We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveller rating
431
438
241
115
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
438
241
115
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe terrace island bungalow horse and cart gili t pool bar west side free upgrade outdoor bathroom quiet side rent a bike large pool main part pool side great pool the main strip beautiful resort restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pros:
- One of the best spots in the island to watch the sunset.
- Quite isolated, away from the hectic night scenes (this could be a pro or a con, depending on traveler's preference)
- Decent swimming pool

Cons:
- Hotel is about 10-15 min cidomo (horse carriage) ride away from the main harbor and all the main restaurants. Cidomos are pretty much non-existent past 8 PM.
- Our room was all the way in the back. Walking back and forth requires some kind of efforts past the first day.
- Electricity went out 4 times throughout the night. It came back on again after about 30 sec each time, but had to turn on the AC manually-- each time.
- Bathroom is partially open air, about one third of the area is occupied with what might be their idea of a little "garden": dying plants on damp and wet soil (which somehow attracted flies)

Note:
-We went during high season period (August). The hotel was very busy.

Room tip: - Best to make boat arrangement (leaving/coming to the island) at least a day in advance. Depending on how busy they are, it might be tough to get a spot.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyer8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loewy_SU, Manajer Umum at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

"Warmest Greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset - Paradise Just Ahead"

Hi Mr/s. Nyer8888, thank you for staying with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. Apology for belated reply the message as I am new comer here, and we pleased to helping you if there any difficulties arise.

We are delighted to note that surely the positive feedback will certainly motivate our team members to our mission in completion our guest expectations.

We're very sorry if there any inconveniences happened to you during stay with us, we will follow up all the comments for such improvements.

It is my pleasure to inform you that within this closest time we will have new jetty nearby hotel and you can reach the hotel by walk not more than 5 minutes, and coincided perfectly we will have new villas and its Akoya where private pools villa are inside.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset, Gili Trawangan in the near future. Thank you.

Happy good day,
Loewy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for an accomodation which is quite, but not too far from the main area of Gili Trawangan, then Ombak Sunset Resort is not the right place. It is a beautiful resort, but it is quite isolated and the beach in front of the resort is not good, especially for swimming.

Transportation from Lombok to the resort is very convenient, as they can offer you a pick-up with a comfortable car from the airport to the harbour and they have a little private boat. The service is not cheap, but well organized.

Rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is in general kind, even though some of them cannot understand english and therefore are not able to give you any information or support. 

The food at the restaurant on the beach is quite good. The sunset view from the hotel and the restaurant is amazing.

Unfortunately the beach in this area of the island is not nice. It is practically impossible to swim. On the other side of the island the beach is much nicer, but almost all the spots there are of other hotels/resorts and reserved for their guests.

Note that any time you want to go from Ombak Sunset to a nice beach, if you like to go for a walk in the main area (near the Harbour), to eat in a restaurant outside the resort or to have drinks in a bar, you need to ask the hotel to call a horse cart (75,000 rupias per way) to pick you up and take you to the harbour. 

During the day an alternative option is to ride a bike. Some hotels give bikes FOC to their guests, but not Ombak Sunset Resort. One day my friend and I tried to rent two bikes from the resort, but the only bikes they had at that time were broken and the guy in charge of the bikes could not speak english. He was just nervously laughing instead of trying to help us to find a solution. So we had to call again a horse cart. 

Third option to go to the main area is to walk. It takes about 40min to walk to the harbour, but during the day it is very hot and during the night the way is completely dark. Unless you have a big torch and you do not mind to walk for a long time in the dark in the middle of nowhere, again the solution is to take a horse cart.
On the way back, if you are planning to go to a party on the beach, you really have to hope that one of the horse cart drivers will decide not to go home to sleep. One night we tried to arrange a pick up with a driver at 1am (which is not so late), but he never showed up.

I would like to go again to Gili, but even if Sunset Ombak is a good resort, I will definitely book another hotel, in a more convenient location.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loewy_SU, Manajer Umum at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

"Warmest Greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset - Paradise Just Ahead"

Hi Mr/s. Minsol, thank you for staying with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. Apology for belated reply the message as I am new comer here, and we pleased to helping you if there any difficulties arise.

We are delighted to note that surely the positive feedback will certainly motivate our team members to our mission in completion our guest expectations.

We're very sorry if there any inconveniences happened to you during stay with us, we will follow up all the comments for such improvements.

It is my pleasure to inform you that within this closest time we will have new jetty nearby hotel and you can reach the hotel by walk not more than 5 minutes, and coincided perfectly we will have new villas and its Akoya where private pools villa are inside.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset, Gili Trawangan in the near future. Thank you.

Happy good day,
Loewy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

What a pleasant surprise on Gili Trawangan. Great rooms with nice outdoor Bali style bathrooms. The standard rooms are still under construction, leaving only the bungalows open for customers I think. All of the facilities are ready though, including the great pool and really nice breakfast. Because of the construction, we had these facilities mostly to ourselves. We only ate one other meal there, because the prices were a bit high and the menu was only ok, but that was no problem as we worked other meals into our excursions to the other side of the island. I enjoyed the walks across to the other side of the island which was lucky because the cidomos (horse powered passenger carts) were a bit uncomfortable and slightly expensive, at least by Indonesian standards.

Happy hour was good, if a bit lonely; the bartenders at the pool were great. The bar at the beach was nice for drinks while watching the sun set. The staff made sure we had everything we needed every day, they all spoke English, and they all smiled a lot. Electric socket adapters, flashlight for a night walk, extra towels, turn down service, etc. all provided. Their service was truly outstanding. Free internet in the lobby area was adequate, and I'm sure is diffucult to provide given the location. TV channel selection was good. Beds were great.

The beach is pretty and clean, no trash floating around like in Bali. The downside is you can't swim in the ocean here, too shallow with lots of plants and creatures. We walked across some stepping stones in the ocean, looking for the dropoff, until my son was poked by a sea urchin perched on one of the stones; end of that walk. Anyway, still beautiful from the shoreline and the pool covered the swimming needs. Pool water was just a tiny bit saline, water in rooms is fresh. Really recommended for honeymooners due to the quiet and beautiful surroundings. To a lesser extent, I recommend it for kids also due to the great pool, though it should be even better when more rooms open up and there are more kids around. The construction wasn't really bothersome.

Room tip: I think all the bungalows are similarly good, not sure if any other room type is yet available.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samichhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loewy_SU, Manajer Umum at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

"Warmest Greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset - Paradise Just Ahead"

Hi Mr. Sam, thank you for staying with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. Apology for belated reply the message as I am new comer here, and we pleased to helping you if there any difficulties arise.

We are delighted to note that surely the positive feedback will certainly motivate our team members to our mission in completion our guest expectations.

We're very sorry if there any inconveniences happened to you during stay with us, we will follow up all the comments for such improvements.

It is my pleasure to inform you that within this closest time we will have new jetty nearby hotel and you can reach the hotel by walk not more than 5 minutes, and coincided perfectly we will have new villas and its Akoya where private pools villa are inside.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset, Gili Trawangan in the near future. Thank you.

Happy good day,
Loewy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

if you like crowds, this place is definitely not for you..
their location is pretty far from all the happenings.. but, i do prefer that. it's pretty quiet, and as its name suggests, i enjoyed the beautiful sunset sky right from the hotel's swimming pool.. I quite like restaurant's .. the food is good (not excellent by indo standard), though it's a bit pricey.

Now here's the mixed review:
- when we got there, they gave us a nice, spacious, clean unit in a quiet block. I couldn't have asked for more.. I enjoyed it so much that i was willing to cancel my booking for my subsequent trip (simply so that i could stay here longer).
- after i told the hotel that i was extending my stay & because the unit that we stayed in was booked, we were moved to another unit further at the back. And this is when the holiday ended & the nightmare started. The Aircon leaked water, the room was dirty that we had to ask the cleaners to do extra work and in general it was the opposite of the pleasant stay that we experienced.. i spent all my time complaining & chasing up with the hotel .. but they did very little (it was busy time for them in dec).

I asked the hotel to arrange our transfer (speedboat to the main island, the road trip to see traditional village on the way to airport, etc) .. This turned out to be the most stressful part of the holiday.. the horse-drawn vehicles arrived very late & not enough for all of us, the long delay to get to the speed boat, the road-trip was very unpleasant. Although we already booked the driver+car, the driver was not aware of this arrangement & he was tasked to pick up another visitor, which meant we wouldn't have time to visit the traditional village..
in anger, i took the driver's phone & switched it off, I was already fuming & i couldn't let the hotel ruin the remainder of my holiday.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Handy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loewy_SU, Manajer Umum at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

"Warmest Greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset - Paradise Just Ahead"

Hi Mr. Handy T, thank you for staying with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. Apology for belated reply the message as I am new comer here, and we pleased to helping you if there any difficulties arise.

We are delighted to note that surely the positive feedback will certainly motivate our team members to our mission in completion our guest expectations.

We're very sorry if there any inconveniences happened to you during stay with us, we will follow up all the comments for such improvements.

It is my pleasure to inform you that within this closest time we will have new jetty nearby hotel and you can reach the hotel by walk not more than 5 minutes, and coincided perfectly we will have new villas and its Akoya where private pools villa are inside.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset, Gili Trawangan in the near future. Thank you.

Happy good day,
Loewy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Good hotel, big pool, friendly staff. The Island Bungalow we got was spacious with outdoor bathroom. Bicycle was not free, you have to rent them for Rp. 75.000/24hr; the problem is, they do not come with the locks. You would have difficulty parking them around the island since you would be recommended to lock them should you leave them for other activities like snorkeling/fishing, dining, or even other attractions.

Sitting on the west part of the island, the hotel was sort of isolated, though. You would get the center of the town after 20 min cycling. The sandy path would require you to push your bike at times. Would not be a smooth ride; yup, I lost my reading glasses during the ride to town..

Once the sun is set, you would feel that you are trapped in the hotel. Going to town on bicycle? Don't even think of it. Too dark and those bikes are not equipped with lights. The cidomo (horse carts) would take you there, but then again, you don't see them a lot in front of the hotel. We ended up sitting down at the lobby most of the night 'playing' with our iPad & smart phones since the lobby is the only place where you would get good wiFi connection.

Fresh water shower is a good thing since some hotels there still use sea water. The pool though, is still filled with sea water.

They seem to have their own generator set there to supply the electricity to their own need. Somehow, at night, when most people turn on the air conditions, we experienced some electricity off. Quite bugging since you would have to turn on the air conditions again and again using the remote controller.

The staff though, was very helpful: We told the receptionist that we would like to get transferred to their sister hotel, Villa Ombak (located at the center of the activities) the next day despite of our 2 nights reservation; and he (Pak Herman? Unless I remember the name wrong...) called Villa Ombak right away and made it happen for us with some adjustment fee. Good for us since our two kids look really bored, then.

Breakfast? Not good. Could be better actually.

So: Stay there if you are the kind of person who likes quietness, maybe watch the beautiful sun set; but dont stay there if you are like me: The kind of person who would rather be in the center of activities/making sure you would be able to get snacks, or a tooth brush next store, in case you forgot to bring one..

Room tip: Get the ones closer to the swimming pool/lobby. Again, the lobby is the only area having good wiFi.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loewy_SU, Manajer Umum at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

"Warmest Greeting from Hotel Ombak Sunset - Paradise Just Ahead"

Hi Mr. Deni G, thank you for staying with us and we truly appreciate your kind review. Apology for belated reply the message as I am new comer here, and we pleased to helping you if there any difficulties arise.

We are delighted to note that surely the positive feedback will certainly motivate our team members to our mission in completion our guest expectations.

We're very sorry if there any inconveniences happened to you during stay with us, we will follow up all the comments for such improvements.

It is my pleasure to inform you that within this closest time we will have new jetty nearby hotel and you can reach the hotel by walk not more than 5 minutes, and coincided perfectly we will have new villas and its Akoya where private pools villa are inside.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Ombak Sunset, Gili Trawangan in the near future. Thank you.

Happy good day,
Loewy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews