We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Get away from it all (... and rent a car)!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pefkos, Rhodes, Dodecanese, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chelseagi...
braintree essex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Completely misleading”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There is no running spa with any facilities, they are not suitable for people with young children as the deck leads to a shear drop into the pool on one side or a 3 foot drop the other. The photographs are old and do not reflect how the property is presented now. There are no covers on the wooden outdoor furniture, there are no microwaves, dishwashers, toasters or kettles, there is no daily clean, a twice fortnightly linen change. We were offered a gift of a trip on their "yacht" which, after 18 of us got to Lindos to take a trip on, had turned into a tiny pleasure boat, which apparently was insured for 18 but would only comfortably carry 8. My son suffered an injury on this boat as the captain was too busy on his mobile phone to see that he was climbing into the water and the ladder was not secured. We had been led to believe the villaswere walking distance to Pefkos but the road is steep, unlit and pretty much impossisble to walk into town during daytime. You need to hire a car which we had not been expecting to do. We got excuses from the owner our entire stay, the water ran out for 9 hours on one day and when an alternative supply was put in at 6.45pm it was not enough for everyone to have showers and 6 of our party were in Pefkos, where surprise, surprise there was water. In fact, the only problems anyone had with water supply in Pefkos or Lindos was one evening for 2 hours at 10pm. We, on the other hand had no water for an entire day, it ran out again 2 days later. If you love sitting on pallets, having no water, excuses from the owner, doing the washing up, hiring a car this is the place for you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Distance to town
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S
Rayne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Over promised, under delivered”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

THis is my first review on s holiday rental.
THE GOOD POINTS:
Lovely villa, well fitted out with many facilities, lovely views and a lovely pool
Ali the caretaker was wonderful and did everything he could to make our stay an enjoyable one.
Nearby PEKOS has many shops, some great eateries (HIGHLY RECOMMEND ENIGMA & TSERPSIS) And Lee Beach is great too.

THE BAD POINTS
We booked Spilia bay villa on the description and facilities as advertised on its website as seen on Booking.com, Diapppointingly I should warn you that many were and still are incorrect so please bear the following in mind prior to making any booking:
Upon arrival we were unable to enter our villa as it wasn't ready despite being advised we could enter from 2pm. The strongly advertised and referenced Spa facilities were non existent/non-operational, indeed the cave below the villas where the so called Spa facilities were located was in a state of disrepair! Rather smelly and dank and major disappointment to all of us staying at Spilia. Prior to booking the villa the owner States that they are conveniently located within walking distances of nearby Pefkos. Whilst broadly try at just under 2kms, this is via a steep and winding narrow road and in 34d heat not a pleasant experience, and for the return, if you are feeling really brave is again via the same narrow and winding road but up a steep incline in pitch darkness. Prior to confirming the booking the owner offered us use of an electric car however upon arrival no car materialised and due to the remoteness of the villas we had little option but to go to the additional expense of hiring a car (George hire were great and highly recommended). We were subsequently offered the use of Ali as a driver when he was free from taking car of the other villas he also looked after but this was not always convenient to both . Further disappointment occured when we lost water for an entire day resulting in all 3 villa occupants not being able to wash, toilet etc, water availability was intermittent throughout the day continually being told that it would be back within the hour until around 6pm we all lost patience and forced the owner Nick to purchase a water tanker so we could use the toilets, wash etc, we were told that this also affected nearby PEKOS however we had friends staying there who confirmed their water was back early in the morning, ours was some 9hrs later and only due us pushing hard due to booking 2wks we also qualified for the owners free trip in his private yacht, after some words of "ENCOURAGEMENT" from to secure this the trip was organised and were were sent to Lindos bay to meet the yacht, the yacht turned out to be a locally hired tour boat with under capacity for all staying in all the 3 villas (18) our friends staying in the other villa did get on however The trip was abruptly cut short due to boat owner not lowering the ladder enough into the water for a snorkel causing their 15yr old son to suffer some serious cuts and abrasions to his leg! The pool area is lovely but be warned, you will get numerous splinters from the weathered decking, and more importantly, there's a serious safety issue with two of the villas pool deck areas as they have no railing to prevent failing some 3feet down to a stoney base so those with young children please be warned!! The pool deck area has some lovely wooden sun loungers but unfortunately no cushions so it's akin to laying on a wooden pallet board, when we asked about cushions were were told these were very expensive and may come next year?.. So as you can see, lots of very nice promises via the Spilia Bay website and Booking.com but some serious misrepresentation and significant over-promising. In a nutshell, you don't get what you pay for. PLEASE CHECK EVERY LINE ITEM PRIOR TO BOOKING OR SUFFER THE SAME.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The overall misrepresentation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you very much, Colin, for the positive parts of your review, and for some constructive criticism, that you have referred to. Your review is more polite and realistic than your friend’s; nevertheless a number of matters need to be readdressed, as it was sent to you personally by email. It is also worth thinking that all incidents and complaints were referred on the second week of your stay and after the general problem of the area with the water.
I have copied some quotes from our communication, in order to present the situation and clarify most things at the maximum degree.
“Regarding your arrival (18 friends in 3 villas), as you are aware, all three villas had to be emptied, cleaned and be ready within a very short time, as you all arrived in the same time, something which happens very seldom. Ali started cleaning the villas in 6 in the morning, as some customers left late the previous night, and he worked really hard in order not to having you wait for more than 30 min at your friend's villa. We apologise for that but I hope you understand that it was an under pressure situation .”

“About the spa facilities, they are in workable condition and I am worried that you hadn't even tried them. The hydromassage pool on the upper stage was working properly, as well as the pool on the lower stage, which works with oxygen. I apologise for the clothes wardrobe that it was not completed and some small parts of the interior appearance, but we could not finish the works on time due to the general uncertainty with the political situation in Greece, which caused significant delay in the incoming bookings and cashflow. I know that it was strongly advertised, as it is a unique cave converted into spa, in Greece, and it will be fully operated with extra services next year. However, the standard facilities were in use and I am very sorry that you had not used it, at all, as you said”.

I have explained to your friend, Juliet, about the electric car a long time before your arrival. On our good will we offered to transfer (countless times) most of your friends to the village of Pefkos and Lindos, whenever you liked, despite the big cost in terms of money and time. We realise that walking under the sun for 1.8 km until the village, once most of your friends had not rented a car, is quite tiring and that was the reason for our contribution. At least we expected some respect and a ‘thanks’ from your friends for that help.

“Regarding the water situation, as I have already explained to Juliet, the water was coming back partially and sporadically in some areas of Pefkos. Other hotels have bigger or smaller tanks and could save the situation for some hours. We did the same until 9 in the morning, as the problem appeared the previous night. We may have underestimated the situation, because that problem usually only lasted for 2-3 hours, and we were told that they would fix it until afternoon. Thanks to Juliet's pressure, we arranged for a big quantity of water ( early delivery was not easy as everyone was looking for water), which saved the situation 2 days later, Saturday, when the problem was much bigger. I know hotel owners in the area with 200 - 300 people protesting... which was a totally mess. Of course you have not even noticed that, as we were supplied with enough capacity from the tank, except 1 hour on Sunday night, when the refill delayed. I am sorry to have to explain you all these during your holidays, as you should only care for your relaxation...”


Regarding the boat trip…

“I am really sorry about what happened yesterday and very disappointed with the driver of the boat. The truth is that our yacht had a damage 2 days, before your trip, which made it unsafe for travelling, and because we did not want to cancel this nice gift, we arranged a trip with that boat. Its protocol is for 18 persons in total, maximum capacity and that is the reason we booked it (there are not many of that size in the area). Of course we did not expect this mishappening with the child’s accident.

With an intention to ease your inconvenience and make the children happy, we can arrange a trip for you with the glass bottom boat in Lindos (photos attached). It will be a different experience for them, especially if they have never tried a similar one, and hope to eliminate your negative impressions”.

Unfortunately, you have not referred anything, about the rest of your friends, who were offered a trip with the glass bottom, 3 days later, as an additional gift.

You have also referred to other things, which we would be happy to reply to anyone who is interested in. As you regard, that you have paid a large amount of money, please be sure that the rates you received as an early booking, were very competitive, even less than a 4* hotel. Although we find some of your comments very rational and apologise for any inconvenience occurred by them, we regard that there is a general feeling of exaggeration in your review. Especially, when somebody reads all the rest positive reviews from previous customers, it is easily noticeable that a different picture is presented.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lenkre
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Get away from it all (... and rent a car)!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014

I was not sure how to write this review, as most of our stay was great, but the last couple of days kind of spoiled some of the magic. I will get back to that in the end, but have decided to base my review on the first part of our stay. The location is in the middle of nowhere on a dead-end road, strangely numerous cars drive by, but only to stop at the top of the hill where the road without a warning disappears into nothing. Think tranquil and peaceful environment. The same hill is fabulous for a kick-a… workout, by the way! A lot of the neighbouring buildings were empty or half built summer of 2014 due to the financial situation in Greece, but when you overlook the sadness of the situation you get to enjoy the panorama view from the house which is just breath-taking. Great location as long as you have a car – which you should anyways, to get to St Pauls Bay beach (and its beach restaurant), Lindos, Pefkos beach (Kyma, Philosophia, Enigma and Lee restaurants are all fab). Watch out for the goats that walk on the roads around the house (great entertainment for the kids)! The house is very well equipped and Ali is really flexible when you arrive late or have issues you need to fix, like more towels, coffee, detergent etc. No need to take his number though, he is around most of the time. My family: a teenager, a couple of toddlers, couple in our 40s and a grandma enjoyed the pool, playground and outside surroundings. We did not use the area below the houses, and the spa/cave was never open while we were there for 10 days, but we did not ask for any services either. The house is spacious enough to accommodate 6 people just fine, and I would not hesitate to come back someday. I am pleasantly surprised of Rhodes Island; I must admit I was very sceptical before I went, as I am allergic to charter travel, but the house was away from the tourist traps and neon signs, and Pefkos town was more charming than anticipated. I did not like the fact that they seem to overbook a lot on Rhodes, this was my third house booking (hotels.com had non-existing customer service - booking.com luckily had excellent service and found this replacement house when my initial booking with them fell through). Two days before departure Ali told us that he hoped we could get him out of a difficult situation and we should move to another house our last day as they had a new booking for the next 14 days that overlapped our booking. Really, another double-booking? Coincidence? I think not. We agreed as long as we could keep the new house until our evening flight and Ali offered to help us with the transfer of food and luggage between houses, but it was either way really stressful to pack and unpack for 6 people twice during our last days on vacation. They even brought us a small present for appreciation, but at that time we were not in the mood for cake or whatever the box contained, we did not even open it. An awful end to an otherwise wonderful vacation! I would recommend this property; in fact I have to friends, so hopefully they can avoid double bookings in the future which spoil a lot.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Panoramic view, pool, tranquility
Liked least: Double booking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Hague
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen G
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good holiday but teething problems need addressing”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A group of 10 of us consisting of 11 months being the youngest and late 50's being the eldest have just returned from staying at 2 of the villas.

We had a lovely holiday, and I wanted to write a review as there were so many good things but also things that need improving.

We were picked up at the airport by Peter, who was very welcoming and friendly and gave us a mini guided tour of Rhodes on our way to the villas which was a really personal touch.

We arrived at the villas and were introduced to Ali who looked after the villas. As it was late Ali very kindly went into town to get some bits we needed on top of the welcome pack (the welcome pack was really handy and had the essentials).

The villas were both stunning! We were all very pleased. We asked for 1 cot for the baby and then shortly afterwards Ali arrived with a child's extra bed. This wasn't suitable for an 11 month old but that's all that we were offered. This made it a little difficult trying to keep the baby from falling out of bed. Other than that the villas were spacious, modern and exceptionally clean. The views are breath taking and very impressive overall.

Outside the villas there is a children's play area which was great. However, there are a lot of steps down to the BBQ area, to the chess board, a large drop from the balcony to the pool, and for some reason a gap from one of the upstairs balconies which a child could easily fall through in our opinion so we kept that door locked at all times. We felt due to there not being hand rails etc to these areas we had to be extra vigilant as we had a 3 year old as well as the baby and worried she may fall. In my opinion the safety factor needs addressing unless they market for older children.

The main disappointment we had is that the villa was so lovely and so clean on arrival (Wednesday) and although on the website it says the villas are cleaned daily, we did not get a cleaner until the Sunday and that was the only time until the day we left when they cleaned for the next arrivals. The website also states a change of towels and linen every 2 days, again this was only done once. This really changed the luxury feel of the villas, as we were emptying our own bins and toilet waist bins.

We were offered a car as the villas were a good 30 minute walk to the local shops, which was not well lit. We thought this was a really nice extra touch that we were not expecting it. Although, this didn't turn out as well as first thought as Ali also shared the car so sometimes we had to ensure we were back in time for him to take it, and then the petrol we had put in had been used. We were told this would be refunded but this didn't happen.

I think the villas should have a guide book explaining certain things like the cleaning, car service, and check out time - as we were given 10 minutes notice to leave one of the villas on the last day for the cleaner and were told we would have to go in with the rest of our family until our transfer to the airport! Again, it just ruins some of the good customer service we had received.

Overall the villas are beautiful, but they need to be cleaned daily to upkeep the standard throughout your holiday. Peacefully isolated. This could be an amazing place, but a little extra focus on safety exterior around the villas and some guidance on times and facilities etc. I would return to the villas but either after small safety improvements have been introduced or when my children are older.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & modern villa interior
Liked least: Lack of safety rails outside the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing