We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice one night stay”
Review of Scandic Grimstad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Grimstad
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night only.
I got the most efficient check in ever, it didn’t take more than 2 minutes from getting in to get my key.
The reception area is very nice with interesting features of old houses in the upper walls.
The room is ok, but definitely the bathroom needs an upgrade. In general the hotel needs a refurbishment.
The breakfast was quite good with different options.
Location is also very good, right in town center, close to a lot of restaurants.
Most likely will stay here again, but it doesn’t seem the place to stay more than a couple of nights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank TomFarhias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilie H, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi TomFarhias.

Thank you for your great review.
Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Cecilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Perfect location in the middle of the old wooden houses in Grimstad, a pittoresque village at the Southern coast of Norway. Friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms, very close to good restaurants and the harbour.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank hansj0hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilie H, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi hnasj0hans.

Thank you for your great review.
Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed in Grimstad accidentally, not knowing the geography of Norway but were very pleased with the situation of the hotel, the comfort of the room, the breakfasts and dinners, and the helpful staff. As we had no car, we did lots of walking so being in the centre of the shopping area with wharves close by and the bus stop 5 mins away, it was just perfect. Great view from the roof terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzandvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilie H, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi suzandvo

Thank you for your great review.
Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

No good for more than one night stay. I stayed 4 nights and all this time they've only changed the towels, but nothing else. No washing in the bathroom, no moping, no vacuuming, no sheets changed, nothing ! For 4 (four) days ! And when I complained to the reception, the receptionist explained very candidly that they are usually cleaning up the room every 4th day when the client stays longer... At least the food was good :-)

Room Tip: Only good for one night stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristian Alexan... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilie H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Cristian Alexander.

Thank you for your feedback.
I will let the housekeeping department know about your review.
Hope to see you back soon!

Best regards
Cecilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Maybe I was unlucky but I got a room with the worst view ever (see image). In my honest opinion this hotel is average and so was my room (except for the view). Nothing wrong with it, but nothing special either. I paid NOK 1800 and at that price level I excpect something more than average.

The breakfast was OK I guess. Had everything, but again nothing special.

The hotel is situated in the centre of Grimstad and just about everyghint is at walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side as the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BjornChr2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilie H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Grimstad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hei BjorncHR2233.

Thank you for your review.
Many of you rooms do not have great view, but those rooms are cold and quite.
So it deponds on what you prefer.

When you retur to our hotel, please ask for a room with a sea view.

Best regards
Cecilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstad
5.4 km away
Strand Hotel Fevik
Strand Hotel Fevik
#1 of 4 in Grimstad
211 reviews
16.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
Clarion Hotel Tyholmen
#1 of 3 in Arendal
385 reviews
0.1 km away
Cafe Ibsen Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Grimstad Vertshus & Kro
Grimstad Vertshus & Kro
#1 of 2 in Grimstad
26 reviews
4.3 km away
Morvigsanden Camping
Morvigsanden Camping
#6 of 10 in Grimstad
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grimstad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grimstad

Address: Kirkegaten 3, Grimstad 4878, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Grimstad)
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Grimstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Price Range: $169 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Grimstad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the market in Grimstad our cosy hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting this charming town. We have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Get a good nights sleep in one of our comfortable rooms, eat a hearty breakfast, borrow a bike and go for a ride. Come back and enjoy a nice dinner in our popular restaurant Kjeller'n in the evening. Our hotel also offer you various meeting rooms in different sizes as well as our own garage and free WiFi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Scandic Grimstad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing