We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
470
432
107
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
432
107
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sands casino bela vista ferry terminal resort area mandarin oriental cake shop swimming pool kids club great pool free shuttle nice resort under renovation hotel shuttle cotai strip fisherman's wharf casino hotels high floor
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

At first, i was disappointed because i mistakenly thought i was booking the Mandarin Oriental (its what i was typed in the search box) to arrive and find out that i was really staying at Hotel owned by Mandarin Oriental. We arrived and were greeted by very polite and welcoming staff. Rebecca greeted us with a warm and friendly smile, asked the reason for our stay and even sent us a birthday cake for my gf's birthday (i earned alot of points for this gesture) The stay was enjoyable and the room very comfortable. It had all the usual perk a good hotel room has and a staff brought us hot tea in a very traditional Chinese pot upon arrival. Very impressed. The location is by the pier but far from the City. It is located right next to the Sands Casino and thus you are able to take their free shuttle to visit Venetian as well. The decor seems a bit old fashion and rustic, very old fashion british. It is very quiet and not much traffic but the staff there are wonderful. The service would make me want to come again.
Tip:They have shuttle to pier which is only 10 mins away and taxi to town was on average around 50 HKD and a quick walk to Sands hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean-Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This lower priced hotel in Macau was decent for my 1 night stay. The location is a little further from the attractions but then taxis are quite plentiful in Macau. If you have stayed at a Mandarin Oriental before you can certainly figure out this used to be one but a revamp is soon needed as the place is starting to look a little dated now.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khoi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel continues to be a good, solid, no-risk choice for Macau..

I have stayed here now a number of times over the last few years and, each time, have had had a perfectly pleasant stay.

The rooms are a good size and the facilities are all as you would expect.. Think "Sheraton" or "Hilton" in the US in terms of features.. The decor is maybe a little tired looking, and there is some wear and tear, but that's not being too harsh and the hotel seems well kept in general..

The Thai restaurant in the adjacent hotel-owned leisure complex is really very good and remains popular from year-to-year.. The cafe in the main hotel is good value and has a solid, varied menu.. Breakfast was pretty good, with a varied buffet..

The Bar is a little expensive, but the service is friendly and attentive.

The shopping plaza is a little OTT, mainly luxury goods.

The main surprise in a hotel such as this is the absence of a small convenience store/shop, as the news stand/stall in the hotel lobby is no more than a token effort and doesn't even sell drinks.. There are supermarket options a short walk away, but, nonetheless, something in the hotel would not go amiss..

Service is good but if you're the sort who prefers to look after his or herself, then be prepared to have to fend off the helpers.. This isn not a complaint, merely an observation..

Broadband internet not cheap and can be a little slow..

A very solid performance despite the very minor niggles..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is no palace of opulence and splendour. It felt classy, relaxed and friendly. Children were welcomed. Service was outstanding. Staff took great pride in their jobs. Everything worked.
Rooms were elegantly furnished albeit somewhat tired looking. Our bed was very comfortable. Wooden cots were provided for our 2 young boys.
The garden area with spa, pool, gym and kids club made for a relaxing break. The ladies changing room was complete with 2 saunas and a Jacuzzi. There was an outdoor heated Jacuzzi too. Towels, sun tan lotion and kids lifejackets were available. The kids club was well stocked, with soft play for babies, outdoor bikes, a climbing frame, computers and video games for older children.
Food was reasonably priced and well prepared. There was a good children’s menu. Cafe Bela Vista is beautiful. Coffee was excellent. The a la carte scrambled eggs were perfect, served with smoked salmon, grilled tomato, asparagus, toast and extra pastries. The children had porridge and coco pops. The buffet looked well stocked but quiet. The Cake Shop provided a range of sandwiches, cakes and pastries in the afternoon.
I was very happy with the babysitting service. Alice, our Chinese nanny came to the room equipped with a basket of toiletries. My husband and I had dinner at Bonne Heure, a small French restaurant in town. We got back to find the boys fast asleep. Alice greeted us again at breakfast.
This is a true relic from Macau’s former colonial days. Worth visiting before the casinos take over!

Room Tip: Pool view is best.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XXX007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

If you want to stay in luxury (the old World luxury, not the Chinese "nouveau riche" type), close to the town center, if you want to have good food (Macanese, Portuguese, Chinese, Thai) and be surrounded by extremely friendly personnel, the Grand Lapa is the place to stay in Macau.
Rooms are excellent, amenities first class, the food in the different outlets is delicious, and people go out of their way to help you when selecting dishes, or helping you at the concierge for excursions.
We had stayed in this hotel 25 years ago, when it was on the waterfront, Macau has changed, but the hotel has fortunately remained the same.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labienus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews