We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cacao B&B(Bijagua de Upala)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casitas Tenorio B&B(Bijagua de Upala)
USD 119
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Volcanes(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agutipaca B&B Farm(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Las Nubes(Bijagua de Upala)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
USD 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas Miravalles(Bijagua de Upala)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 40
Booking.com
View Deal
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
USD 211
USD 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
80
22
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
22
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutterfly gardencafe on sitewildlife reservesurrounded by naturethe ownercosta ricathree toed slothsspeaks fluentplants and animalshidden gemnight tourauthentic experiencewonderful placethe cottageshumming birdsrooms are cleangreat guide
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The rooms are a little basic and not very well lit. Shower water is tepid. Nice garden at with excellent nature walk guided in the grounds, recommended. Hummingbird cafe on site is useful. Very good breakfast and charming staff

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AntoniaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This lodge is in a great location and has its own trails for hiking/walking. There is an abundance of wildlife right outside your door. There are several sloths on the property and a variety of birds. The rooms are clean, bright and comfortable and nestled in the trees. There is parking near the rooms, but you are a short walk from the cafe which keeps it quiet. Wifi is available at the cafe and the food at the cafe is fantastic! A tour is offered which I did and it is definitely worth it! I highly recommend staying here and, when you do, make sure to hike to the Rio Celeste which is amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here one night when we were going to visit Rio Celeste the next day! Ate dinner and walked the trails before dark, resturaunt had good food! The room worked well for us all! Cold shower but nothing a couple country girls can't handle! We walked to trails at noght in the rain and tried doing our own night hike(only saw ants, spiders, and bats). Didnt book night tour ahead of time but wished we would have! Even worked out in the restaurant that morning before breakfast as thats where the wifi is. Beauiful grounds and nice stay!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Valori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

wonderful rooms, lodge, restaurant, trails. Family owners were charming and helpful with all of our questions and needs. Great setting for a personal retreat, or vacation spot for visiting Rio Celeste

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy59528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Beautiful setting with lots of birds and hiking trails on site. The hummingbirds battle over the heliconia for hours. I heard howler monkeys one morning. Staff is helpful. Rooms are comfortable. And the restaurant is good food at reasonable prices. I saw a red-legged honeycreeper (a dozen other species) while I ate breakfast (included). Adam

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elizabethsZ1423HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews