We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Amazing location, service, and place"”
Review of Waipu Cove Resort

Waipu Cove Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waipu Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipu
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Really love this place.. Been here twice and I cant wait to go again .

Absolutely love the location. Cant get any better. Love the pool and spa too... Really neat and tidy .

The guy who also runs the place is nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great little spot, steps from the beach. No heat, and limited daily cleaning that was a bit disappointing as was the thin walls. Interior by Ikea rather stylish but also a tad limited. Could be improved with some small steps such as a hook in the bathroom or a mirror outside the bathroom. The towels are replaced and the beds are firm and made each day but the plae isn't swept nor the bathrooms swabbed and in a beach location this seems a bit off. It's a small complex but voices do carry. Pool is unheated, spa on site.

Surrounded by large campground that I'm sure can get noisy at the height of the season. Free laundry, broadband internet, and a place to hang the wash. Super great manager who is so friendly and kind making us feel at home and as if he was available for any of our needs.

There's a lovely restaurant next door that rocks. Buy a few simple things to prepare and you'll be set. I think I would have stayed here for a longer time if it weren't for the kids screaming in the pool. It's in a quiet location and you can walk almost 25km on the white sand beach into the wildlife refuge with few people and no dogs, lots of bird life and great views. We had to wear raincoats and sunscreen as the weather was wacky but I can imagine it is alive and busy in better weather. Super place to unwind but don't expect a party scene.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool as voices carry and if that annoys you'll have a hard time escaping it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a quiet little resort complex in a tiny settlement on the northland coast, about halfway between Auckland and the Bay of Islands. I love that it only took us just over an hour to get there from the North Shore yet we were so far away from it all. The rooms are in excellent condition and have all the equipment for self-catering. We'd planned to eat at the next-door restaurant but found it closed for mid-winter so had to drive to Waipu township about 6 minutes up the road. No problem, the Pizza Barn was a great substitute with affordable food & friendly service.

We followed the advice in the resort visitor guide and took the clifftop path south of Waipu Cove beach to some 'pancake rock' formations - not really a patch on the West Coast pancake rocks but a very pretty spot anyway. And the beach itself is glorious - huge sweeping vistas with surf rolling in and offshore islands adding interest to the view. We returned home refreshed and renewed after just one night away. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Range of room sizes to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latte-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and thought the place was brilliant! Our only suggestion was maybe a TV in the bedroom and a larger couch or a couch bed?
Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fayenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The term 'resort' is probably a little inflated for this neat and modern motel located in the ever-so-family friendly Waipu Cove. I suspect that this was once a rather nondescript little motel that has had a canny makeover: the rooms are not large but the fittings are modern and stylish, and the decor creates a feeling of spaciousness that probably wouldn't look as generous on a floor plan.

Our room had a seperate (small) bedroom, kitchen/living and bathroom. Breakfast isn't provided. You could whip up a quick breakfast or light meal using the facilities, but probably not much more. There was amply room for two to sit and watch telly, however, as the weather was warm and pleasant we enjoyed a glass of local white wine on the outdoor setting located through the double glass doors at the rear of our room. The motel has a restaurant (really an upmarket pizzaria) that looked a bit overpriced. It's the only real choice in town besides buying food from the even more overpriced general store. The evening we were there however the restaurant was closed, and we enjoyed a meal in nearby Waipu town, about ten minutes drive away.

Waipu Cove is geared mainly towards family camping, so this is the only choice besides B&Bs of various quality sprinkled along the roadside. As such, its not at all a bad choice. Just make sure you buy up some supplies on the larger towns either side of the cove unless you want to be held hostage by the outrageous prices next door.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
1.1 km away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
41 reviews
0.1 km away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
341 reviews
10.9 km away
Mangawhai Lodge
Mangawhai Lodge
#2 of 5 in Mangawhai
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
38.0 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
148 reviews
10.3 km away
Mangawhai Chalets
Mangawhai Chalets
#1 of 5 in Mangawhai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Waipu

Been to Waipu Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipu Cove Resort

Address: 891 Cove Road, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waipu
Price Range: $128 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waipu Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Waipu Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing