We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“OK Hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here for a night, primary because my regular hotel was not avaliable.

Check-in : This was slow. Apparently there was a computer glitch, and the reservation systems were taking a longer time to response. Not sure if the pre-allocate rooms, but the girl took about 5 minutes to find me a room which I had a confirmed booking from the hotel's own booking site. There was a bit of a walk from the reception to the hotel lifts. You had to walk and turn off into the shopping area before reaching the hotel lift lobbies. There are different lift lobbies for high floor rooms and low floor rooms.

Shopping : Extremely limited number of shops. Hardly can be called shopping. More like a hotel shopping arcade.
Visit Venetian if you want to shop. Or Wynn, or City of Dreams if designer is what you want.

Gambling : Expensive for the casual player. Most tables are HKD 300 and above Cross the road at the Banyan Tree to the Grand Waldolf to find HKD 100 tables.

Food : The chain boasts of a food paradise. I think that is overated. There are decent food places no doubt, but nothing superior to what the other resorts can offer (eg Venetian next door also has good places to eat, including a Mortons). Other casinos like the Grand Lisboa even have michellin star resturants.

Room : Room was decent, bed comfortable. Refreshments free. Nothing outstanding compared to other hotels.

The Wave pool was closed for maintenence while I was there.

Basically, I felt there wasn't much to do at the hotel. Its main non-gambling entertainment would be the outdoor pools (not usable in winter) and a cinema.

Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galaxymacau, Manager at Galaxy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear maic,
Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay. We acknowledge that there are aspects of the operation where need to make changes in order to improve the overall guest experience. I can assure you your comments are being dealt with and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly yours,
Nathan Yu
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    633
    126
    34
    43
See reviews for
796
663
123
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Could not really fault Galaxy Hotel. From free transfers to/from airport or harbour and also free transfers to/from various other hotels and city destinations for it's guests. The hotel foyer was absolutely stunning and the rooms were large in size, very clean, comfortable bed and beautiful. I had a smoking room and it never smelt like smoke in there at all....don't know how they do that but was very impressed. The wave pool was a lot of fun and the heated smaller pool was also great for when it was not as hot outside. The casino was huge and really well layed out. For those that smoke, your allowed to smoke in the casino....YAY! The hotel also had lots of restaurants inside, ranging from Asian cuisine to Portuguese Cuisine and even a McDonald's for those on the run! Along with clothes shops, nik nak shops etc. The staff were fantastic. Very helpful and friendly. I walked away from this place with an overwhelming experience and I will be back again soon. Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just a short free shuttle bus ride from Taipa ferry terminal the Galaxy is located close to the Venetian and also the City fo Dreams hotels (Hard Rock, Crown etc.). Its huge with restaurants, shops, gym, massive casino, outdoor pools/jacuzzis (wave pool is currently closed for maintenance and reopens March or April 2012 I think). Service from all staff isvery good. Twin rooms are large with flatscreen TV, free minibar (sodas and beer only and small Pringles and noodle pot), robes, safe, aircon, free wifi, easy chairs, bathroom with large walk in shower and separate full size bathtub with window to bedroom (blind can be pulled down if you need privacy). The 'levitating diamond' operates every 30 minutes in the main lobby - its fun to watch. There is a variety of restuarants including Starbucks, MacDonlads, Spaghetti House and the Festiva buffet. The buffet is quite expensive but has a very good variety of food - book in advance; we couldn't get a table on a wednesday night. There are a variety of free shuttle buses to take you to a variety of places including both Macau ferry ports and Macau City. I really liked this hotel and I am very likely to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is large, but does not overwhelm the visitor like the Venetian does with it's sheer size and miles and miles of walk before you finally get to your room.
There is a very pleasant smell in the hotel lobby the moment you enter. Staff is very polite, well-trained and helpful. You truly feel like you are in a 5 star property. Rooms are very comfy. The mini-bar is free, so are all local calls from your room phone within Macau.

The only minor annoyance I had was when I was fast asleep at 4pm one day and the housekeeping staff entered the room *Despite me having the Do Not Disturb* sign on. And that the TV remote didn't work but I wasn't there to watch TV to didn't bother to complain either. The views were OK. The bathroom was clean and toiletries were decent quality. The lighting was good. Very relaxing stay. They have a shuttle to Venetian which I used, I am sure they had other shuttle buses also, I just didn't really use so cannot comment. Taxi fare to Hotel Lisboa area was around $50, and to the Venetian/City of Dreams only $20.
Breakfast buffet was well-laid out and plentiful. Indian restaurant food was ok.

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Macau.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaraf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bareilly, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great new Hotel in Macau. Great shopping area, and a wonderful pool. Luxury dining, or fast food all on one site. quite better & as good as the Venetian, but cheaper, and well worth.The hotel is one of the swankiest in the city... its brand new that's why. Staff - the staff at the reception was very polite.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinesh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 km away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#9 of 95 in Macau
1,576 reviews
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.9 km away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#24 of 95 in Macau
644 reviews
0.1 km away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#5 of 95 in Macau
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Avenida de Cotai, Cotai, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price range (per night): $183 - $850
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the three hotels in Galaxy Macau, the Galaxy Hotel’s 1,500 rooms and suites represent an evolution of resort accommodations. Luxurious and beautiful, these contemporary rooms offer five-star amenities throughout and stunning views that stretch to the city or water landscape. Guests staying at Galaxy Hotel also enjoy free access to the world's largest skytop wave pool and many other recreational facilities and over 50 dining outlets at Galaxy Macau. All rooms at Galaxy Hotel afford guests a level of deep comfort that conveys a kind of respect that only a host with true Asian Heart can present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing