We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
22
30
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
30
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herewaipu coveone bedroom unitshort walk to the beachheated pooldouble bedspadiarykitchenunitsdianedishwasheraccommodationfurniturecomfort
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great little spot, steps from the beach. No heat, and limited daily cleaning that was a bit disappointing as was the thin walls. Interior by Ikea rather stylish but also a tad limited. Could be improved with some small steps such as a hook in the bathroom or a mirror outside the bathroom. The towels are replaced and the beds are firm and made each day but the plae isn't swept nor the bathrooms swabbed and in a beach location this seems a bit off. It's a small complex but voices do carry. Pool is unheated, spa on site.

Surrounded by large campground that I'm sure can get noisy at the height of the season. Free laundry, broadband internet, and a place to hang the wash. Super great manager who is so friendly and kind making us feel at home and as if he was available for any of our needs.

There's a lovely restaurant next door that rocks. Buy a few simple things to prepare and you'll be set. I think I would have stayed here for a longer time if it weren't for the kids screaming in the pool. It's in a quiet location and you can walk almost 25km on the white sand beach into the wildlife refuge with few people and no dogs, lots of bird life and great views. We had to wear raincoats and sunscreen as the weather was wacky but I can imagine it is alive and busy in better weather. Super place to unwind but don't expect a party scene.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool as voices carry and if that annoys you'll have a hard time escaping it.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a quiet little resort complex in a tiny settlement on the northland coast, about halfway between Auckland and the Bay of Islands. I love that it only took us just over an hour to get there from the North Shore yet we were so far away from it all. The rooms are in excellent condition and have all the equipment for self-catering. We'd planned to eat at the next-door restaurant but found it closed for mid-winter so had to drive to Waipu township about 6 minutes up the road. No problem, the Pizza Barn was a great substitute with affordable food & friendly service.

We followed the advice in the resort visitor guide and took the clifftop path south of Waipu Cove beach to some 'pancake rock' formations - not really a patch on the West Coast pancake rocks but a very pretty spot anyway. And the beach itself is glorious - huge sweeping vistas with surf rolling in and offshore islands adding interest to the view. We returned home refreshed and renewed after just one night away. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Range of room sizes to choose from.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latte-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and thought the place was brilliant! Our only suggestion was maybe a TV in the bedroom and a larger couch or a couch bed?
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fayenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The term 'resort' is probably a little inflated for this neat and modern motel located in the ever-so-family friendly Waipu Cove. I suspect that this was once a rather nondescript little motel that has had a canny makeover: the rooms are not large but the fittings are modern and stylish, and the decor creates a feeling of spaciousness that probably wouldn't look as generous on a floor plan.

Our room had a seperate (small) bedroom, kitchen/living and bathroom. Breakfast isn't provided. You could whip up a quick breakfast or light meal using the facilities, but probably not much more. There was amply room for two to sit and watch telly, however, as the weather was warm and pleasant we enjoyed a glass of local white wine on the outdoor setting located through the double glass doors at the rear of our room. The motel has a restaurant (really an upmarket pizzaria) that looked a bit overpriced. It's the only real choice in town besides buying food from the even more overpriced general store. The evening we were there however the restaurant was closed, and we enjoyed a meal in nearby Waipu town, about ten minutes drive away.

Waipu Cove is geared mainly towards family camping, so this is the only choice besides B&Bs of various quality sprinkled along the roadside. As such, its not at all a bad choice. Just make sure you buy up some supplies on the larger towns either side of the cove unless you want to be held hostage by the outrageous prices next door.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

One hour's drive south of Whangerai and 10k south of Waipu will bring you to Waipu Cove, a delightful little community on a perfect swimming beach. The Waipu Cove Resort is basically the only Motel in the area (there are other B&B's), however with this one there is no need to look any further.
The twelve rooms are spotless, completey modern, fully self contained and offer free broadband internet access. Other facilities are BBQ's and a free laundry for guests. Management (at the time of writing) are a delightful couple and extremely helpful in every way.
There are many attractions in the area - great walks and several superb beaches. Be warned though - shopping is extremely limited so if you are travelling from the north stock up at Waipu Town at a 4 Square there or for greater choices try the large Super Valu at Ruakaka just east of Waipu , otherwise get your provisions at any major town travelling north.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews