We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
145
106
41
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
106
41
12
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We had a trouble-free and pleasant stay at this hotel. It is nicely located between Besse and Super-besse, close to the lake Pavin. We chose to have dinner there and most of the dishes were tasty and local (only the duck was a bit dry).

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank camilleh270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were looking for a nice, little, family run hotel, to disconnect from our day to day city life and have a healthy family break with some snow fun, that's exactly what we found.
The hotel is nice, clean, delivers a true mountain rural feeling and does perfectly what a 3 stars hotel is meant to do. The staff is very nice and attend at best your staying needs.
The location "Le faux" is a ten minutes walk to the nice medieval Besse village and a 10 minutes ride to the ski station Super Besse (which is small compared to the Alps but more than enough for beginners or those who haven't been on the slopes for a while and want to take it easy while taking some rust off). Only minor negatives are the poor wifi connection (which due to the thick walls doesn't manage to get its signal beyond the central corridor) and a very small wine selection if one doesn't want a full bottle.
We as a family greatly enjoyed the stay (the room we got was huge!) and fully recommend it!.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fausto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The room's decor was a bit dated, but it was very comfortable and clean. We had a little balcony with some chairs to enjoy the view. Good TV and tea / coffee making facilities etc. Only drawback was the lack of a shower head fixture, so you either take a bath or have a shower sat down in the bath.

The hosts are really nice and speak good English. We had the regional set menu in the restaurant, which was very nice and reasonably good value.

The hotel has a lovely rural setting but is close enough to the little town of Besse. It would be within walking distance but the footpath doesn't extend up to the hotel so we took the car.

All in all, a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank spongebobgolfpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Unless you want to find it difficult to book this hotel again, keep this secret very quiet! The Auberge de la Petite Ferme just has to be the very best value for money you'll find in France. The food is so good you'll want to continue eating until it hurts. All local dishes that do the regional gastronomy proud. The rooms are beautifully prepared with quality furnishings. The smiles from the owners, Mr and Mrs Le Marcechal are genuine and, more importantly, so are those of the personal. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The Patron speaks excellent English and his English language website will be supplemented very shorty. Its really worth all those winding roads to get to such a lovely place. Leaving is the hardest part! But, remember, keep it quiet !!

Room tip: We were in room 30 which was very confortable. if you want a suite, go for 140 - 142. All the rooms are quiet but the best views are on the east side overlooking the fields and the mountains.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was fine to stay in for one night. The lady on the front desk was friendly and our room was clean. The bathroom was very small but did the job. Also, the town of Besse is a very short drive away which was convenient as the restaurant and food available looked very underwhelming. There was quite a lot of work being done on the hotel so there were doors closed off, construction materials lying around etc... Overall, it was a comfortable enough stay for the night we were there but the hotel was very average.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews