We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
72
26
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
26
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casado rustic place family hotel playing games tenorio national park the river hot water costa rica very special place amazing food horseback riding the owner parrots nets pousada internet tour
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We booked a horseback riding tour through a different lodging facility. We got to swim in the Rio Celeste, which was amazing (Just be cautious on rainy days. You can easily get swept up by the fast-flowing waters!). The horseback riding down to the river was steep and rocky at times. The horses did great and the host was awesome! We had a great time and got lots of fantastic photos on this tour!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VLO918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

These cabins and land are owned by the nicest family who really take a lot of pride in making their guests feel welcomed. Each member of the family helps with a different aspect of the business and lives on-site.

The cabins are about a 15 minute walk to Tenorio Volcano National Park where Rio Celeste is, about a 10 minute walk to the park of Rio Celeste you can swim in and a 30 minute walk to a coffee farm you can tour.

Even though this is waaay up in the mountains, there is a TV in the cabin and their internet always worked. Other than these features, it is an unplugged experience. The cabins are tin roofs with no A/C or heat and mosquito nets over the beds. The sound of the rain on the roof will give you the best night's sleep ever!

The cabins are quite rustic, so if that's not your jam, you may be happier at a more hotel-like place. Posada means hostel, so if you go in with that expectation, you'll be pleased. The walls are not sound proof at all, so keep that in mind when talking in your room! There is hot water.

Take time to explore around the cabins, because their garden is outstanding! Plus the owner (the mother) has two parrots - Francina and Francisco - who live in a nearby tree who are endlessly entertaining!

The restaurant (La Amistad) is right there and served amazing food!!! No menu; just ask for what you'd like (I think they only served the traditional casado dish, but you could choose what kind of meat and we couldn't get enough of it).

I recommend downloading Spanish on Google translate, as most of the family members only speak Spanish.

It rains almost every morning and although there was only one day where it rained all day, you may want to bring a deck of cards or something just in case. We ended up playing games they had there.

Bring warm clothes. I was surprised by how cool it got!

Bring binoculars. There are birds everywhere!

I also recommend visiting the Natural Surprise Rio Celeste. It's amazing!!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 272meredithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, really enjoyed the remote location, close from Tenorio National park. Breakfast is good... Rooms are nice too, just not really soundproof from adjacent rooms.
Would definitely recommend the place anyway

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 599raphaelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Nice and warm people. Clean cozy rooms. Tasty dinner! Beautiful area around. The walk to the river “surprise” close by, owned by the same owner, is highly recommended!! (Just 4 km from the park, the water is still Celeste. 6$ per person).

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank reutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed at the Pasada Rio Celeste La Amistad our first two nights in Costa Rica. Since we drove up from the San Jose airport in Alajuela and stopped at the Vulcàn Poas, it was already dark when we were looking for it. We used the app maps.me to navigate, which I would recommend to anyone renting a car since you can use it offline, it's mostly accurate and for free. Finding this accommodation though, wasn't too easy since they just changed the name and the maps did not have the right coordinates. It would recommend arriving there by day and follow the signs to La Amistad. 4x4 is absolutely essential. The dirt roads are quite rough and sometimes very steep and the dry weather made them very dusty. Most of the roads in Costa Rica still are dirt roads so don't cut down on a good ride but call Torsten from Wild Rider (german) and get yourself a Jimny.

We finally arrived around 10 pm. We were welcomed very nicely and they even cooked some dinner for us, although dinner time was long over. They make a delicious casado!!

The room was clean and simple. All good, but not very soundproof... when the guests next door chatted in the morning we could hear every word and we felt quite bad that we didn't know when we arrived late the night before.

When you are there, definitely visit the Tenorio National Park and there is a private national park there with a trail to a beautiful spot to swim in the blue water. It's run by the family that owns the hotel and just around the corner. It's a 700m walk down to the river, which is quite steep with many steps so walking up will make you want to go back to cool down again... Entry fee is 6$ pp.

Parking was for free. In the restaurant, there was wifi which could have been better. But that's what you should get used to when you travel through Costa Rica on a budget... we spent 3 nights overall without any internet at all at other places, which was quite refreshing but you should make sure you book everything as long as you are connected.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nibuab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews