We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
3
7
8
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
8
3
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Lovely bar area - clean and modern with drinks and snacks available to purchase.

Basic breakfast provided (continental style) - bread, butter, jam, hard boiled egg, salami & cheese.

Room dated and in need of repairs. This may have just been our room on the 3rd floor:
Balcony doors didn't lock
Electrical sockets "falling" off the wall
Shower bracket not useful (had to hold the shower head)
Shower water "tepid"
Towel rail in bathroom missing
Lift only functional to second floor
Balcony narrow and only room for 2 chairs with a table (there were 3 of us)

Security questionnable - we were told we could walk behind the counter and put our key in and out of the "pigeon hole" ourselves. This is also where our passports were put after being taken off us overnight - worrying! Advised bar area was manned 24 hours, but someone wasn't always visible when leaving/arriving.

Good location - approximately 15 minute walk to the Port area and 5 minutes to the harbour. 5 minutes to a "big" supermarket (plenty of small ones nearby too), as well as plenty of close by restaurants and car/scooter hire.

No swimming pool available - but advised we could use one at a local nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Emjay_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have stayed in budget accommodation before and always appreciated that things aren't 5-star, so are fully aware of what 'budget' means. But Hotel Galaxy fell below expectations.

The bar is open until 6am. Bear this in mind, as most rooms overlook the hotel bar and music is playing until the early hours. The hotel barman talks very loud and sings badly to this music. As it is so hot in the tiny, poorly ventilated rooms, you need to have your balcony door open at night. Or pay the hotel barman 7euros per night for the aircon so you can close the doors and drown out the music with the sound of the aircon. If you're looking for a relaxing break, take ear plugs.

Security: "leave your keys behind the un-manned reception and help yourself" to everybody elses' room keys? Didn't feel safe to do that so we kept our room key on us which was frowned upon and told was a problem. We did it anyway. But needn't have bothered as the cleaners opened our street opening patio doors and left them open all day. Thanks. Luckily nothing taken.

Breakfast. Hope you like luncheon meat. The bread was ok, jam ok, but don't ask for cereals - you won't get any. You can have orange squash instead of juice, and a thimble of tea/coffee to wash it down with.

Our room was tiny. The shower room/toilet was by the exit door furthest from the patio. There was no window or fan in the toilet, hence no ventilation. So our room didn't smell very nice. The door of the toilet even had to be cut away to allow it to swing past the sink - that small!

There's a great little Taberna down the road, Lithino - go there! Amazing food!

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the bar which is open until 6am. Take ear plugs. Our shower/toilet didn't have a window or ventilation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndrewBucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Slightly rough round the edges - but no different from what you would find in any hotel in this price range in the region. The room was clean and the sheets were changed regularly. Main selling points were the friendly staff, particularly Michael and Steve, who were endlessly helpful. The location is also good - a quiet area of Kos Town but only a pleasant 20 minute walk along the sea front from the centre

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Me and my friend stayed here in june 2010 the photos on the first choice website made it look really nice but they were not like the photos at all! It was dirty in the room there was a hole in the bathroom and you could see the bricks on the wall outside! The bedsheets were mucky, the frigde was dirty and made a loud buzzing noise! We were greeted by a rude man on reception which wasnt the greatest first impression! We complained to the manager and he showed us another room which was exactly the same. I spent the first day of our holiday on the phone to first choice who were no help at all and all they did was find us another hotel which we had to pay again for and we didnt get a refund from this one. It was that bad that we had to leave and pay to stay in another hotel which was alot better thankfully. I am not a complaining person but the room was that bad i couldnt have stayed in it and the staff there were nice at all. I will always go on reviews in future as this hotel only had one review which says it all really!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jojosilver28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

After being messed around by our holiday company who changed our hotel a week before we flew out I was a bit worried.
Absolutely no need because as soon as we had arrived we were made very welcome.
Both Michael and Steve were stars and looked after us very well.
OK the rooms are basic but who goes on holiday to stay in their room.
I will without doubt go back to the Galaxy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rd3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews