We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
36
28
13
15
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
28
13
15
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews out of this world jacuzzi massage architecture lake spa pools
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Your first clue should be that you are driving up a very rough cobblestone road to the resort and when you get out to check in - it's a hut, nothing at all fancy. Next, you get the golf cart to your room, which is fine, but if you have ANY mobility issues, this is NOT the place for you to stay. There are no elevators in the rooms. The grounds are very uneven, steps that are very hard to navigate if not in good shape, steep hills, poorly marked trails and grounds.
Our room was definitely in the older section of the hotel. Yes, you walk in and to your left is the "bathroom" area that is open concept. Yeah, the toilet is wide open. Not the most appealing or useful if you have guests coming and going. Also, you are supposed to put your used toilet tissue in the garbage can next to the toilet vs flushing it down. The shower was good sized with average water pressure. They do supply a good quantity of bottled water and are always willing to give you more. Now, many of the other folks with us had no towels when they arrived, and we had trouble getting washcloths. The housekeeping service was not too bad, and we give them credit when the lock on our door would not open and the maintenance man was able to change it out while we waited outside the room. He also was able to figure out why the refrigerator wasn't working. The room itself had a king sized bed, with the canopy. It will NOT keep out all the bugs so be ready for a plethora of bug bites later. There is no AC, but a fan that circulates the air a bit. This section of the hotel is definitely dated. Other folks stayed in the "newer" section - and their rooms had at least a partially private toilet area. They also had TV's - that did not work, as well as a coffee maker but no coffee in the rooms. Be ready - the Wi-Fi they have here is V-E-R-Y slow, if it works at all. Make sure you have a good plan with your carrier.
The grounds and views are beautiful, but getting around can be a challenge, so be prepared. The staff was all in all very helpful in getting taxis for folks and storing luggage. There is no "gift shop" on the grounds, and walking to town is quite a ways away.
The restaurant on the grounds (really the only place you have a choice), there is no room service to the best of our knowledge, and rooms don't have phones anyway. There is a card with info who to call in case of emergency. The food was pretty good, but sometimes it is slow service. We had ordered a pasta dish that took a good 40 minutes to come out - they said it was because it was being "handmade". The breakfast brunch was worth the 210 pesos (about $10 at time we were there), and would recommend that.
It's a great place for a venue. It is of a fairly good value - about $140/night, but again the place is very tired and needs some updating. We did not use the spa so have no comment on that.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikiemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is for the restaurant only. Went to the restaurant for a group lunch. The service and food was very good and the view was beautiful. Our group had a variety of food and all declared it very good. We all shared a bottle of tequila with a tomato juice chaser.

Room Tip: Restaurant only, did not stay at the hotel
Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Grapthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Such a disappointment.

When you arrive you are welcomed by a beautiful view of the lake of Chapala. At the lobby it takes forever for the staff to find your reservation and they don't take American Express! They even offer you a 10% discount if you pay in cash, just because that money isn't declared to the government and they don't pay taxes over that cash money, so illegal!

The room on the "El Sol" building are apparently great until you try to make use of it, half the bulbs were burnt, the room was infested by moths, the staff tells you not to leave your shoes on the ground because bugs can get into them, even poisonous ones!

The restaurant Chac Lan is one of the worst restaurants I've ever been, the food is poor and it takes forever to get to your table. The restaurant staff gets angry if you ask for what you ordered.

The pools are great, there are different temperatures depending on what you want, there are some that are so dirty you won't believe it. Just look for the clean ones and you should be ok.

The free wifi is as slow as 1982.

It is a hotel for a 1 time experience, it is not worth the price at all. My advice, stay at other hotel and just visit this one for the view.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, but if you most stay at the room of "El Sol" building.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guillermo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We arrive at a beautiful location and seated at a table for six with a table clothe that has never seen an iron. My wine glass was chipped not only on the drinking lip but also the base that holds the stem. The food is not worth mentioning, the service less than okay and the bill was out of sight. I wouldn't recommend this establishment to anyone. Perhaps new owners and a lot of money to fix it up, then I might consider looking at future reviews before driving to this restaurant again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Cate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

I went with my family and friends for a birth day party lunch. We were around 14 persons. The view from restaurant was really nice and seems that resort was also nice but for people with money. I think people with less money o budget should not be thinking this as a option to go their and have meal. We ordered some ontrays and main course dishes and drinks . Service was though good but food was some lacking in taste..if i have to go to this place again i will go for view and ambience but not for the food the price is like guadalajara restaurant but taste was ok. I think this place is able to get people because of nice concept they have. I feel if food taste can be improved the experience will be unforgetable... for the car parking valet do charged 30$ each which i was also surprised because you can only go by personal vehicle to this resraurant and they are charging good prices in food so atleast they should do valet parking as complemantery and i suppose everybody gives tips to parking guys..

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rakesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews