We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,712)
Filter reviews
1,712 results
Traveller rating
607
651
263
97
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
651
263
97
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gili t pool bar horse cart free bikes west side quiet side main part main area bike ride explore the island beach front private beach our honeymoon cidomo harbour swing bali
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 1,712 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed with the marketing of the rooms and facilities. It's false marketing actually. We had booked a club room. On the hotel's website and both Booking.com and TripAdvisor's websites, there are fantastic photos of the club rooms, the club lounge, and even a guest enjoying 'High Tea- a Club Benefit'. A 'Club Room' is an international concept, it stands for a high quality room with access to a special lounge and benefits as high tea, free drinks and nibbles etc. That is what we thought we'd booked. But reality was nothing like it. The room was average and we were told they didn't have the Club Lounge any more.
That's not good enough. It's not the staff's fault, it's the hotel's responsibility to make sure photos and information are correct and accurate. Thanks to the assistant manager we were upgraded to better rooms and were offered a few benefits.

The location is great and it's very good that the restaurant is literally on the beach. We enjoyed breakfast with a view and the sunsets are stunning. It's a bit far from town, but we knew that and we were lucky to get bikes when we wanted them. We took a horse and carriage when we went to town for dinner.
The staff are lovely. The assistant manager went out of his way to help us solve our situation.
The pool is great and there are plenty of sun beds. The beach is beautiful, but not so good for swimming as the reef is there.
The spa is good, we enjoyed a couple of treatments.
Overall, a lovely hotel on a beautiful little island, but more a 3.5-star feeling.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Knivbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Knivbrant,

I apology for the misleading information on some website and online agent since seems we were too slow on modify our information on all online website. Recently we had decided to convert the Aston Club Room to be Deluxe Room and closed our Aston Club Lounge which this took quite sometime to have the changes, finally we will have the Deluxe Room instead of Aston Club soon.
And good to know that you still able to enjoy your holiday after got the upgraded room with some benefits and experience enjoyable stay with our friendly staff and restaurant at the beach that those still may make you feel better.
Hopefully this issue won't stop you to comeback to our resort and we keep upgrading our facilities to meet our guest's need.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Great beach resort, lovely friendly people everyday. The food was lovely for all meals breakfast lunch and dinner. Bedroom always got cleaned very well and was comfy to stay in. Great pool and massages. We loved paddle boarding, scuba diving where we seen 6 turtles and riding the whole way around the island. Cheers :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank monique_smith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Monique,

We are glad to know that your holiday in Aston Sunset Beach Resort was very enjoyable and certainly I had shared your feedback with the entire staff to let them understand that you experienced their friendliness and services.
We wish to meet you again in the near future at Aston Sunset Beach Resort.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Resort had the potential to be nice, desk and concierge staff were great but many things overlooked particularly the quality of housekeeping and general room upkeep. Views at sunset were great. Resort is on the other side of the island from the main action, which was fine by us, everything is a short bike ride away (on the rustiest crappiest bikes you can imagine).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dawg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Ms./Mr. Calgary,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your experience during your stay in our resort in particular your comment on our quality of room maintenance is very helpful to us for improving our control and training on room division. We are going to coordinate the works and projects of our team with better coordination to be able to provide the services and products that meet our guest's needs. Recently we refresh the buildings and we look forward to have a chance to provide you with better quality of resort in your future visit in Gili Trawangan.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Mountain Agung view at Bali island across the sea would be enrich your breakfast experience and your soul. Some additional service touch should be improved , those are :
1. menu on buffet breakfast should be added 'protein' things, because too much carbohydrate, even the salad is very delicious especially the balsamic dressing.
2. bicycle should be added with the smaller one, sometime Asian or Indonesian is not too tall. it's difficult to ride a large diameter tire bike.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mutiara2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Ms. Mutiara,

Thank you for staying with us at Aston Sunset Beach Resort and bringing to our attention the breakfast and bike issues. We had taken an immediate action to improve the breakfast on the items and quality and regarding the smaller bike, certainly we will do our best effort to get that for our guest on special request.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Obviously the location of this hotel is incredible, right on the beach and on the side of the island with the best sunset. However the sea always seemed at low tide and therefore you can't really swim in it. The other side of the island is much better for swimming / snorkelling.

In terms of room it was nice, comfortable. Good air-conditioning which is very much needed! Big bed, nice bathroom and good power shower. Couldn't really fault the facilities but felt like the decor and the overall feel of the rooms is a bit dated and in need of an update.

They have free bikes for hotel guests but these quickly get taken so you have to be early to nab one. They also have free table tennis and pool on the terrace by the beach which is nice. Didn't use the hotel pool so can't comment on that.

Only stayed two nights as we'd spent the first three nights in other not so nice accommodation but would have stayed longer although I'm not sure I'd stay there again if I were to go back to Gili T.

The Aston Sunset Beach Resort is one of the pricier hotels on the island and whilst it's nice I wouldn't say it's the best place I've ever stayed. It's well worth coming to the beach bar for sunset though.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonGiliTrawangan, General Manager at Aston Sunset Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Harriet,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during staying with us at Aston Sunset Beach Resort. And thank you for bringing to our attention regarding the building and decoration issue, recently we had refreshed the resort to provide better quality for our guests in particular the guest room's interior. In regard to the beach, kindly be informed that that is controlled and protected by the Government to keep the nature corals and the beach has unpredictable low or high tide. Regarding the bikes, we had procured more units to be more able to accommodate the guest's needs.
We wish to have another chance to welcoming you back to our resort with better accommodation and services.

Sincerely,

Emanuel Prasodjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews