We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant place, will go there again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casali della Aiola

Casali della Aiola
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagliagli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casali della Aiola
Süddeutschland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant place, will go there again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We are a family of four (5 and 8 year old children) and stayed for two nights.
We had several small rooms located in a beautiful garden next to an old vinery; the children loved exploring the gardens while I enjoyed relaxing in the shade of one of the trees in the garden.

The place is easy enough to find if you have the geo coordinates: N 43.25519 E 11.21250.
The atmosphere is very positive and friendly. You can reach the small village of Vagliali in 3 minutes by car; it has several small restaurants where you can enjoy local food of high quality. Siena is about 15 min. away if you want to do some sight seeing.

I can highly recommend this place - will go there again on our next Tuscany trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Our group of 5 stayed in two rooms at Casali della Aiola for three nights in May. We had a very nice stay. Fredericka goes out of her way to welcome you and is more than willing to give suggestions for touring the area. We were travelling with our senior parents and asked for a room that was a bit more accessible - that worked out well. One night we drove on the back road to Radda - bought food for dinner and had a delightful meal in the common room looking out over the countryside. We had debated about staying in Sienna and we were so glad we did not as it was so nice to be in the countryside. We travelled each day to Sienna and other hill towns Casali worked well as a base for travel through the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

We stayed at Casali della Aiola for 4 nights this August as my brother was getting married at another nearby hotel.

If you want a relaxing break with the sound of silence then Casali della Aiola is the place for you to stay.

Set in a georgeous and peaceful location, a 5 minute drive outside of the small village of Vagliagli. C.D.A is a small B&B which is clean, beautiful and offers a fabulous breakfast.

Your hosts are wonderfully hospitable and helpful if you need advice / directions / ideas.

The room we had had a large bedroom and large bathroom with shower over bath. Plenty of hot water and kept lovely and clean.

To overcome no window in the bedroom we opened the door and placed the gauze curtain over the opening, opened the bathroom window and had a great breeze flowing through.

The communial room is great and the visitors book overflows with praise for C.D.A

A 20 minute drive to Siena and 5 mins to the village which has a couple of great restaurants.

I'd highly recommend having a car when you visit this region.

  • Liked — The peace, tranquility and breakfast cake!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

My wife and I travelled to Tuscany during the Easter April long break. We picked this based on the previous reviews ( which also included 1 bad review ).
Firstly we were not disappointed like the previous owner.
Casali Della Aiola is a B&B which utilises a converted farmhouse on the site of the winery. The owners Frederica and Enrico not only run the B&B but a chianti winery as well.
Location: This is located 10-15mins outside sienna, north, in the countryside in a small town called Vagliagli. You'll need a car to get there, and the town is around 2 minute drive from the B&B. The town is small, has a fantastic restaurant,which we ate at, called La Taverna di Vagliagli and also a wine bar (which serves some food) and a small grocery store. The views are amazing with the sloping hills, vineyards.
Rooms: A converted farmhouse, two levels. Each room is tiled floors and has a renovated large bathroom with shower, toilet and bidet. The room has a massive closet, no safe, two tables and has heating. Unforutnately no windows in many of the rooms, so there is no private view of the tuscany countryside. The room is very clean and cleaned daily.
Breakfast: A small european continental breakfast provided with italian breads, great coffee, youghurt, meats and fruit (standard). There is a common room where people can buy wine or buy a glass (based on an honesty system). Coffee, tea, soft drink, bottled water are availble for purchase (reasonable-cheaper than a minibar).
Service/Reception: Enrico gave us a tour of the winery, how wine is made and the production facility ( we requested in advanced) and he spent a good 1 hour with my wife and I only explaining about italian wine ( and also free tasting too ). Frederica was fantastic - she would give us recommendations on where to do, draw the maps with clear instructions, give us some of the best restaurant recommendations in Tuscany ( ask her about the restaurants in Sienna!). Always available and always so friendly: she and Enrico made a big difference.

I was suprised to see the poor experience a previous reviewer had, but ours was great and we would stay there again; highly recommended

  • Liked — Great service, coutryside location
  • Disliked — No private views of tuscan countryside from room.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2006

Our stay was all we could have hoped for, and more. Set on a hillside overlooking vineyards and olive groves, Casali della Aiola is the epitome of the Tuscan setting. The owners' home is a 16th century manor house built atop the walls of a 13th century fort (the drawbridge across the moat now is the driveway). The B&B is converted from a farmhouse and buildings that once was a working farm on the ancient estate.
The breakfasts were a delicious array of foods, perfect for starting out a day of exploring the surrounding countryside and the nearby cities of Siena and Arezzo. Our room was spare but very comfortable and agreeable to our tastes.
By prior arrangement, we were given a tour of the winery by Enrico, who explained the entire wine-making process. Our one regret was that we could not take some of their wine home with us because we do only carry-on luggage for our flights, and the "liquid" would not be allowed. We did buy some wine for friends we were meeting in Rome, and especially enjoyed sharing the Vin Sante, a sherry-like apertif.
The drive to Casali della Aiola from the Siena exit off the highway has some of the most breathtaking sights in Tuscany.
We recommend Casali della Aiola highly to anyone who enjoys the quiet of the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vagliagli hotels
3.8 km away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.8 km away
Dievole
Dievole
#1 of 5 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.6 km away
B&B Casa Lucia
B&B Casa Lucia
#3 of 8 in Vagliagli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Agriturismo Castello di Selvole
2.9 km away
Casale San Lorenzo
Casale San Lorenzo
#1 of 8 in Vagliagli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 km away
La Pergola Del Chianti
La Pergola Del Chianti
#4 of 8 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casali della Aiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casali della Aiola

Property: Casali della Aiola
Address: 53010 Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Vagliagli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Vagliagli
Price range (per night): $125
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seven double bedrooms and the cosy junior suite have been restored preserving the original architectural features. Each room has a separate outside entrance facing the garden and the vineyards come right up to the house with an open view of the surrounding hills. In the former barn next door there is the breakfast room where Federica's fresh-baked cakes are served and the hay-loft upstairs has been tastefully converted in a living room where guests can enjoy the winery products. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casali Della Aiola Vagliagli, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing