We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven at the Hume Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Aussie Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Away from the hustle and bustle of urban sprawl, this holiday park epitomised what a great holiday adventure entails: expanses of water, curiuos birdlife, rolling hills and ever-helpful staff with comfortable accommodation. Located at the very start of the Hume Dam, and only 20+ minutes drive to the city of Albury, the park provided every form of accommodation imaginable; from powered tent sites, caravan sites with their own private on-suite to fully self-contained cabins that could sleep an entire family of 8. Heaps of playground amenities for the kids, pool and waterpark, clean and well-appointed amenities including communal hall with open fireplace, BBQs and indoor cinema, there is nothing you are left wanting for. Combine all this with attentive, warm and friendly staff and your ideal holiday venue is complete: what more could you ask! I stayed here for almost 3 weeks while finding a house in Albury after moving from North Queensland; however, even though I now live in Albury I will continue to stay at the park on weekends: purely because it is such a wonderful environment to relax in. Oh, by the way, take care with the pair of park mascots (ostriches) as they try to con you out of your food!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie D, Manager at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi David, Thank we really appreciate your time to review us and love, love, love, that you love our park. We are glad you relaxed and didn't want for anything and yes the ostriches can be a bit cheeky with food around the park. We look forward to seeing you as one of our regulars in the park. Best wishes for your new move in Albury, its a lovely part of the world to live! Kind Regards Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Absolutely loved our time there. We stayed for one week and enjoyed Christmas lunch with our family in complete peace and tranquility. There were so many locations for us to choose from. Beautiful surroundings everywhere. It was ideal for our family given that everyone is interested in doing different things. Some spent hours fishing, others were able to enjoy water sports and for those less confident in the water enjoyed the spray park. The park sent text messages each day to let us know about other activities like the flying fox and animal feeding. The park caters for all ages.
The staff... What can I say???
Just gorgeous, they were super friendly and even on Christmas Day when one of our groups changed plans they still helped us out and sorted things out for us. The staff would be working and yet still would stop and chat. That in itself made us feel welcomed.
Thank you all for a truly great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samanthatodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie D, Owner at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi Samantha, Wow, we have been really blown away by some amazing reviews and we truly thank you for your time to review us! We are so glad your whole family enjoyed their stay with us and that the staff assisted you however they could. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon and Happy New Year! Regards, Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Great customer service such a friendly atmosphere we are coming back on the 2 Jan for 3 nights can't wait! Looking forward to the activities as well and meeting new people and setting up our new van!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blairr169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie D, Owner at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi Blairr169, thank you for your kind words and we looking forward to seeing you tomorrow. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The Great Aussie Holiday Park is an excellent place to stay for families. Enjoy the stability of the beautiful weather (better than the beach) but still on the water. Also it's much cheaper than the beach. The park has numerous activities and a great pool and water park, lots of stuff for kids to do- very relaxing and good atmosphere. The cabins are really nice. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deidreturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie D, Owner at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Hi Deidre,

Thank you for your time to review us and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The water & weather are fabulous at the moment and we do have lots for families to do. We hope to see you again sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

What a fantastic place for a family getaway. So much for kids and adults of all ages to see and do. Loved the splash park, pool, jumping pillow and archery. Beds a bit uncomfortable but cabins were good value. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashmgash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowna
33.7 km away
Holbrook Town Centre Motor Inn
15.7 km away
Lake Hume Tourist Park
Lake Hume Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Lake Hume Village
96 reviews
19.8 km away
BIG4 Albury Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Glenndale Park Motel
Glenndale Park Motel
#3 of 6 in Holbrook
64 reviews
17.8 km away
Ingenia Holidays Albury
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Bowna

Been to Great Aussie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Aussie Holiday Park

Address: 14 Hore Rd, Bowna, New South Wales 2644, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bowna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bowna
Price Range: $117 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Aussie Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Aussie Holiday Park is your outdoor adventure playground - situated on 2kms of private Lake Hume foreshore, just 35km's from Albury/Wodonga. We have accommodation to suit all budgets, from unpowered and powered camping/caravan sites (dog friendly), comfortable budget style cabins, country style cedar wood Squatters Huts and deluxe poolside villas, through to Dormitories for sporting, community groups and school camps. We offer endless activities for the family all year round, including a giant jumping pillow, solar heated pool, waterspray park, games room, BMX track, Recreation bush track 2.2kms and fishing & water sports on the Lake. At Peak times, why not try abseiling, rock climbing, or a run on the flying fox. The Lake View Cafe is open seasonally for dine in or take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Great Aussie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Aussie Holiday Park Bowna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing