We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a long lunch”
Review of Peats Bite

Peats Bite
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 December 2017

A superb setting follows an excellent river journey on the ferry from the Brooklyn station.
A superb selection of different olives to start.On a purely personal note I prefer beautiful oysters to be served naturally. ,Great arancini and a fresh watermelon and bocconcini mint pesto salad.Beautifully cooked salmon and well presented chicken followed by the best dish of rare roast beef. A great way to celebrate a friend's special birthday.
To make this special place even better the bread choice needs improvement and a BYO for special bottles would encourage me to return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Hilton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

The location of this restaurant was amazing and the entree/starters were great, but that's about all the positive things I can say about this place. VERY expensive for the quality of food that is served and the clientele on the day we were there seemed to spoil it - think a small island full of drunk bogans! We may as well have just gone to a pub with the amount of people that had consumed way too much alcohol, certainly no RSA. Service was hit and miss, some waitstaff fantastic, others not so good. Disappointing day out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff M, Janitor at Peats Bite, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Great observation, you are nearly correct, however, not quite, we are completely water access, some 6km from mainland , fully self sustained and sufficient similar to an island. Hence, the beautiful location comes at a cost! The food you didn't enjoy was transported by truck,car then boat and handled 3 times before being prepared. The staff YOU found hit and miss all travel at least 45 minutes from home to come and serve you. Finally, the customers, whom YOU believe could only be enjoying themselves due to intoxication, were there to celebrate, which is what Peats Bite is renowned for. Clearly, being a judgemental snob from Avoca isn't anything to celebrate! Please let any of your like minded friends know, as it would be a shame for them to fill our tables whilst we turn away customers who enjoy a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I surprised my partner with a 1 night stay over on a Friday at the start of October. We did the package inclusive of the 7 course dego' and it was tremendous!! The wine list is extensive but very approachable for prices. Only 4 tables for lunch & with 2 of them leaving by boat late afternoon we felt like we had the place privately as the other 4 gentleman kept to themselves during a work retreat. We danced under the stars as the staff helped me choose our first dance song for the upcoming wedding. The grounds keeper and Micky the manager joined us for a drink and it was just perfect. Their service professional yet very friendly. The dinner was nice and the breaky superb!! I'd recommend this place to couples and large groups whom like nice food, great wine consumed at a relaxing pace. Accommodation clean and stylish. Can't wait to go back!!

Thanks
Paul & Bianca

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pauljohnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

If you ever get a chance to go to Peats Bite - do it! The venue is amazing, the food is awesome and the cocktails are to die for.

But for us, it was the owners that made our experience extra special. So much so that we couldn't resist coming back with our whole family. While our next visit is going to be in November, I have to say that the owners made us feel like we were part of the Peats Bite family - casual, relaxed, down to earth and genuine.

I'll eventually find a way to thank all of them, but Geoff, Tanya and Fiona have all been nothing short of amazing. Julia and I can't thank you enough for helping us make our day extra special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ricc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

petes bite is the best place ever great food the chef is amazing.the owners and staff are fantastic they open there home to you and make you feel welcome.
Can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mjulie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peats Bite also viewed

 
Cottage Point, Warringah
 

Been to Peats Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing