We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
287
102
32
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
102
32
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts our honeymoon junior suite half board luxury hotel minute drive tuscan countryside american guests pasta dishes room for improvement remote location perfect place to relax lounge area explore tuscany breakfast buffet is overlooking siena magnificent view
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We were attracted by the stunning photos which was a mistake. The hotel is as basic as it comes. The room was like a hostel. The “double” bed was two rock solid low-cost mattresses shoved together. The noise carries through the rooms. The WiFi is powered by snails apparently, which sucks because there’s no cell coverage. The restaurant was a joke, no music, undercooked everything, staff hovering to swoop in and the moment your last bite leave the plate. Oh and the staff. The guy that checked us in was as rude as they come. It wasn’t the usual smiling welcome you expect at a Johansens rated place.

If you’re looking at this expecting anything above a hostel experience but just in a grand old Italian house, move on.

PS we don’t usually post reviews but this was so bad and so upsetting we want to warn others.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank awdrgyjilzcbm24680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Would stay in this hotel again? Yes
Positive: the property is really beautiful and a Tuscany jewel, the staff was very kind and supportive with us, helped with everything, including Gregory from front desk and provided a complete tour-guide for us in Tuscany, changed all my pre-plans and was perfect, he really knew to give us the hidden places that only locals knows, also the food in the restaurant is very good and the staff was provided us a very nice experience. The room has a great space, clean and the view is just what you expect in Tuscany, all the hotel facilities are very good and swimpool worth spending a good time drinking a sparkling, taste of the wines of the company that owns the hotel, I do recommend the Caparzo Brunello di Montalcino and also the olive oil that is delicious and produced just a few meters from the hotel.
Negative: rooms are very good but it's getting the time of a refresh, if you will use this hotel as a base to travel all around Tuscany, be prepared to invest additional time everyday as it needs a 15 mins to get to the main roads, our shower had weak pressure.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I brought a group of 40 travelers here and in short, the grounds and scenery are lovely, but the bedrooms feel like a pensione. Way too expensive for a hard mattress, cheap towels, and ants in your room.

The staff isn’t lovely or accommodating. There were a few standout staff members (Andre from the wait staff), but overall they were haphazard and cared little about patronage. The worst staff member was the bar tender who was annoyed by serving customers and incompetent in service.

I will not bring any friends back here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bianca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We have been now second time here because we loved it for the forst time but this year we have got a puppy / a boston terrier - 5kg dog size of a ‘rabbit’ - adorable, good and nice to everyone, so we take him to our trip to Italy.
Funny thought, we had no problems at any hotel but only at Borgo Scopeto! In the middle of nowhere, where times actually stops. This hotel is signed as pet friendly and that is why we decided for it this year. But after our first night we received a ‘warning message’ to our bed in the room.. that our dog actually cannot move at their’s property so it can actually stays only in the room.
Excuse me, the garden is the added value of this hotel and anyone loves it because of it! Definitely the room is not a high standard room or a swimming pool neigher! We were shocked and disapointed. The very next day we haven’t have idea what to do. So we took our laguage and moved to the pets friendly hotel where we enjoyed our holidays with our little friend. Oh and the room was much nicer and cheaper, the vaitres actually brought us a coffe and did not ‘acidentially’ forget on it after few requests etc.
All dog lovers - forget about this hotel. It is not that fancy at all that they could afford such a behaviour.

Enjoy in chianti! ;)

Best,
Nastja Breg

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nastja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Our experience at the Borgo Scopeto was beyond disappointing. While the grounds are impressive, the property itself left a lot to be desired. The staff of the Borgo Scopeto was unimpressive and rude. At check in we had to basically pull information out of the front desk. We were offered no explanation of the property or the warm welcome we have come accustomed to in Italy. We were basically shuffled to our room. Speaking of the room. The furnishings and bed linens seem really old and tired. The mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable. The room also was simply not cleaned thoroughly, dust dirt hair. We also had a major incident at the property restaurant. We were planning to have a great meal but the incompetent staff attempted to serve a member of our party food he was allergic too. We spoke with the head waiter who made it clear he understood the allergies we even provided a laminated medical card. To make it worst, they clearly served the wrong for and argued it was correct even though the allergens were obviously present. Finally they recognized and apologized but if he would have eaten the food it would have been dangerous. We politely spoke to the waiter away from the table, and said we wanted to resolve the matter privately as they had already made for an embarrassing uncomfortable evening, but they brought the situation up all over again in front of everyone. They did nothing to compensate us except offer dessert which he could not eat, then they charged us for the dessert they said was complimentary for the table. The management of the front desk was not helpful at resolving the conflict. Overall there are much nicer places to stay in Tuscany. This property is out of the way and past its prime with some of the most horrible service we have experienced in a while. Look at my other reviews and you will see I rarely express such harsh criticism, but there was no way around this one.

Room tip: The room quality is quite poor, if you care about having a nice room, I would book else where
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyDoll6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews