We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!!!”
Review of Sol Caribe

Sol Caribe
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

On our way back to Tulum, we stopped by this cute little find after an adventurous fun day in Punta Allen. The margaritas did not disappoint! We missed the lunch window otherwise we could've tried some food.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Good food but not great. Staff tried very hard to be accommodating but that didn't make up for the small food selection. Drinks were amazing especially the pina colada. Some people say everything is covered in sauce but that is how it is all over that area of Mexico. I still enjoyed the stay and like I said the food was good. Fajitas were the best I've ever had.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We stayed 4 nights at Sol Caribe. What a pleasant surprise! I wasn't sure exactly what we might find so far down towards Punta Allen. We stayed in the beach cabana. Large & private with a big covered porch overlooking the beach.
It was the food that people will remember! The restaurant is small, with a menu that changes every day! Fresh & delicious! The fish tacos are not to be missed! The very best shrimp cocktail I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy! And I don't say that lightly...
Its worth trip to Sol Caribe, and what a trip it is!!

Date of visit: May 2015
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The food is excellent and carefully prepared, the bread and pasta are homemade. Stop by for lunch, if you are on a daytrip in the Sian Ka'an bioreserve and have a swim at this perfect beach.
The menue varies and this kept us very happy, since we stayed here for 2 weeks (!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank b2bb_mamacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Manager at Sol Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for this nice review about our restaurant. We are very happy that you liked the fresh prepared, all homemade food and the location directly at the beautiful beach.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day, you might want to try fresh lobster during your next stay, the season is from July 1st to February 28th.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Pleasant folks, good service, beautiful location, but $20/plate for fish tacos! Total tab with chips, guac, drinks was 740 pesos for two. I talked to the manager (who was very polite) about the prices and he explained the logistics of their location, expenses, yada, yada.

But we went to Punta Allen (even more remote) for dinner that same day and had _amazing_ fresh grouper with all the trimmings and drinks for 310 pesos TOTAL. A truly memorable meal, whereas the fish tacos at SC were nothing special.

This is a great spot with pleasant staff and a relaxed atmosphere, but the prices are ridiculous. Soak in the view here, then drive on down to Punta Allen for better food at a fraction of the price.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne R, Manager at Sol Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, especially as we have already received your wifes review for the same lunch break.

Therefore we will not explain our prices again and hope you understand our very special and remote location.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Caribe also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sol Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing