We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
641
457
241
146
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
457
241
146
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east village glass igloo set menu queen suite log cabin aurora hunting northern lights your luggage reindeer safari soup once in a lifetime unique experience reception area toilet and sink snow igloo small glass bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Just back from a three day stay to mark a milestone birthday, and with the exception of Aurora playing hard to get while we were there, the entire stay was as I'd hoped it would be! We arrived to snow, a cosy Kelo igloo cabin, and a location that was balm for the soul.

Sure we had to change some of our activities because there wasn't quite enough snow, but that was made clear to us when we booked, and if we hadn't been happy with the suggested alternatives, the staff would happily have refunded the cost. And the alternatives were as close to what we had booked as the snow would allow, and were great fun, especially the husky experience!

There is a set menu for meals, which always included alternatives for the fussier among us, and the food was tasty and prepared to a high standard. As were the cocktails!

We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, and there always seemed to be a very relaxed atmosphere among the other guests. We spent lots of time passing through reception on our way to activities, drinks in the bar, or meals, and at no time did we see people queuing to complain or staff hard selling activities to the guests.

We had a fantastic experience that we talked about while we were there, and have been talking about ever since. We are now plotting an excuse to go back!

And yes, the resort is expensive. But it's a little bit of paradise many miles north of the Arctic circle and an experience to be remembered, not a package holiday to Tenerife.

We had an amazing inna fabulous location that more than met our expectations.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
7  Thank EdieM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Edie

Our team is delighted to hear your group had a fantastic experience here in Kakslauttanen! There's plethora of activities of all kinds, many things to do and see, and we're very glad to hear you enjoyed all of it.


Hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Went in October 2017 with my wife and stayed in one of the igloos. They are very cosy and surprisingly warm even when it's -10 outside. We had a small igloo for two with a toilet cubicle. The larger ones have showers inside. We had to take the short 2 minutes walk to the shower and sauna block. Not a problem. The igloos have no storage or hanging space so you leave your belongings on the side or on the floor. As we were only there for a few days it was no problem to us. Maybe it's something that could be looked at though. Great motorised beds (2 x singles) which raise the head and/or feet for comfort.
The nearby shower and sauna block was clean and pleasant. The saunas were only on between 1700 and 2200hrs and are single sex. We would ideally have liked to spend time together but this was not possible because of this. We could not find any of the other reported saunas on the resort (they show one with an amazing roaring fire on the promotional film in reception)
The one reception area/restaurant/bar was a short five minute walk from our igloos. Very clean and run by extremely pleasant staff who all seemed quite new as they had to double check most things. Understandable in a new resort. Thank you to Ana-Maria in the restaurant for the top service.
When we first arrived we sat at a a table and looked for a menu. None were visible and then we realised it was a set menu. Not much of a problem as the food was very good and tasty. Steak on night one. Chicken on night two. Fish on night three. I don't eat fish and that was no problem as Ana-Maria organised chicken for me. Top marks to her and the kitchen team.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from: cereals, cold meats, pastries, cheeses, bacon, boiled eggs, sausages, hash browns, toast etc. Great selection.
Things to do: apart from the Northern Lights there wasn't much. At the time there wasn't enough snow for dog sledging. We could have walked the dogs for around €150 each person (no thanks) or met them for €50 each person. Gold panning was not available unless we went off site and paid double the €58 the resort wanted. There is horse riding and quad biking available but was not to our liking. The igloo bar area was empty and soulless so we kept away from there.
We did spend our time taking long walks around the huge resort just taking in the beautiful scenery. We passed the in-progress igloo tower and restaurant which looks like it will be awesome when done.
We passed by the lovely log cabins which look out across the lake and Santa's house.
(Note: the cabins only have typical, small windows so you have to keep coming out to check if the Northern Lights are showing)
We passed through the in-progress Kelo-igloos which are cabins with igloos on the side. Many are in use and many are being built. I suppose this is why some mention/complain of being on a building site. They look very good though and give the best of both worlds. The reception block for this area was under construction.
All in, we had a fantastic time. We actually got to see the Northern Lights! The resort will be amazing if it is built to its potential. It's nearly there but falling a tiny bit short.
If you are planning to capture the lights you'll need a camera that can go into manual mode. A DSLR is ideal but some pocket cameras can do it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chippa368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest

We're glad to hear you had a great time in our resort!

Just to clarify your point about the Glass Igloos - there are larger ones available with private showers, if the communal ones are not to one's preference.

Also, like you mentioned, there are many Kelo-Glass Igloos available - as well as rustic chalets - which include your own personal sauna compartment.

All in all, we take great pride in providing varied options for accommodation and activities, and we're glad you enjoyed your time here.

Hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Waiting for the transfer to the airport at the end of a 3 night stay, my companion asked “would you recommend this place to a friend”. I couldn’t answer the question. Now 2 days later and on reflection, my answer is no.

The facilities are fine. We had a Kelo Igloo cabin. Spacious, warm and comfortable if you can get past the Fred Flintstone design and the 2 star bathroom. For the price it’s not good. Food is fine. Set menu. Breakfast is 2 - 3 star.

The reasons this is not a place I recommend is two fold, Culture and Systems.

The pervading palpable culture is “get their money” The front office staff are nice but it’s clear they are told to push for the money. Never once are you asked if you enjoyed dinner, or your stay or a safari. You just get bills rammed under your nose. It is appalling

Systems. There are none. Waiting in the lobby to head out on an excursion, you overhear a stream of constant consistent complaints. Bookings and money taken for excursions that are not and were not running when the booking was accepted. Bookings that the customer was told were confirmed one day are lost the next. Paper forms, urgent calls to suppliers. It’s a circus.

So no. I would not recommend this place to a friend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank MichaelJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Michael

We’re glad to hear that even though there were some issues during your stay, you enjoyed our services and your Kelo-Glass Igloo. We’ve taken your feedback into account and will as always look to improve on our procedures. We hope you consider visiting us again in the future!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We read a few of the reviews on here that made out that the place may not be as good as we might expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a Kelo Igloo which I definitely think is worth the extra cost. There is much more space and a bit more privacy than the standard igloo. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and willing to help. We did two activities, the horse riding and the night aurora hunting, both of which we really enjoyed. Again, the staff at these activities were really good. The buffet breakfast is included and is quite good. Dinner is also included however there is only one option for each course with a second choice available if you request. Having said that however, my wife is lactose intolerant and the staff were particularly careful to ensure all of her meals were prepared carefully.

I do think a lot of the reviews on TripAdvisor for this resort are slightly misguided and unfair. Some guests seem to have failed to understand that this property is relatively isolated and in the arctic circle. Therefore you do not get all of the services, choices and luxuries that you might expect at a similarly priced offering in a more populated place. When you take this into consideration, I think that resort is actually very good and very unique. We wanted some quiet time in a cabin, reading and relaxing. We walked in the forest during the day and enjoyed the northern lights at night and we did a few activities during our 4 days there.

My only constructive criticism would be that the 35 Euro for firewood is too expensive and the saunas in the Kelo Igloo's were quite difficult to get hot. The door lets too much cool air in.

Room Tip: The Kelo Igloos are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sc0ttieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Guest

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kakslauttanen. Your feedback will be taken into account, and your positive words really make our team very happy. We strive to make sure you and all our guests have a wonderful time!

Just to point out the firewood expense – it’s related to fire safety, and in conjunction, our guest’s safety as well. While many people are comfortable using the fireplaces themselves, we have to be sure that everyone uses it safely - therefore the need to send our team to bring you firewood and instruct on the use.

We hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

the igloo is very cozy. outside can be very very cold, but inside you still have 25 or 26 degrees celcius (too much for me) ... we had to sleep with the door open. I hope you get a clear sky to see the northern lights and have one of the greatest nights of your life

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Jaime

Thank you for your kind words, our Igloos truly are a wonderful place to spend a night below the arctic sky! We've noted your feedback about the temperature in the Igloo and will look into it. Currently the Glass-Igloos are set at 25 degrees celcius.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back here soon!

Kakslauttanen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews