We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,734 results
Traveller rating
709
482
251
157
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
482
251
157
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east village glass igloo set menu northern lights log cabin queen suite aurora hunting igloo village bucket list reindeer safari your luggage once in a lifetime soup unique experience small glass snow igloo large cabin
Filter
Updating list...
951 - 956 of 1,734 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2015

This was interesting place to stay but obviously was a bit expensive. We stayed in a 4-person igloo but the shower room was too small and the toilet doesn't have a ventilation that goes OUT of the Igloo (it stays in the Igloo) - so we ended up using the toilets and showers in the reception area (and the sauna too).

It was also a bit irritating that the shuttle from west to east is not that convenient (and it is not walkable) .. you may end up paying 5 euros per person if you want to transport from one place to another.. some stuffs you can see in one village and not the other so you have to plan it accordingly.

Check out the pix here and some tips:
http://www.justjek.com/2015/04/hotel-kakslauttanen-and-saariselka.html

Room tip: East Village seems to be nicer
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sheldon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I knew before going here, that this was a basic hotel and we were purely going for the activities and the hope of seeing the northern lights what did we get everything as expected, but just not everything we needed. The rooms were clean,however they were not cleaned each day, therefore no fresh towels etc, no tissues in the bathroom, no tea bags or coffee sachets in the room, not enough firewood to start a fire or fire starters either, no clock, no radio ( didn't need a television). The inclusive meal package did not include tea or coffee after dinner. When we checked in we had to wait 20 minutes while the staff member made drinks for someone as there is not a dedicated checkin desk, when we left we asked three different staff members to book a taxi to airport, each said it was not necessary however the next morning we were told we needed to pre book as it was an early morning departure, we made it to the airport with only 5 minutes before check in closed.
We had major issues getting our luggage to our cabin as the pathway had not been cleared and we were pushing the the sled with our luggage up about 70 cm embankment of snow, the sled rope snapped off and our luggage was thrown everywhere, while we were happy to take our luggage by sled to our rooms the staff should be ensuring the paths are safe for guests at all times.
This hotel is expensive just a few little improvements could make it special, for now you are paying for location. The food as part of the compulsory tariff is just average at best.
Would I stay here again, probably because the location can't be beat, or maybe a smart operator will open up something to compete with them which will make them pick up their socks and provide. that little bit something more special.
We booked some of the excursions through them , however we also booked directly through Lapland safaris which can't be beat, check the price and compare the local operators before booking direct with the hotel. I'd actually give it 3.5 stars if possible but it just doesn't warrant 4 stars.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakslauttanen O, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about your stay. First of all, we humbly apologize for the unsatisfied experiences you had with us.

We have done important changes in our organization which we hope will bring needed improvements to our service and resort in next winter season.

We are also building new reception to East Village which hopefully will be ready for next winter season. After that reception staff can concentrate on helping guests with check-in and check-out, booking activities and transfers. etc. Cafe services will be then separately.

Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us, we hope we are given the opportunity to welcome you back someday.

Warmest regards,
Kakslauttanen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

First of all, after booking the hotel I was concerned that it had such mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but after our stay I know that it deserves a 5 star! I think the reason for such variance in experiences is because the site is divided into an East and a West Village. These are quite far apart and should not really be considered the same IMO, perhaps two pages are needed for reviews. Therefore, check which part of the resort you are staying in if you are concerned. We were in the East Village.

Again, another thing before I actually start reviewing, yes this resort is on the expensive side but this is why I title the review once in a lifetime. This was mine and my wife's honeymoon and we wished to do something a little different, i.e. not a beach! This hotel well and truly delivered and we had a great experience in the Finnish wilderness.

Now to begin, we booked all of our stay directly through the hotel. We wanted peace of mind that all would be sorted and it was, Angela dealt with our emails promptly. We booked five nights in a log cabin and one in a glass igloo. We also booked hotel transfers and excursions through the hotel. So we flew into Ivalo airport, amazing landing and then walking through the snow to the 'terminal'. You walk into the airport via passport control, no one was there, and our driver was right in front of us. He waited as the bags were delivered and then we all followed outside to a minibus. Tip: use the time as everyone is collecting the bags to put your snow boots on, we flew in wearing converse for comfort but you will need good footwear when at the hotel.

We flew in quite late so it was already dark so you don't see much on the drive but just large piles of snow got us excited. As it was late, the staff boarded the minibus when we arrived and actually drove each couple to their cabin. We were off first and two members of staff actually carried our bags to the door, let us in, showed us around and then left us to get settled. Dinner was at 8pm so we had a quick look around and then headed off through the snow. Tip: Take a torch!

Now I will talk about the food and the room. Dinners on all nights were very nice. It is a set menu but we did not have a problem with this. Reindeer on the first night got us in the Finnish mood but this did not continue and following nights saw us have curry, sweet and sour chicken, roast pork and steak, still very nice. Staff were excellent on all nights, we were not in a rush and so did not have any problems waiting occasionally. We did one night have an excursion at 7:30pm, so arrived for dinner at 6pm and simply informed our waitress to speedily bring the courses so we could be on time. Overall, very good, we didn't go hungry and drinks were reasonably priced. Tip: any drinks can be added to the room but to avoid a large bill at the end we asked to just pay each night, best to keep budget in check.

The cabin was lovely too. We had a large sauna and fireplace. The room was not cold and nice and compact for two people although there was space for four. There is a small kitchenette with fridge. We bought milk from reception and having bought teabags enjoyed our tea. I would advise also bringing something for lunch. The restaurant only serves rather expensive soup but we had bought cuppa soups with us which when had with biscuits kept us going between breakfast and lunch. Breakfast is a cold meat platter where you can have toast and/or cereal but also make some sandwiches to keep in the fridge if your really hungry!

Our one night in the glass igloo was a nice added touch. I would not advise spending more than one night here, its not necessary. The igloo is very small but nice to gaze up a the stars. When we awoke the next morning the whole igloo was covered in snow. We took two excursions, husky ride, (AMAZING), and horse sleigh ride. The husky ride I would 100% recommend, even though is was -34c when we done it!! The thrill of being whisked along is incredible and 'driving' is brilliant. The scenery just makes it more special.

We did get to see the northern lights twice, the second just making the whole trip. We had just sat for dinner and just after our starter, a staff member announced that the lights had just appeared right over the restaurant. We all went outside and the experience was incredible! It is beyond explanation but we managed to get some pictures too.

In summary this trip was beyond belief. The journey back to the airport, this time in daylight, took us through amazing rolling hills tree lined to the horizon. The hotel was the perfect compliment to the honeymoon and we had a brilliant time. I would not recommend it for family's or young children, its pretty cold. But, if your looking for a magical stay and once in a lifetime experience, then stay here!

I'm happy to answer any questions if you have any! thanks for reading and enjoy if you have booked!

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
43  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed here for one night in Febuary for my 40th Birthday. It was a truly magical experience. The igloos were fantastic very warm and comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't see the Northern Lights due to the cloud cover. The food in the restaurant wasn't very appetising, we had Reindeer and it was like leather. Th staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jo-Completekidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in the West Village, 2 in an igloo and 2 in a log cabin. We were very lucky to see the Aurora on 2 nights. The beds both in the igloos and log cabin were rock hard (and I am used to some very basic conditions in Africa). We were surprised that the rooms are not serviced at all during our stay - no beds made, towels changed or rooms cleaned. Under the beds were filthy and clearly rarely cleaned. You are expected to cart all your bags on a wooden sled to and from your igloo or cabin yourself, which if it is one a long way from reception can be quite strenuous if you are the wrong side of 60 years old or are disabled or unwell. The waitstaff were very friendly and helpful but were often expected to deal with large numbers of diners and the resort employs no local Finns. The food was particularly disappointing - and a dollop of sloppy instant mash topped with unappetizing chopped reindeer, for example. The breakfast buffet was sparse too. Lunch was unavailable, so we had to get the shuttle to the East Village, where the food was no better, and there was only one 7 seater shuttle to shuttle all guests. This resulted inevitably in a scrum for seats on the shuttle bus, so we only bothered once, and instead took a taxi into Saariselka, the nearest village and found a superb restaurant. There was no management presence at the resort, only one girl on reception, and an owner who put in a token appearance at the restaurant one night. The location of the resort is fantastic and the layout of the igloos and rooms and restaurants look super, and we felt a lot more could be made to improve guests' enjoyment.

Room tip: Igloos in West Village have shower facilities, others do not
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakslauttanen O, Johtaja at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write this valuable review for us. We are very sorry to hear about your negative experiences with us and will take this feedback seriously.

Daily cleaning is not included in the price and unfortunately this wasn't informed to you clearly enough. Also luggage handling is extra service, but of course we help older and disabled guests.

We are making improvements to our meals and we hope guests will enjoy more our food in the future.

Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us, we hope we are given the opportunity to welcome you back someday.

Warmest regards,
Kakslauttanen staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews