We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tuna Tartare”

Castaways Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 44
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Castaways is located at the entrance of the popular and lively St Lawrence Gap on the South coast of Barbados. February 2018 will mark 2 years of operation for Castaways and we are proud that we have won many fans locally as well as visitors from around the world because of the location, fresh, quality food, crafted in house cocktails, along with friendly & attentive service. Management works very hard to ensure standards are kept at the highest level for a great customer experience and we always look forward to welcoming back past guests as well as introducing new customers to Castaways. The restaurant overlooks the picturesque St. Lawrence Bay; the only bay between Bridgetown and Oistins on the south coast of the island. This treats all guests to spectacular panoramic ocean views of the Lagoon. We purchase only the freshest local produce possible and practice a farm-to-table concept, supporting local farmers and businesses. Visa,MasterCard, Local Debit Cards, cheques & Cash accepted
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

What a lovely dinner overlooking the water. The tuna tartare was one of the best I have ever had!
Follow the tuna with melt in your mouth ribs resulted in one of the best meals so far in Barbados.
Our waiter Andrew could not have been more helpful & was spot on with his suggestions

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 611 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2016

We loved the panko-Parmesan-crusted flying fish and the Bajan-style pizza with chicken, plantains and a dash of hot sauce. Great spot for a romantic seaside dinner under the stars.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank AlliecatOOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Loved this place. Super location overlooking the cove. Excellent menu with several vegan choices which was important for me. Would highly recommend. Like most restaurants in the Gap, booking is advised at busy times.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peanut-vendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We had a lovely meal on the deck overlooking the water. Deck is covered and had old-school overhead ceiling fans. Service was excellent. I had flying fish and chips. At our table the four of us each ordered a different dessert and all were excellent. Seafood was cooked to perfection. Vibe was laid back and relaxing. No hesitation about a recommendation.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Scotiatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Great food with a beautiful view, make a reservation if you want to sit with a sea view. Good for catering for dietary requirements, i'm vegan and gluten free and there were plenty vegan options on the menu. I had a vegan pizza which was tasty but little annoying it was $10 extra for gluten free, it's an allergy so not my choice! Overall, it is quite pricey but if you want a nice meal out then it's worth a visit. Great location too at the entrance to The Gap.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank LCP123xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castaways Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Castaways Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing