We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveller rating
641
456
241
146
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
456
241
146
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east village glass igloo set menu queen suite log cabin aurora hunting northern lights your luggage reindeer safari soup once in a lifetime unique experience reception area toilet and sink snow igloo small glass bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We stayed here as a young family in the week before Christmas 2016.

The infrastructure of resort itself is great and on first arrival it really is rather magical. We stayed in one of the new Kelo Igloo's which although very expensive was really lovely.

There are many activities nearby including husky rides, reindeer rides, cross country skiing, downhill skiing and lots more although if you have a car you find that you can often book them cheaper in the village than you can through the resort. We saw the aurora on most evenings and it put on some amazing displays.

So if I'd booked this as room only self catering holiday I think I would have left the resort with a very good feeling. However there were many downsides to the resort which reflect in me only giving it a 2 star review.

Firstly the food is truly awful. I have never stayed anywhere that is advertised as 1 star where the food was this bad, let alone the 4 star they claim the resort to be. There was only one choice of main course for the evening meal which was either Pike or Reindeer. They do offer childrens meals but if you never asked you would never have known - they certainly didn't advertise this! The service in the restaurant was very poor and unless you booked your time slot very early in the day you could end up eating very late at night. I ended up having a huge argument with the restaurant staff and resort manager over this when one night we still had not even been seated by 8.30. This is not what you want with little ones after an active day outside!

The overall quality of the staff at the hotel was poor. I understand that it is a busy time of year, but not once did I receive service from any of them that would justify the prices they charge or the quality they claim to provide. They often did not have a clue what they were doing, made numerous mistakes on booking our activities and not once apologised or tried to make things right. I wish I could remember the general managers name because after the incident in the restaurant he just walked away from me while I was complaining. He just turned his back and walked away. I was gobsmacked. I did later arrange for him to be there to talk to him on our day of departure, but he didn't even bother turning up to the meeting.

Perhaps most sadly of all was the rather pathetic Santa 'experience'. For anyone who has been to something like Lapland UK, you will be sorely disappointed. It is a group visit where you are walked around the resort by 'elves' who clearly have not been there very long as they often got lost or didn't appear to know what they were doing. The visit including meeting Santa, Rudolf and an Elf house. At one point our whole group got held up as a 'private' (read VERY expensive) viewing pushed in front of us so we all had to wait outside. At this point the Elf suggested that we visit the gift shop - so basically the majority of the Santa visit consisted of us either waiting outside or inside the gift shop. Oh and Rudolf wouldn't come out to see us. It wasn't cheap and honestly was a complete and utter rip off.

So I think you can see my issues. If you look at my reviews you will see that i am not a serial complainer. I often give 5 star reviews for great hotels and service, but this was definitely not one of those occasions. I was tempted to give it 1 star, but like I said the quality of the accommodation we stayed in was excellent so it does get a point extra for that.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sisisisisisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest

We're glad to hear that even though there were some issues with the service level, you enjoyed the ambience of the resort, the activities, and your accommodation.

We want to thank you for your feedback, and we'll always look for ways to make our guests stay as memorable as possible - that being said, since your visit about a year ago, there have been many steps taken to remedy some of the issues you had during your stay, and our more recent reviews reflect this.

We're hoping to see you back again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Such a lovely location - early November - snow had just started - fairy wonderland. Half board - excellent eveng meals - truly great - set courses - but food was top shelf. We stayed in cabin - 2 of us - had large bed plus 2 bunks - plenty room for family - very good but do not expect room service (bed not made daily etc etc). Short walk to main reception dinign area - lovely bar under glass igloo. Rooms are pricey - chose as you see suits. But add on activities very expensive (in my opinion) but were just great fun. Order of preferne - husky sled - fun fun and more fun and ogs just so friendly - snow mobile in middle of night - and we saw the lights to boot - reiondeer sled OK - also in middle of night. Visit to Santa - hmmm - not sure - very expensive for what we got. But would go back - just be prepared.

Room Tip: Read details carefully - we were 100% happy with cabin - chose to budget.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear John

Our team is delighted to hear you had a great time here in Kakslauttanen. We do our best to make sure there are activities for everyone to enjoy, and different accommodations for different tastes.

We hope to see you again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Before we came away we read the reviews on this site, there was one review that was quite scathing. Our experience was the complete opposite because we had done our research and knew what to expect. Our trip was stunning and was way beyond what we were expecting. We started off with one night in an igloo on the east side this was magical, we saw the northern lights and had the best nights sleep ever in the most comfortable beds. We got up early and headed off for a husky sledging ride by the time we returned our luggage was over in our log cabin in the west side. The log cabin slept 6 and was beautiful. Inside was a sauna and fireplace. We paid 35 euros for logs and someone came to cabin to show us how to light it safety. In truth you don't need a log fire as the cabins are lovely and warm. However imagine sitting in front of the fire whilst it's snowing outside and drinking hot chocolate to us it was well worth the 35 euros . The food was great and one of our party was gluten free, egg free and dairy free and they catered for this impeccably and the igloo bar a nice addition. Although the taxi to Sariselka is pricey (70 euros return) it is well worth a trip to beautiful souvenir shops and local bars and to see the cross country skiing path. After our trip to Sariselka we headed back to our log cabin on the west side, I would suggest staying at both sides as each side is different but both amazing. The staff at the resort were wonderful and really friendly and helpful. The resort itself is stunning in the snow with plenty of walks and sledging runs. We could not have had a better time anywhere else, it was one of the most spectacular holidays we have ever been on and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Igloo east side then log cabin west side
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank janemccabe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Jane

Thank you so much for your kind words, our team is very glad to hear we met your expectations and you had a wonderful time here in Kakslauttanen. As you said, there are many things and activities to see and do, and the resort really is breathtaking - especially in wintertime.

We hope to see you back again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We had 7 nights in the Kakslattanen arctic resort for our honeymoon and it definitely didn’t disappoint. I would strongly recommend people ignore the negative comments because they are simply not true!

Our first 2 nights were spent in a large glass igloo which has a shower room and toilet with hand basin. The Igloo is very warm and comfortable and we were very lucky that we viewed the aurora from the Igloo with ease. The photo attached was taken from our Igloo using a Go Pro time lapse setting. Our next 4 nights were spent in the Kelo cabins. These cabins are spacious and have the advantages of the Igloo as well as a large cabin. The open fire was great to use which we didn’t buy any wood for we just found fallen tree wood which worked a treat! The sauna in the Kelo was great too. Comparing the 2, I would recommend the glass igloo for viewing of the aurora as where they are situated there is less tree coverage and less interference. The Kelo is a lot easier to live in and function and is more comfortable. We had a final night in the Queens Suite which had excellent facilities which included a roll top bath, sauna and jacuzzi which was great to finish our honeymoon with.
The food was a bit of a worry prior to arrival as my wife is vegetarian and doesn’t eat fish. We need not have worried as the vegetarian option was excellent and suited her preferences extremely well. The meat and fish options were great and if you didn’t fancy something from the set menu then they would find you an other option. The chef takes great pride in the food and also the presentation in the restaurant which was great to see. The lunch options are quite limited to soup or sandwiches which were fine but as we were there for 7 nights it became a little boring! We just recommend having a big breakfast because the options are superb! We are still missing their breakfast!
The staff are global and not a lot of Finnish people there. The reception staff were very helpful with booking excursions, changing rooms and booking dinner. The restaurant staff were a bit hit and miss. The 2 outstanding restaurant staff Pum and the lady with red hair even made me a birthday cake and sang to me. After dinner we would go to the Igloo Bar for a beer or cocktail. Tui takes great pride in the drinks and delivers a great service to your table. The Igloo bar is great to look at your photos (wi-if in there) and talk to other guests.
The excursions booked through the hotel did not disappoint. The husky safari where you meet the huskies (all very welcoming and lick you a lot) and then the second part you go out on a sledge with them. You must do this!
We also did the last husky hike of the season which was epic. We were driven to the National Park and a hike to the top with the dogs pulling you all the way up! The views at the top are great with very strong winds and views of the Russia border. We drove a quad car as there wasn’t sufficient snow for the snowmobiles. Not great, but good to get out into the wild. We also went horse riding which was a interesting experience. We had a great group and a great Finnish guide who informed us about the experience well. A lot of the excursions may say Aurora hunting and overhearing people they feel angry they are going out hunting when it’s cloudy/snowing. You will need to think of it as a nighttime experience rather than aurora hunting as you are more than likely not to see it if it’s cloudy. We think ‘A Nighttime Experience with the Reindeer’ would be a better name and avoid negative people that don’t understand the climate getting angry!
If we were to go for 7 nights again we would most certainly hire a car to see more of Saariselka and Inari and I would say a 3-5 night stay is perfect for this resort. The owner who is in the west village a lot takes great pride in making the resort perfect so a big thanks to him for letting us share his Arctic dream. To summarise, this place is magical and worth every euro.

Room Tip: Igloos have best views of aurora
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
10  Thank DanielC2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Daniel

We're delighted to hear you had such a great time here in Kakslauttanen!
Thank you for your thorough review which will help many other guests a lot when they are planning their trip.
Like you said, there are many types of accommodation for many different preferences,
as well as adventurous winter activities in our frozen forest to enjoy.

Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you here again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Just back from a three day stay to mark a milestone birthday, and with the exception of Aurora playing hard to get while we were there, the entire stay was as I'd hoped it would be! We arrived to snow, a cosy Kelo igloo cabin, and a location that was balm for the soul.

Sure we had to change some of our activities because there wasn't quite enough snow, but that was made clear to us when we booked, and if we hadn't been happy with the suggested alternatives, the staff would happily have refunded the cost. And the alternatives were as close to what we had booked as the snow would allow, and were great fun, especially the husky experience!

There is a set menu for meals, which always included alternatives for the fussier among us, and the food was tasty and prepared to a high standard. As were the cocktails!

We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, and there always seemed to be a very relaxed atmosphere among the other guests. We spent lots of time passing through reception on our way to activities, drinks in the bar, or meals, and at no time did we see people queuing to complain or staff hard selling activities to the guests.

We had a fantastic experience that we talked about while we were there, and have been talking about ever since. We are now plotting an excuse to go back!

And yes, the resort is expensive. But it's a little bit of paradise many miles north of the Arctic circle and an experience to be remembered, not a package holiday to Tenerife.

We had an amazing inna fabulous location that more than met our expectations.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
7  Thank EdieM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Edie

Our team is delighted to hear your group had a fantastic experience here in Kakslauttanen! There's plethora of activities of all kinds, many things to do and see, and we're very glad to hear you enjoyed all of it.


Hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews