We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
72
9
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
9
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests one night enjoyed our stay meerkat hosts landscape namibia sossusvlei gazing lodge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is a beautiful, relaxing retreat, hidden in it's own little valley. We only stayed here one night, but wished we could have stayed some more. We had a warm welcome with drinks which we sat and enjoyed on the terrace watching the afternoon sun. Hanneke and Willem were very lovely and we had a beautiful, home cooked meal which we all enjoyed. Hanneke then packed us up a fantastic picnic lunch instead of breakfast as we were heading off to Sossusvlei for the day. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and far enough apart for privacy from other guests. You can walk in the surrounding area and we had time for a little trek up a nearby hill for a fantastic view. The dark skies provide fantastic star gazing. We so enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The hosts Hannetjie and Willem are wonderful, the setting is stunning and the concept simply beautiful. With great food and good service. This is a place that blends into the landscape in a way few others do. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at Barchan Dune. The drive from Windhoek (after some rains) was quite challenging for we city types!
The farm is set in some beautiful and stark country a long way from anything close to urban living. If you like your hotel with all mod cons this may not for you! No air con if that's important to you. However if isolation, large comfortable rooms, good food and good service (afternoon coffee delivered to your private terrace each afternoon) is important and a sense of real remoteness is your thing then Barchan Dune delivers.
Eating at a communal table is fun (depending I guess on the quality of other guests!) and the food (much produced on the farm) was very good.
The small natural pool (complete with tadpoles and other wildlife) was very relaxing but don't expect shimmering blue tiles and a poolside bar!
We had a great time in convivial company. We came away impressed with those that choose to live here as a lifestyle and having enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Instep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Burchan Dune Retreat had been frequented by a member of our party on several occasions. He positively gushed about it. It therefore had a lot to live up to and I'm pleased to say it did not disappoint.

The bungalow type room was large, lots of space and the view from it is spectacular. It was also comfortable and clean.

If you are looking for a break from the demands of life in comfortable lodgings, in a beautiful setting with excellent evening meals and breakfasts then this retreat is the place for you.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Our family (Anna 10, Roger 17, Josep 50 and I) stayed in Barchan Dune Retreat on the way back from Sossusvley. We loved it. It was such a quiet place! Beautiful and full of energy. The owner were wonderful and food was really good.
My son took some of the best pictures of the trip from the top of the mountain.
We loved their oranges. In the middle of the desert!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Núria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews