We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
264
86
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
86
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet village scallops log fire local suppliers bottle of prosecco village green a real gem both dinner and breakfast restaurant with rooms homemade shortbread itison deal the main hotel small hotel berwick upon tweed every member of staff fantastic food comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Room was good and had been recently refurbished. Everything required was available - tea, coffee, etc.
Dinner was fine dining. Staff were professional, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. King Scallops were delicious. Roast Loin of Venison and Roast Monkfish were both excellent and served with vegetables which were either unusual or unusually presented.
Breakfast was a bit on the large side. Smoked Haddock Kedgeree had to be ordered the night before but the portion was enormous. The lighter option of Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon also went unfinished due to the size of portion. Indeed a walk round the village was required to work down the breakfast.
We have visited on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pippin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

TripAdvisor need to introduce half marks because this hotel is a 4.5 and certainly a solid 4.

Myself and the boss booked an Itison trip to The Wheatsheaf Inn for a 2 night DBB. First impressions were very friendly staff and well presented accommodation. We were in room 1 overlooking the village green which is also on the main road. Not too noisy tbh as there isn't a huge amount of traffic.

Luggage dumped we headed to the bar. Guinness on the surger for the first pint but a great pint of Belhaven IPA after that. The boss had wine at £9.50 a large glass. I know you pay more for something better than Black Tower but i still think £9.50 is expensive.

Dinner on the first night was included. As was a bottle of prosecco! Boss had haddock risotto and i had fillet steak. Both very tasty and generous portions. No issues at all. A couple more drinks in the snug and off to a very comfy and well presented room. Cracking big tv with freeview and comfy bed ensured a lovely end to the evening.

Cracking Scottish breakfast for me and mushroom omelette for the boss. Perfect toast as well.

A day in Northumberland National Park worked up an appetite with another fillet steak and a cod dish for the boss. Lovely.

More drinks in the snug and a very relaxing night.

To sum up, very attentive staff, tasty food with generous portions, very comfy surroundings and lovely accommodation. My usual gripe is the price of wine. I know decent stuff costs more but the mark up on wine is scary. The boss felt there was a lack of atmosphere but it was midweek in November.

Would we go back? Definitely. A lovely time in the Borders.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The Wheatsheaf is a small hotel in this small village equidistant between Coldstream and Duns. Our room was well appointed, the bed comfortable, with good bed linen as was the quality of the towels and the fittings in the ensuite apart from the shower which let it down a little. Our room was large and warm , the curtains were attractive and blackout, unfortunately, the main window curtains did not have the end stop so light came in, annoyingly early opposite the bed.
The food is generally good and however we were a large group and some of our food was dry, or under/overcooked. You will definitely find something on the extensive breakfast menu, the smoked haddock and poached egg was especially good.

Room Tip: Good view from room 4 but you will have to walk up two flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine123Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Living not too far away from Swinton, we were passing around lunchtime and thought we'd give the Wheatsheaf a try for a bite to eat.
Friendly welcome awaits, prompt attention, ok it was midweek and not many other diners in the restaurant, but a superbly varied menu awaits. We had the home made minced beef burger and the Bookmakers sandwich both can be recommended.
The food served is excellent and very filling, both our meals were very filling and we were only able to manage one course.
Swinton is a small village in the Scottish Borders, there is a village green opposite the hotel giving it a very tranquil feel.
If you are staying in Berwick upon tweed, or near Kelso, or indeed anywhere in between, then give the Wheatsheaf a try, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We came upon the Wheatsheaf Hotel this evening by chance, driving from Coldstream towards Dunbar and needing to stop somewhere for a meal we almost drove past without stopping. A quick look at the menu and decor enticed us in. Bijou restaurant, lovely attentive service and a lovely menu and wine list. We both chose the the venison and were rewarded with a stunning dish, Michelin standard without the mini size portions ! We will most certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IanDayRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews