We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
3
2
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A normal practice is to settle in along the beach cafes to chill out for the day. So as a change I decided to visit mawar beach front cafe. From the moment my friend and I did not feel welcome because we didn't want to eat straight away but we did order waters to start prior to lunch time. This place is the poorest service I have received in all of Indonesia. Never to return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We discovered a horrific bed bug infested room when we first lay down here. Managed to change rooms, the new one was ok but the bathroom stank. Rancid sewage out of the shower. Plus points- good breakfast, excellent service and cheap prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheese_monkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We only found out about Mawar from friends we met along the way two days before we left Gili Air but we recommend them. The hosts were so nice. The bungalows were so cheap and provided the same great standard of service we experienced in a place 4 times dearer on the waterfront. They are a 2 min walk inland and have very quiet huts with a shower and a toilet Gili style. (not flushing but clean). Breakfast is good. It is an excellent option for budget conscious travellers. You cannot book in advance but the young boy is always waiting for the tourist boats to show his pamphlet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattiusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Ano and his family have 5 wooden/bamboo bungalows a little inland on the nice island Gili Air. Free tea and coffee al day and some choice in breakfast which is included for Rp. 80.000. We checked other (mostly concrete, sometimes a little nicer for Rp. 150.000) bungalows on the island, supposely on the beach but there are none. (There are on Gili Meno: Mallias Child for Rp. 300.000)

Mawar is very close to the central beach are where the beach is at his widest and we found nicest. He claims the distance to be 70 meter. Could be. Anyway you can see the sea the minute you walk out of the premises. We were very happy with this place and the tasteful banana pancakes.

Do note that the water on Gili Air comes from wells so the water that comes from the tab is saltine - which is a strange experience the first time especially brushing your teeth. (There are places with fresh water, expect to pay at least Rp. 250.000 for a double room.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We spent 5 nights at these bungalows. The owner (Ano) is very hospitable and will give you good tips on what and how to do things. The bungalows are great. We paid 80 for a night. (we did not find cheaper accom) that was including a lovely choice of breackfast and all the coffee and tea you could drink the whole day. The bungalows are 70 meters away from the beach, but that is the nicest stretch of beach on the island. The showers are indoors. The entire bungalow is made of wood, so it did get a bit damp when it rained.
We really recommend this accomodation! He usually waits for people on the beach when the boat arrives, but otherwise just walk to your right from the boat and look for the Mawar sign to go right. Its like 50 metres after the diveshop.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdam413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews