We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“VERY comfortable, warm and welcoming”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ingrid992...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY comfortable, warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can only agree with the other reviewers who say this cottage is immaculate. We spent an early October weekend at Peacock Cottage. Lovely to have a fire in the sitting room stove. The cottage is very clean and well cared for, and a great place to spend a few days. Lots of lovely walks round about and things to see – like Symonds Yat. A great place all round! We also arranged the cottage at short notice and the owners could not have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickle20...
Ashford Middlesex
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Immaculate, conveniently located cottage would definately stay again”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My friends and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at Peacock cottage and were impressed by the cleanliness, decor and lovely garden, lots of wildlife friendly plants. We were conveniently situated to access - Symmonds Yat to see the Peregrines, canoeing on the River Wye and RSPB Nags Head. We had lots more we wanted to do and would definitely stay at the cottage again.

Small improvements we would like to see:
We brought food and drinks with us so we could enjoy evenings in after busy days out, so really needed a freezer or fridge with freezer compartment to store ice for drinks. The weather was beautifully sunny and warm and we bought ice from the local shop but had know where to store it, put it in bucket but obviously didn't last long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, decor and garden
Liked least: lack of freezer, narrow access road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavel H
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“A child-friendly cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have spent several weekends in this beautifully renovated and very cosy cottage, which includes a log burner and all the modern comforts. It´s situated in a quiet location with lovely views of the forest and the sunset. The kids especially loved playing in the large, sunny garden with the outdoor dining area.
The owners are very welcoming and helpful, doing their utmost to ensure their guests have a relaxing and carefree time.
We look forward to going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outdoor dining area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie j
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cottage is lovely, with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. The cottage had clearly been decorated recently to a high standard and the surrounding area and garden were just delightful. The little touches like the welcome basket, free wifi and well appointed kitchen made our weekend all the better.

Only a couple of little tweaks would have made it excellent - firstly the spare room windows were painted shut which made for a stuffy night's sleep, and secondly although the garden was totally secure for our dogs, the gate ironwork was open enough for them to jump out so we had to use a wheelie bin to contain them!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful place to stay, cottage was delightful you need for nothing and so comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We traveled with friends just for a relaxing few days off from our busy noisy lives.
wasn't expecting too much as most people over rate their own place but this was wonderful right from the start.

It was so comfortable and had every thing you could ever need.
So much thought had been put into this cottage and you could tell that the owners just want you to have a wonderful time no matter what time.

No matter what time of year you go there is plenty for you to do and see, or if you wanted to do nothing at all and just relax this cottage is the place to go.

We would go there again no question about it.

Thank you so much

Allison and Brian

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing