling from the kiddie pools at the upper levels. There is also a poolside bar though we didn't use it. The pool also has changing rooms next to it, which is handy for anyone who doesn't want to walk through the hotel in their swimsuit.

The staff were very helpful and also invited us to use the pool even after checking out of our room, as it was too early in the day to leave for our next destination. Also, the day we arrived was our youngest daughter's birthday, and in response to my e-mail request the hotel arranged for a birthday cake to be brought to our table after dinner. Near reception there is a computer available for use which was very handy as some home business came up while we there, and I was able to take care of there and then. The hotel does not charge for this (big thumbs-up here - I like hotels that don't see everything as a chargeable extra). The computer and operating system could use an upgrade, however, but it got the job done. (Sorry, I work in I.T., I can't help it.)

We enjoyed our stay and we would have liked to spend more time there, had our itinerary permitted. We would recommend it to anyone travelling in the region and we hope to go back there again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holdit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We were exhausted upon arrival traveling the Via Francigena and the additional uphill trek to get to the hotel was unfortunate. The reception staff was a little cold, the rooms were small and beds uncomfortable. As the hotel is a good distance from town we didn't venture out for dinner and were disappointed by the meal in the hotel restaurant. In fact, our worst meal in Tuscany...bland meat, vegetables and bread. The breakfast the same calliber. The pool is very nice however and most welcomed in the heat of July/Aug.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank N4770KGnatalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

The receptionist is not friendly. She did not smile , was very dry and did not guide us. The room was small but clean. There is a nice swimming pool. The breakfast was good. The restaurant is correct. It is not very close to the city center.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Flupke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Although we have been coming to San Quirico d'Orcia for over 10 years, this is the first time that we have stayed at the Palazzuolo. It's located in a residential area about a 10 minute walk from the town centre, with fantastic views looking south to Montalcino. The rooms are basic but are clean and well maintained. Make sure to request a room over looking the pool area if you want a good view. The pool area is the best aspect of the hotel comprising three linked pools, two smaller pools ideal for young children and a large main pool with a diving board. There is a life-guard on-duty who also manages the pool bar. The breakfast was a rather haphazard affair with items often slow to be replenished, if at all, e.g. the bacon and scrambled eggs. We were also disappointed that the breakfast offered standard hotel fare by way of meats and cheeses. There was nothing that was locally produced or typical of the region which was somewhat surprising given the wonderful produce that the Val D'Orcia is famous for.
The really negative aspect of our stay was the indifferent service from the reception staff who seemed to consider guests an inconvenience. For example, when we requested a iron and ironing board, we were told that there was only an iron available and that we should use the bed as a ironing board. On another occasion, when we asked at reception for some ice from the bar, our request was met with a sullen response and much muttering under the breadth. The hotel management really need to work on this aspect of their service, as it really spoils what should be a wonderful visitor experience.

Room tip: Request a room over looking the pool
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markandmaria_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews