We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
48
44
17
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
44
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool private car nice experience large balcony few weeks jacuzzi maintenance sylhet router foods stains washroom
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nazimgarh resort has got good architectural installations. But location is not at par. Room service is ok. But the price seems to be higher then that of service.

Overall good for visit and having leisure time.

Room Tip: Rooms having open balcony is better
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FuadMasrur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Sadly, this resort is long past its best and is falling into disrepair. A quick inspection of bathroom fittings reveals cracks, blocked drains and an unreliable hot-water system. We should know as we were moved to three different rooms due to experiencing problems in each of them. Even the final room had a leaky toilet but we were too tired of complaining to even mention this at the time.

Poorly trained staff do not know how to deal with guest complaints. They will look you in the eye and tell you that you whatever you are saying is wrong. Management explained this away by saying its staff were of "that level"; meaning they don't even have confidence in their own employees.

Upon booking, we asked for their cheapest room (called a premier room). We were told there were none available due to a conference. When we arrived, there was a conference taking part but in another section of the resort. All of the rooms around us appeared to be empty. On our last day there was no buffet breakfast available - we were told there were only 3 guests staying in the resort so it was not worth their while laying on the buffet. Knowing that the resort was almost empty we decided to try a little experiment. We called their Dhaka office and explained we were on our way to Sylhet and needed a room today and asked for the cheapest room (the premier). Amazingly, the agent informed us that all of these rooms were fully booked and we would have to upgrade to a deluxe room. Rather odd as we happened to be standing in the hotel whilst making the call and knew full well it was almost entirely empty.

When we confronted the manager in Sylhet about this he blamed the Dhaka office for not knowing what they were talking about and also blamed us for not being able to "listen properly". They were clearly caught in a lie and had no way out but to apportion blame to each other and their guests.

This was not our first stay at this resort either. We stayed there 2 years earlier where we also experienced problems (mainly with rude staff). We didn't have a problem with giving them another chance but after all of these problems there is no way we would ever return. What was really incredible was that when we did complain and happened to mention that we had problems on an earlier visit the manager said, "Well if you had problems before, why did you come back?"

I guess we would like to recommend everyone to follow resort manager's own advice and not bother staying at Nazimgarh as they clearly have no intention of acting on feedback or making any improvements to customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank LukeinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Nazimgarh for a couple nights, during a family visit to Sylhet. The hotel is set in a lovely garden but which are not actually that big. We were staying here with our 11 year old daughter, who enjoyed the grounds, small playground and use of bicycles. Reception was on the ground floor of the building opposite the main building. On the ground floor there was a games room where you could hire up to date playstations and games etc to play. This was a hit with our daughter. The first floor had the restaurant and pool. The food in the restaurant was good and service was fine. Our room was along a verandah, and was large with a huge bathroom and views from the back. The place definitely felt luxurious. We had a rented car and driver with us and took a trip to to tea gardens and to their other site upriver, which was very beautiful. My only comment on this was that a Sylheti group threw rubbish from the boat and nothing was said to them. If the hotel want to keep the place pristine, then they need to manage their Bangladesh clientele. We also had lunch in their other restaurant, where the food was OK but did not taste as fresh. I think that overall this place is going to be eclipsed be the Resort Sultan on the Dhaka to Sylhet road, which is due to open in spring 2014. The biggest downside it that it is ridiculously expensive and especially when tax is added to the bill on top of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel/ resort is located on the outskirts of Sylhet city.
You need to have your own car or rely on rented cars to reach there and roam around, as the public transport is not up to the standard.
If relaxing is your prime target, it is a good location.

Room Tip: Chose a room with Balcony
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have there for 2 days business trip in Sylhet. It is very refreshing experience. I love the place.I found myself near to nature. it is a peaceful place with good food availibility. You need car to visit outside. the kids zone is one of the best.I got the WOW feeling and recommend for relaxing sessions

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samir_shah_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews