We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
73
9
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
9
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests one night enjoyed our stay meerkat hosts landscape namibia sossusvlei gazing lodge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at Barchan Dune. The drive from Windhoek (after some rains) was quite challenging for we city types!
The farm is set in some beautiful and stark country a long way from anything close to urban living. If you like your hotel with all mod cons this may not for you! No air con if that's important to you. However if isolation, large comfortable rooms, good food and good service (afternoon coffee delivered to your private terrace each afternoon) is important and a sense of real remoteness is your thing then Barchan Dune delivers.
Eating at a communal table is fun (depending I guess on the quality of other guests!) and the food (much produced on the farm) was very good.
The small natural pool (complete with tadpoles and other wildlife) was very relaxing but don't expect shimmering blue tiles and a poolside bar!
We had a great time in convivial company. We came away impressed with those that choose to live here as a lifestyle and having enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Instep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Burchan Dune Retreat had been frequented by a member of our party on several occasions. He positively gushed about it. It therefore had a lot to live up to and I'm pleased to say it did not disappoint.

The bungalow type room was large, lots of space and the view from it is spectacular. It was also comfortable and clean.

If you are looking for a break from the demands of life in comfortable lodgings, in a beautiful setting with excellent evening meals and breakfasts then this retreat is the place for you.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Our family (Anna 10, Roger 17, Josep 50 and I) stayed in Barchan Dune Retreat on the way back from Sossusvley. We loved it. It was such a quiet place! Beautiful and full of energy. The owner were wonderful and food was really good.
My son took some of the best pictures of the trip from the top of the mountain.
We loved their oranges. In the middle of the desert!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Núria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

The Barchan Dune Retreat was a challege to find tucked away in the mountains. Once arrived we were greeted with a lemonade made out of homegrown lemons. Our room was sort of a hobbit hole in the ground but with a great windows towards the valley. They did not lack in space and the bed was very comfortable. For dinner we tasted a perfectly cooked springbok steak made by our host Wilhelm. In the morning we got to say hello to the suricat lady who features on the brochure.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank B9180SWlouisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed 2 nights and could have stayed more. Hannetjie and Willem the most amazing hosts and we will never forget our stay with them. (Not forgetting Coco Lucky and Koerie!!) I would say this accommodation is between mid-range and luxury. We did a sun downer trip with Willem and experienced another sunset to remember for ever. Shared dinner and breakfasts with other guests - a wonderful way to begin and end the day. A model of eco sustainability accessible to us all of us if we have the desire. Willem's wine selection is marvellous too !! Jacky & Gary.

Room tip: Any room will be fine, wild zebra at night outside your room come as standard ha ha !.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank californiatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews