We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i will be going back in 2009” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Karang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Karang Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gili Air
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“i will be going back in 2009”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here for seven nights but could have stayed a lot longer not just because of the hotel and its lovely staff but every thing about the island and its people, very friendly and relaxing place all the bars and restaurants are very welcoming and very reasonably priced£1.00 large beer £5.00 tops for a meal for 2.The best bar /retaurant for us on the island was Tamis Neverland family run nothing was too much trouble would strongly reccommend a vist also known as turtle bar as you can swim straight out from the bars own private beach to swim with the turtles if you do visit say hello to ata and family from steve and paula

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevepaul3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    144
    47
    23
    15
See reviews for
44
153
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Negative:
- There are big construction going on, very disturbing when resting around the pool. We weren't informed about the constructions, allthough we booked months before travelling. The constructions start around 9am till 5pm.
- We had a Deluxe Beach Front room. The rooms are standard and not deluxe. Beach front is also not really beach, well it's looking over the sea and beach, but it's not a beach you can go get your sun tan as boats are stored on the beach.
- Too expensive for what you get.
- There is no safe/locker in the room, take care you lock your money, as we got money stolen from our room, while we always locked the room by key. (I think staff is involved in this.)

Positive:
- A nice bed, good working aircon and good fridge in the room.
- Very nice and quiet island. For snorkeling you have to stay in Gili Trawangan, as nothing much to see her.

Tip:
- For great lunch and dinner, go to Tami's Neverland!! We went every evening when at Gili Air.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali-Spain-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarangDivers, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Karang Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Hi there,

Sorry that the hotel was not what you were expecting and I can only offer my deepest apologies that you were not informed about building work before you came to the hotel.

The building work is now finished and we have a wonderful new pool. If you find yourself back on the island please come back to the hotel and I'm sure we can sort you out a discount.

The hotel does not have safes in the rooms, we do have one at reception, however, I am shocked to hear that you had money stolen. Gili Air is a very safe island with strict local rules regarding crimes such as steeling. With these in place we have never had an issue, or heard of an issue with hotel staff stealing money. I am really sorry that this rare event fell on you.

Again, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. But please come back soon to see the excellent changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Positive :
. Helpful staff
. in Gili Air, a wonderful island...

Negative :
. Very poor value for money (70 $)
. Gloomy room, absolutely nothing charming
. Rooms, blankets not clean
. Despite thé relatively small size of the island, hotel located in a bad area, far from cafés, restaurants, diving centers...
. To sum up : very far from website presentation

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Prepare your necessity at the grocery shop near the dock + snack.
Water on the island is SALTY, and yes you'll shower w/ it.
Bring DVD w/ you in case u get bored, it does help w/ the in the room dvd player.
Hotel Resto closed 9pm or even earlier, Stuffed yourself out b4 they close !!
View is magnificent !! beautiful sunset...

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VictorW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We booked here for three nights, stayed for five and would have loved to have stayed longer. Our room was furnished with a four poster bed, insect nets and air-con - at around £25 pounds for two of us it was a real bargain. The only word of caution is that the shower was supplied with rather salty (but warm) water, but it was not a problem for us.
It's a little bit away from most of the night-life which meant it was quiet at night but it's only a few minutes walk in either direction for beach and bars.
Anton, the manager is one of the loveliest people you could wish to meet. During our time in Asia, we were fortunate to encounter lots of nice people, but this man stood out from the crowd. He was so helpful and kind and nothing was too much to ask.
The swimming pool was idyllic and a lovely place to chill after spending time on the beach.
Gili Air is an amazing place; so chilled out that we even fell asleep after one meal and the waiters were in no rush to wake us. Mirage bar on the north of the island had great drinks, staff and music.
One piece of advice is to bring cash - there's no ATM here on the island.
If you are near the Gilis, try and visit, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linguaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.3 km away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.5 km away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lucy's Garden
Lucy's Garden
#9 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 km away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#6 of 19 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Karang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Karang Hotel

Property: Villa Karang Hotel
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Indah Hotel)
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price range (per night): $43 - $73
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Karang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Villa Karang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Karang Hotel Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing