We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emmaus - Albergo del bosco
Nearby Hotels
Antico Borgo Petralia(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 136
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Hirschen(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 72
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airone Wellness Hotel(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 116
USD 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Etna En Vie(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
B&B Terrazza sull'Alba(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etna GloB&B(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esperia Palace(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 192
USD 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monaci delle Terre Nere(Zafferana Etnea)
USD 349
USD 339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
48
33
19
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
33
19
7
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We are sad to be leaving our new "home away from home" here at the Emmaus Hotel in Zafferana Sicily.
The Hotel is located in an exciting area, so close to interesting Zafferana and an enjoyable and interesting drive to the spectacular town of Taormina. The very courteous and helpful staff at the Hotel arranged for an all day taxi driven by Salvo Gulisano and with his wife Cetty, both of who gave us excellent service, and who did everything possible so that we could make the most of our day of the Taormina area.
Now, the Hotel staff: we feel like they are now part of our family and we will be sad to say goodbye to them. They are so natural and friendly, with all the courtesies, and willingness to help, that you would expect from close family and friends. They all related to us on our level, and they went beyond their usual duties to help us with all aspects of our accommodation, travel and sightseeing needs. They took all the worry out of the making of these arrangements, in a place that was unfamiliar to us, and where we did not speak Italian. We have only praise and gratitude for these wonderful people.
The rooms were more than adequate and very clean. Marai in the restaurant provided us with meals that were just superb, each one different, VERY tasty, and with full local flavor.
The location is just out of Zafferana, quiet, but not far from town.

Room Tip: The king-size bed was nice.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormMareeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Staff very polite! They provide for really good service!!! Rooms are clean and the Director is always available. The hotel is a perfect place for those who are looking for something quite although not to far from the city immersed in the nature, very close to Etna vulcan and near to beautiful places.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Away from Italian cities, the tranquility of the setting is supreme. The hotel and the staff are excellent and we spent a wonderful week there. Highly recommended.
Unfortunately, my wife came down with a severe cough, blocked ears, nose, etc and we needed a doctor.
Enter Sig. KETTY DI GIACOMO, the hotel receptionist. When told of our medical problem, she asked if we could wait until she handled the guests.
She then booked the doctor and took us down in her own car. The doctor was charming as well as competent, and even gave my wife a sample of the one medicine. Ketty acted as the interpreter during the visit, then took us to the local pharmacy, and brought us back to the hotel. The hotel is the highest hotel at the foot of Etna.
Never, in any country or hotel, have we experienced such service. To get such service, please rush as Ketty informed us that she is 4 months pregnant with a daughter. May she have an easy pregnancy and may her daughter grow up to be as beautiful and charming as her mother.
Ciauo.

Room Tip: We had an excellent room on the 5th floor with a large patio, but friends on the 9th also had good rooms with access to the patio on the 10th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxjuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visited Emmaus in Sicily because of its beautiful and lovely location. Our experience was traumatic to the point we won't recommend it to our worst enemies. The room was very nice, view the best on the island. Our holiday was totally ruined by a group of youngsters in their 20s who continuously moved furniture, played loud music on their iPods, laughing, drinking and when finally drunk knocked on other guests's door including ours and calling in our room during the night. when we complained after the first night, the management took it as a joke . Did not offer to do anything. Only because we had paid we decided against our wishes that the change at least the room and floor which they did. The group got up before us and gobbled all the breakfast leaving us scraps. Horrible and never again. Shame as we said before the rooms were lovely and the view to die for. Parking no problem and shut with a big gate. Mount etna top few kilometers away and Zafferana not too far too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmausalbergo, Direttore at Emmaus - Albergo del bosco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Messrs. Whitmizi,
I took a few days to reply to your review in order to search for some data regarding your stay at our hotel in the period you indicate but, inexplicably, we have found no trace of your presence. At the same time I am pleased to know that you have been guests of the structure close to us in recent years with a very positive experience. I’m sorry that the change of location has left you with a so negative memory! But what I really don’t understand is the reason why to review a hotel one year after your stay considering that your review refers to April 2013.
Beyond these considerations, I would like to highlight that our structure gives hospitality especially to groups and most of them come to Emmaus because of retreats as it is considered a Spirituality Center. So, use of alcohol and drugs is really even not conceivable. I repeat, therefore, that the fact you described is serious and absolutely unusual due both to our typology of customers and the hotel policy that do not accept any kind of behavior that might disturb the other guests or even violate the law.
I’m sorry for what you say and I wonder how such a serious event may have escaped the attention of the hotel staff. I recently became director of Emmaus and I hope that in your future travels you’ll want to give another chance to this structure that ,as you said, has the best view of the island and very clean, neat and comfortable rooms. Therefore, I hope to have the opportunity to meet you personally to be able to remedy and change your memory of Emmaus.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I have been there both with my family and also with a group and I must say that both the hotel itself and the surroundings are fantastic. Rooms are in tip top shape, breath taking views as the hotel is high up on the slopes of Etna with views from Siracusa to Taormina with a glimpse of mainland Calabria when weather is clear. Breakfast very good, dinner is excellent too. for those who have no personal transport, the hotel offers shuttle transfers to and from airport and also to the city centre. The hotel is ideal in winter for skiing on Etna, in summer for excursions on the wild Valle del Bovo where today's eruptions still take place. Just a stone throw away one finds the interesting SICILIA IN MINIATURA...MINIATURE SICILY. One reaches Etna's skiing and trecking areas in about 20minutes by car...so Emmaus hotel is the best you can find. I have been there 4 times and look forward to visit again and again.

Room Tip: choose the sea view rooms although the ones on the inside give you a nice view of thew forest.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenneth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews