We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2015

What a beautiful little gem this is, clean, fresh and a sort of Hamptons meets Bali decor, gorgeous! It's a little bit tucked away and about a 5 minute walk to the beach and Scallywags restaurant but we just got organised to bring our beach gear when we went to breakfast and then once there we didn't move! There's a little pool but honestly we didn't use it the beach was just so nice. The rooms have all the mod cons and a bonus DVD player so that when it rained in the afternoons we could chill out and watch a movie! The staff are exceptional both here and at their restaurant. Overall I would completely recommend scallywags Smugglers. Oh and a good tip is to book via their website, they had an awesome deal on when we booked.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillsydneyaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 177 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

Very nice, clean, good standards in room. Decent mini bar. Great bathroom, decent bed, good aircon. Wi-Fi was ok, pool was well looked after. This place shares a beach front restaurant a with another place (Scallywags mango) and is about a 10min walk. Breakfast is good with omelette station.
It's not located on the north east beach area as indicated by booking.com, more in the village area, central and south, close to Italian restaurant classico, about 200m north from public harbour. 5min cycle to beach or harbour.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

We got a really good deal for the night as it's low season. The rooms are beautiful. Spotlessly clean. Theres a lovely pool which we had to ourselves as there was hardly any guests when we were here. Staff are friendly and when we moved to the scallywag motel down the road to save a little money they offered to carry our bags down for us. Buffet breakfast is varied and really nice. Another bonus is the DVD player in the room and the choice of modern DVDs to borrow from reception. Would definitely stay again. It's not on the main beachfront strip but a nice walk through the village will lead you there.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We stayed at smugglers for 4 days recently and found it hard to leave. The rooms were of a very high standard for the price and the bathrooms were second to none with a shower under the stars...! The staff were really friendly and dinner was great every time.

Room Tip: Apart from being slightly off the beaten track which infact is quite charming in itself, the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Toby67800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

Visit their website for best prices. Nice shower, friendly staff, good DVD collection. Strong Internet. Overall nice Ambiente and tasteful design. Absolute recommendation especially with off season discounts

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 km away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.8 km away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#4 of 20 in Gili Air
104 reviews
0.6 km away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
730 reviews
0.4 km away
Lucy's Garden Hotel
Lucy's Garden Hotel
#12 of 20 in Gili Air
102 reviews
0.6 km away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway

Address: Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Price Range: $58 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway. Smugglers Hideaway offers a hidden oasis within the heart of the village of Gili Air, where you can relax on the sun loungers dotted around the swimming pool with a waterfall feature. Smugglers Hideaway is 7-10 minutes from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Rumah Dua. A cozy extension of Smugglers Hideaway, Rumah dua are two garden patio rooms sharing the same entrance & private gardens with access to Smugglers pool only step away. Single Rooms: 5 single rooms are cozy budget rooms with air conditioning, hot water, TV and safe in the room. There are 2 share bathrooms and toilets. Scallywags Joglo (3 Bedrooms Villa). A Joglo is a type of traditional house of the Javanese people. The word joglo refers to the shape of the roof. Our teak wood 3 bedroom private pool Joglo's is situated 10 minutes from the harbour & 15 minutes to the Scallywags restaurant & beach. Each Joglo is on 500 sqm of secluded garden, there are 2 queen size bedrooms & 1 twin bedroom, each air conditioned bedroom has a TV & DVD with security safety box & ensuite bathroom with hot & cold fresh water showers. The master bedroom opens out to the soft comfy lounge with a view to the 8 metre swimming pool, the other 2 back bedrooms open on to a fully fitted kitchen. There is a BBQ outside to sizzle steaks & seafood on whilst socialising with your other guests around the pool. There is ample seating & sun loungers including a bale hut to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing