We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
3
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
3
3
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here one night while visiting friends in Moron.
I was pleasantly surprised. What a beautiful old time Mansion. There are 8 rooms and only one other person staying as Renos were taking place in the other rooms.
The room was spacious and clean and the grounds quite nice. There is a pool and they serve breakfast which we did not have so cannot comment.
There was work going on at the hotel to do some post Irma updates...painting etc but this did not affect us.
Overall I would recommend for a stay if in Moron.
Ted and Kristeen Shambrook

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

I read the reviews for places to stay in Moron and decided to give La Casona a try. La Casona was an exceptional home in its day and has the potential to be a beautiful place to stay in the future. Posted images show a crisp, brightly painted house however it suffers from wear and insufficient maintenance on the exterior of the home. The rooms are as shown--tall ceilings, beautiful scrolling, and other features that show the former grandeur of the home. There were a few maintenance issues inside as well. It rained before our arrival and there was water under the bed (was taken care of quickly when pointed out), faucet in the bathroom needed repair, room needed dusting, air conditioning didn't work. Was also disappointed because the room was booked online and we learned on arrival that we paid just under three times the daily rate (daily rate is just $36 CUC). I gave La Casona a "3" overall score primarily because of its architectural qualities and staff--the receptionist was wonderful and the chef, wait staff, and evening security were nice as well.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had planned to stay for one night. At arrival we had to go to the "mother hotel moron" to check in and then had to go by taxi to hostal La Casona. The hostal itself is a nicely renovated colonial house and the receptionist was friendly. We have been the only guest and we got a room directly at the entrance and with direct access to the entrance hall. The receptionist informed us, that there will be a disco evening nearby, but should not last too long. It turned out, that the disco in fact was directly close to our room and it started at around 10:00 pm with extremely loud music. No way to be able to sleep in the room. The same receptionist was selling entry tickets for the disco. After several protests from my side to provide us with another room/hotel or to stop the disco, the hotel management from the "mother hotel moron" has obviously decided to stop the disco around 12:00 pm. Although the disco stopped, it was still almost impossible to sleep, as the TV set in the entrance hall, close to the room has being on the entire night. The room itself was ok, although not very clean. The breakfast was ok and the service person in the morning was friendly and helpful to organize a taxi. Overall: No hotel, but a disco - despite a friendly personnel, I would not recommend this hostal. Henriette & Pepo

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank josefe499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

La Casona is beautiful colonial house with big rooms, and a nice pool, but is not very well maintained. The rooms a tired, and water is turned off frequently. Breakfast was ok. We booked (and paid upfront) through their hotel group, Islazul, but when we arrived no one expected us, and we had a discussion to proof that we booked a room. We were the only guests, besides some local people and staff who hung around the building. The place definitely has potential, but is currently not all that. We did not particularly like Moron, it was the least of our destinations during our round trip in Cuba. We did very much enjoy two restaurants in town: Liberluz and Maita, if you are in Moron I highly recommend both places for their atmosphere and food! (both are Casa's too)

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marlyp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I stayed here for 5 nights in November.

this used to be the railway owners villa many many years ago, so no expense spared when they built it, there are a couple of smaller villas either side where other senior railway men used to live, footpath direct to the train station, 3 mins away, but you don't get much noise from the trains coming an going

there are 8 rooms in this hotel, all with very tall ceilings and good ensuite facilities.

I had the room opposite the top of the stairs, all the floors an stairs are marble, so its a little noisy when people move around, however, the beds are good, air con good too. fridge in room, with small freezer bit at the top of it.
for some reason they turn the water off late at night, you can flush the toilet, but no water to wash your hands....... lots of hot water tho to shower in during the day an early evening. the balcony runs around 3/4 of the the 1st floor, and there are chairs an tables out there. there is a lovely pool, with lots of recliners an large umbrellas should it rain...

breakfast was good, lots of coffee / hot milk, toast, fruit and either omelette or similar type with ham in it, service very quick an friendly.

I paid 34cuc per nite including breakfast.

they do evening meal if you want.

there is a small supermarket about 5 mins away so you can stock the fridge with drink etc..

the only bad bit is on Wednesday night they have a disco between the pool an the hotel, and it goes on till 2 am, and its very very loud, and not very good music either.

Room Tip: upstairs room
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubankid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews