We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb!! Best holiday cottage ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Oak Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Oak Barn
The rear garden and one of the seating areas View of barns from nearby field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Welcome to Oak Barn
The rear garden and one of the seating areas
View of barns from nearby field
One of the decking areas with comfortable seating
Sitting Room with log fire
Dining area
Sitting room and dining area
Log burner and inglenook fire
Modern kitchen with microwave, oven and fridge
Kitchen with door through to main sitting room
Door from kitchen to back garden
Kitchen with door to sitting room and hall
Kitchen from back door
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom from en-suite door
Main bedroom en-suite
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Games room above garage
Games room pool table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RU1414
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!! Best holiday cottage ever!”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This really was a fantastic cottage. I'd read the reviews before booking and was hoping the cottage was as good as everyone had said and we were not disappointed. It was the cleanest, nicest, best equipped cottage we've ever stayed in. It was in an excellent location with all the beaches and main attractions within easy reach (about half an hour's very pleasant drive).

The garden was lovely with an excellent decking area that was a real sun trap in the evenings. The owners are very generous leaving supplies of all essentials (wash tabs, foil, cling film, etc etc) meaning you don't have to waste time and money buying provisions that you will barely use.

Evelyn sent a very helpful email a couple of weeks before our stay and then another a week before. She was always very quick to respond to any query we had.

Although we didn't take our dog on holiday, the house is very dog friendly and the owners even supply doggie biscuits, a lead and plenty of dog toys!

We wanted to book this holiday again straightaway for October half term but sadly it's already booked!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your very generous review. Glad that Oak Barn matched the reviews already given and that we have remained consistent in the year it has been rented. It is our holiday home and we try to keep it the way we would want to arrive and find a holiday rental. Hopefully not being able to book for October half term will not deter you from booking some time in 2018. We look forward to you booking Oak Barn again. Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Can't wait to rebook! A fantastic property in a great location!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The property is outstanding! from the moment we booked Evelyn was brilliant to deal with, and although the photographs of the property are great you are still blown away by the place when you actually arrive! Evelyn really has thought of everything you might need, we even started trying to think of things but they were there... even down to a needle and thread.. there were 3 generations of us there, the kids loved the activities available in the garden,.. the swingball competition was fierce! the location was great, only an hour to Cheddar and Wooky Hole...Book this house and you will not regret.. our best UK holiday... and will be booking again as soon as we can!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you for such a generous review. We are just pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Oak Bridge is our holiday home and we want to feel comfortable there as well as our guests. We hope you will book Oak Barn again and look forward to hearing from you. Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Glad you had a good weekend, and Oak Barn was as lovely and restful a place as we want it to be. The sunrise can be spectacular, pity we cannot order it for every morning. Look forward to welcoming you back. Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JJohn169
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wonderful barn - beautifully presented and the owner has made it so very special by leaving lots of holiday essentials. Perfect for children and dogs with so many bits and pieces provided so you don't have to bring it all with you. Great location for exploring Somerset and Devon. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you for being so generous with your review of Oak Barn. We are just glad you enjoyed your holiday in a place we enjoy so much ourselves. We would love to welcome you back again. Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnhey12...
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage / barn conversion”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fabulous comfortable cottage, excellently equipped and furnished. The welcome pack of wine and basics of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits was great. We found lots of extras we wouldn't normally expect - hand wash, hand cream, tablets for washing machine and dishwasher, kitchen paper, cling film, foil, loo paper, etc, etc - and these were particularly appreciated. The owner seemed to have anticipated our every need, even dog towels and dishes! The garden was great, fully enclosed so safe for children and dogs and with 2 tables so we could catch the sun at either end of the day. We stay in 2 or 3 cottages a year and can, without hesitation, say that this was the best ever! Can't recommend highly enough!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Just glad you enjoyed our holiday home as much as we do. We would expect all those items to be there so why shouldn't our holidaymakers. Thank you very much for your kind review of Oak Barn and we really hope we can welcome you back again. Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing