We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice villa in a great location. Not maintained...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Blue

View from Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Swimming Pool
Entrance with outside sitting, ideally in the morning and at night Dining area (sits 12 people)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
View from Swimming Pool
Entrance with outside sitting, ideally in the morning and at night
Dining area (sits 12 people)
Contemporary Kitchen from Poggenpohl
Main Living room with all around balcony and sea view
Upstairs double bedroom with spectaculat view and en-suit bathroom
Upstairs en-suite Showerroom of Bedroom 1
Upstairs second double bedroom
Upstairs main bathroom with bathtub
Upstairs thirds bedroom, ideally for children with two single beds
Downstairs pool level sitting room
Bedroom downstairs with Doublebed
Downstairs bathroom with bathtub
Pool with Deck area and beautiful sea view, Dining Table sits 10
Apartment-Living Room with Sofabed sleeps 2
Apartment-Bedroom with Doublebed
Apartment - Bathroom with Shower
Konnos Bay circa 7 min from villa
Mimosa beach - Walking distance
Green Bay - Walking distance
Garden with Play area for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Protaras, Paralimni, Famagusta District

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rochelle...
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice villa in a great location. Not maintained very well.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of 9 stayed here for a week at the end of July 2016.

The villa itself is beautiful, it's in a very nice location and feels secluded enough from the hustle and bustle of the road to be quiet and peaceful.

When you arrive it's lovely on the eye and it seems modern and spacious. The landlord's were not at the property and instead had arranged for their acquaintance Gwen to meet us on arrival. Gwen lived directly opposite the villa so this was very handy if there were any issues.

Gwen walked us through the property whilst we waited for the rest of the party to arrive. It was a bit of an ordeal trying to figure out the light switches, as us nor Gwen were confident as to what switch was linked to what. Gwen was very helpful during our stay, she even provided us with Bread, eggs and Milk ready for our arrival. She would often pop by to see if we needed anything. On arrival we were given a remote for the electric gate securing the property and a set of keys.

The layout of the villa is great, it has lots of separate rooms and you definitely do not feel like you are walking all over each other whilst staying there.

The kitchen amenities were great, the villa has cupboards full of condiments and things you would usually forget whilst at the store which was nice. It has tonnes of cutlery, kitchenware and everything seemed in reasonable working order. The dishwasher was a bit temperamental and the door was very heavy and drops at rapid speed resulting in a lot of bumped shins. The oven also heats up to a ridiculous temperature and has a faulty button which means you cannot reduce the temperature at any point.

The living area was nice, it was very bright and open due to the HUGE windows and balcony. The dining table was also great as it could easily fit our large family around it comfortably with more than enough space.

On entry through the main door, there was a large standing fridge/freezer placed in a very awkward area by the dining table. This was a massive eye sore and Gwen assured us that she meant to move this but it was too heavy for her. This stayed there for the remainder of the trip and was a shame as we were sat at the dining table right next to the open back of the fridge/freezer - see photos.

The bedrooms were lovely. The upper floor consisting of the master bedroom with en-suite and the twin children's room were decorated nicely. The children's room seemed to have 1 normal bed and a temporary bed in there, one looked like a massage bed. No family members stayed in this room during our stay.

The second floor consisted of a lovely bedroom which was nicely decorated. My family members informed me that due to the large windows this room did get very hot and was uncomfortable. Also the extractor fan in the bathroom on this floor did not work.

The lower level bedroom and dining area were very modern and nicely decorated. This area in particular is nice as it has the open windows and sliding doors out to the pool area.

The sofa bed room on the lower level floor was so handy as this was our saviour after planning to stay in the apartment area of the villa which sadly smelled of mould and damp. The sofa bed room has a large sliding door which can be opened onto the pool area. This was a nice touch. The air con in this room was also the best in the villa.

The apartment area was very disappointing. The smell of dampness hits you on entering and it just seemed very dull and unwelcoming. The damp smell was a concern as the air was heavy and my partner has Asthma so we were unable to stay in this area in the end. We noticed that the landlord's had made an attempt to rid the smell as there was a dehumidifier plugged in in the main area of the apartment, however the machine was faulty as it did not work at all.

There is a fully working washing machine and dryer located by the pool area in a closed off section. This was very handy.

The main concern for us before visiting the villa was that we had noticed there were only 2 sunbeds shown in the photos. For a family of 10 this was not ideal for us. We instead bought our own inflatable sun loungers for around the pool. There were in fact 3 sun loungers on arrival, two plastic ones and one wooden one which were not the most comfortable. There is however lots of plastic sofa's and armchairs which were nice.

We did not use the outdoor Barbeque during the trip sadly, but it looked very inviting.

The pool was maintained very well during our stay, there were two people coming to clean the pool who did an excellent job. They did forget to turn off one of the pumps to the pool after cleaning but this was quickly resolved when one of my family members turned it off.

The only issue we had with the pool area was the very dangerous pool guttering around the whole area of the pool. We noticed on the first day that this guttering looked very tired and old. There were missing areas of the guttering and guttering would literally snap beneath your feet, and we are not heavy people! I have included photos of the guttering so you can see. This was alarming as two of us actually fell through the guttering and could have easily injured ourselves.

The garden area was well maintained as this was cut and tidied during our stay.

Gwen kindly provided some taxi numbers for us to use during our stay, this was very helpful. The taxi would arrive on time and take us into the main busy areas for a cheap rate. It was around 10 Euros for a one way trip.

When booking the villa and reading reviews of other people staying at the villa, we did see a mention of an extra charge during the check out at the villa of 150 Euros. I can confirm that even without much use of the air con's during OUR stay, we were also charged 150 Euros before check out.

WIFI was located on the lower level pool area and the password was on the back of the unit. This worked throughout the villa.

Overall our stay at Villa Blue was wonderful, we are very thankful for our stay we just felt that more maintenance would go a long way with this property. It was a lovely villa and with a little more love and care it would have been fantastic. Thank you to Gwen for all your help during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa is very spacious and in a great location.
Liked least: The pool guttering was dangerous and we felt the villa was not properly maintained.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shula R
Netanya, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The villa is amazing!”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The villa is realy more biutifull than the pictures.
Mind that the electricity they offer you cant be enough and we ended paying 80 uro extra for it although we bearly used the ac.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78stephc
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything was clean. The bedrooms were comfortable with plenty of storage.

Both Sabine and her husband were very helpful. Sabine was there to show us around on arrival and they were both there to check the house as we left. Happy to answer even the most trivial of questions . Nothing was too much trouble and the air con was fixed the very next morning after our arrival.
The only thing we were slightly disappointed by was the distance from the town, however as there was such a large group of us taxi's were cheap

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladycardi...
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Having never booked a villa holiday before I can honestly say I was nervous about doing so. We went as a fairly large group 7 adults and 5 children . The villa was exactly as it appeared in the photos . In fact the pictures failed to do justice to the amount of space there actually is. The house is so large that even with such a big group we didn't feel on top of each other. Easily enough space for 2-3 families.

In terms of location it is situated on the main road between Protaras and Aiya Napa making access to either very easy.

Everything was clean . The kitchen had any mod con you could ask for. The bedrooms were comfortable with plenty of storage.
The only thing I would say is the pool isn't heated so by mid October felt a little chilly in the mornings by mid afternoon though this wasn't a problem for most .

Both Sabine and her husband were incredibly helpful. They were there to show us around on arrival and to check the house as we left. Happy to answer even the most trivial of questions . Nothing was too much trouble. In all honesty both went above and beyond what we would expect and actually dropped us all off at a local restaurant on the the first night of our stay.

I would whole heartedly recommend this Villa to anybody considering it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space and the high spec feel to the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you for the nice review:) We are happy that you had such a nice time. Have a great autumn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicosia
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Thank you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing