We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas on doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a lovely location - early November - snow had just started - fairy wonderland. Half board - excellent eveng meals - truly great - set courses - but food was top shelf. We stayed in cabin - 2 of us - had large bed plus 2 bunks - plenty room for family - very good but do not expect room service (bed not made daily etc etc). Short walk to main reception dinign area - lovely bar under glass igloo. Rooms are pricey - chose as you see suits. But add on activities very expensive (in my opinion) but were just great fun. Order of preferne - husky sled - fun fun and more fun and ogs just so friendly - snow mobile in middle of night - and we saw the lights to boot - reiondeer sled OK - also in middle of night. Visit to Santa - hmmm - not sure - very expensive for what we got. But would go back - just be prepared.

Room Tip: Read details carefully - we were 100% happy with cabin - chose to budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John

Our team is delighted to hear you had a great time here in Kakslauttanen. We do our best to make sure there are activities for everyone to enjoy, and different accommodations for different tastes.

We hope to see you again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before we came away we read the reviews on this site, there was one review that was quite scathing. Our experience was the complete opposite because we had done our research and knew what to expect. Our trip was stunning and was way beyond what we were expecting. We started off with one night in an igloo on the east side this was magical, we saw the northern lights and had the best nights sleep ever in the most comfortable beds. We got up early and headed off for a husky sledging ride by the time we returned our luggage was over in our log cabin in the west side. The log cabin slept 6 and was beautiful. Inside was a sauna and fireplace. We paid 35 euros for logs and someone came to cabin to show us how to light it safety. In truth you don't need a log fire as the cabins are lovely and warm. However imagine sitting in front of the fire whilst it's snowing outside and drinking hot chocolate to us it was well worth the 35 euros . The food was great and one of our party was gluten free, egg free and dairy free and they catered for this impeccably and the igloo bar a nice addition. Although the taxi to Sariselka is pricey (70 euros return) it is well worth a trip to beautiful souvenir shops and local bars and to see the cross country skiing path. After our trip to Sariselka we headed back to our log cabin on the west side, I would suggest staying at both sides as each side is different but both amazing. The staff at the resort were wonderful and really friendly and helpful. The resort itself is stunning in the snow with plenty of walks and sledging runs. We could not have had a better time anywhere else, it was one of the most spectacular holidays we have ever been on and will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Igloo east side then log cabin west side
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank janemccabe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane

Thank you so much for your kind words, our team is very glad to hear we met your expectations and you had a wonderful time here in Kakslauttanen. As you said, there are many things and activities to see and do, and the resort really is breathtaking - especially in wintertime.

We hope to see you back again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 7 nights in the Kakslattanen arctic resort for our honeymoon and it definitely didn’t disappoint. I would strongly recommend people ignore the negative comments because they are simply not true!

Our first 2 nights were spent in a large glass igloo which has a shower room and toilet with hand basin. The Igloo is very warm and comfortable and we were very lucky that we viewed the aurora from the Igloo with ease. The photo attached was taken from our Igloo using a Go Pro time lapse setting. Our next 4 nights were spent in the Kelo cabins. These cabins are spacious and have the advantages of the Igloo as well as a large cabin. The open fire was great to use which we didn’t buy any wood for we just found fallen tree wood which worked a treat! The sauna in the Kelo was great too. Comparing the 2, I would recommend the glass igloo for viewing of the aurora as where they are situated there is less tree coverage and less interference. The Kelo is a lot easier to live in and function and is more comfortable. We had a final night in the Queens Suite which had excellent facilities which included a roll top bath, sauna and jacuzzi which was great to finish our honeymoon with.
The food was a bit of a worry prior to arrival as my wife is vegetarian and doesn’t eat fish. We need not have worried as the vegetarian option was excellent and suited her preferences extremely well. The meat and fish options were great and if you didn’t fancy something from the set menu then they would find you an other option. The chef takes great pride in the food and also the presentation in the restaurant which was great to see. The lunch options are quite limited to soup or sandwiches which were fine but as we were there for 7 nights it became a little boring! We just recommend having a big breakfast because the options are superb! We are still missing their breakfast!
The staff are global and not a lot of Finnish people there. The reception staff were very helpful with booking excursions, changing rooms and booking dinner. The restaurant staff were a bit hit and miss. The 2 outstanding restaurant staff Pum and the lady with red hair even made me a birthday cake and sang to me. After dinner we would go to the Igloo Bar for a beer or cocktail. Tui takes great pride in the drinks and delivers a great service to your table. The Igloo bar is great to look at your photos (wi-if in there) and talk to other guests.
The excursions booked through the hotel did not disappoint. The husky safari where you meet the huskies (all very welcoming and lick you a lot) and then the second part you go out on a sledge with them. You must do this!
We also did the last husky hike of the season which was epic. We were driven to the National Park and a hike to the top with the dogs pulling you all the way up! The views at the top are great with very strong winds and views of the Russia border. We drove a quad car as there wasn’t sufficient snow for the snowmobiles. Not great, but good to get out into the wild. We also went horse riding which was a interesting experience. We had a great group and a great Finnish guide who informed us about the experience well. A lot of the excursions may say Aurora hunting and overhearing people they feel angry they are going out hunting when it’s cloudy/snowing. You will need to think of it as a nighttime experience rather than aurora hunting as you are more than likely not to see it if it’s cloudy. We think ‘A Nighttime Experience with the Reindeer’ would be a better name and avoid negative people that don’t understand the climate getting angry!
If we were to go for 7 nights again we would most certainly hire a car to see more of Saariselka and Inari and I would say a 3-5 night stay is perfect for this resort. The owner who is in the west village a lot takes great pride in making the resort perfect so a big thanks to him for letting us share his Arctic dream. To summarise, this place is magical and worth every euro.

Room Tip: Igloos have best views of aurora
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
10  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Daniel

We're delighted to hear you had such a great time here in Kakslauttanen!
Thank you for your thorough review which will help many other guests a lot when they are planning their trip.
Like you said, there are many types of accommodation for many different preferences,
as well as adventurous winter activities in our frozen forest to enjoy.

Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you here again!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just back from a three day stay to mark a milestone birthday, and with the exception of Aurora playing hard to get while we were there, the entire stay was as I'd hoped it would be! We arrived to snow, a cosy Kelo igloo cabin, and a location that was balm for the soul.

Sure we had to change some of our activities because there wasn't quite enough snow, but that was made clear to us when we booked, and if we hadn't been happy with the suggested alternatives, the staff would happily have refunded the cost. And the alternatives were as close to what we had booked as the snow would allow, and were great fun, especially the husky experience!

There is a set menu for meals, which always included alternatives for the fussier among us, and the food was tasty and prepared to a high standard. As were the cocktails!

We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, and there always seemed to be a very relaxed atmosphere among the other guests. We spent lots of time passing through reception on our way to activities, drinks in the bar, or meals, and at no time did we see people queuing to complain or staff hard selling activities to the guests.

We had a fantastic experience that we talked about while we were there, and have been talking about ever since. We are now plotting an excuse to go back!

And yes, the resort is expensive. But it's a little bit of paradise many miles north of the Arctic circle and an experience to be remembered, not a package holiday to Tenerife.

We had an amazing inna fabulous location that more than met our expectations.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank EdieM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Edie

Our team is delighted to hear your group had a fantastic experience here in Kakslauttanen! There's plethora of activities of all kinds, many things to do and see, and we're very glad to hear you enjoyed all of it.


Hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went in October 2017 with my wife and stayed in one of the igloos. They are very cosy and surprisingly warm even when it's -10 outside. We had a small igloo for two with a toilet cubicle. The larger ones have showers inside. We had to take the short 2 minutes walk to the shower and sauna block. Not a problem. The igloos have no storage or hanging space so you leave your belongings on the side or on the floor. As we were only there for a few days it was no problem to us. Maybe it's something that could be looked at though. Great motorised beds (2 x singles) which raise the head and/or feet for comfort.
The nearby shower and sauna block was clean and pleasant. The saunas were only on between 1700 and 2200hrs and are single sex. We would ideally have liked to spend time together but this was not possible because of this. We could not find any of the other reported saunas on the resort (they show one with an amazing roaring fire on the promotional film in reception)
The one reception area/restaurant/bar was a short five minute walk from our igloos. Very clean and run by extremely pleasant staff who all seemed quite new as they had to double check most things. Understandable in a new resort. Thank you to Ana-Maria in the restaurant for the top service.
When we first arrived we sat at a a table and looked for a menu. None were visible and then we realised it was a set menu. Not much of a problem as the food was very good and tasty. Steak on night one. Chicken on night two. Fish on night three. I don't eat fish and that was no problem as Ana-Maria organised chicken for me. Top marks to her and the kitchen team.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from: cereals, cold meats, pastries, cheeses, bacon, boiled eggs, sausages, hash browns, toast etc. Great selection.
Things to do: apart from the Northern Lights there wasn't much. At the time there wasn't enough snow for dog sledging. We could have walked the dogs for around €150 each person (no thanks) or met them for €50 each person. Gold panning was not available unless we went off site and paid double the €58 the resort wanted. There is horse riding and quad biking available but was not to our liking. The igloo bar area was empty and soulless so we kept away from there.
We did spend our time taking long walks around the huge resort just taking in the beautiful scenery. We passed the in-progress igloo tower and restaurant which looks like it will be awesome when done.
We passed by the lovely log cabins which look out across the lake and Santa's house.
(Note: the cabins only have typical, small windows so you have to keep coming out to check if the Northern Lights are showing)
We passed through the in-progress Kelo-igloos which are cabins with igloos on the side. Many are in use and many are being built. I suppose this is why some mention/complain of being on a building site. They look very good though and give the best of both worlds. The reception block for this area was under construction.
All in, we had a fantastic time. We actually got to see the Northern Lights! The resort will be amazing if it is built to its potential. It's nearly there but falling a tiny bit short.
If you are planning to capture the lights you'll need a camera that can go into manual mode. A DSLR is ideal but some pocket cameras can do it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chippa368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We're glad to hear you had a great time in our resort!

Just to clarify your point about the Glass Igloos - there are larger ones available with private showers, if the communal ones are not to one's preference.

Also, like you mentioned, there are many Kelo-Glass Igloos available - as well as rustic chalets - which include your own personal sauna compartment.

All in all, we take great pride in providing varied options for accommodation and activities, and we're glad you enjoyed your time here.

Hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saariselka
2.2 km away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
260 reviews
10.4 km away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
390 reviews
10.2 km away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
389 reviews
10.4 km away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
57 reviews
35.9 km away
Aurora Village
Aurora Village
#2 of 5 in Ivalo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort

Address: Kiilopaantie | 9, Saariselka 99830, Finland (Formerly Kakslauttanen Hotel & Igloo Village)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price Range: $812 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakslauttanen Hotel And Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Igloo Village
Kakslauttanen Hotel Saariselka
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort Finland/Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing