We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Peaceful, Perfect Location for Beautiful Sunset”
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed most times of the stay. Located on the west side of the island at the sunset point. They set up a nice bar for you to enjoy the beautiful sunset. Although the private beach was not swim-able due to shallow and rocky, the view was still very nice during the day. Big swimming pool. Free afternoon tea & coffee at the pool side (they need to improve the taste of the snack though). Staff were friendly but I think because this hotel is considered new, the staff haven't had too many experience with complaints. The services were very slow. Slow check in, slow F&B service, slow check out, etc. We lost our room key, and surprisingly they didn't have spare key! I mean, what kind of hotel don't have spare room key? This was quite a turn off for us, I had to ask for the housekeepers key and call them every time we needed room make up or turn down service. The staff didn't seem to handle our problem very well. Breakfast was just OK, need more variety for a 5 star hotel. The "Ayam Taliwang" that we ordered from "in room dining service" was delicious though, very recommended.
The location of this hotel could be a plus and minus. It is far from the central area where the restaurants and bars are, but we enjoyed the tough bike ride and walking, good exercises. If you go at night, better take the horse cart because the road was too dark. Or dinner at the hotel beach bar is not bad at all. They play live music every night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CutiePuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 857 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pros:
- One of the best spots in the island to watch the sunset.
- Quite isolated, away from the hectic night scenes (this could be a pro or a con, depending on traveler's preference)
- Decent swimming pool

Cons:
- Hotel is about 10-15 min cidomo (horse carriage) ride away from the main harbor and all the main restaurants. Cidomos are pretty much non-existent past 8 PM.
- Our room was all the way in the back. Walking back and forth requires some kind of efforts past the first day.
- Electricity went out 4 times throughout the night. It came back on again after about 30 sec each time, but had to turn on the AC manually-- each time.
- Bathroom is partially open air, about one third of the area is occupied with what might be their idea of a little "garden": dying plants on damp and wet soil (which somehow attracted flies)

Note:
-We went during high season period (August). The hotel was very busy.

Room Tip: - Best to make boat arrangement (leaving/coming to the island) at least a day in advance. Depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyer8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for an accomodation which is quite, but not too far from the main area of Gili Trawangan, then Ombak Sunset Resort is not the right place. It is a beautiful resort, but it is quite isolated and the beach in front of the resort is not good, especially for swimming.

Transportation from Lombok to the resort is very convenient, as they can offer you a pick-up with a comfortable car from the airport to the harbour and they have a little private boat. The service is not cheap, but well organized.

Rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is in general kind, even though some of them cannot understand english and therefore are not able to give you any information or support. 

The food at the restaurant on the beach is quite good. The sunset view from the hotel and the restaurant is amazing.

Unfortunately the beach in this area of the island is not nice. It is practically impossible to swim. On the other side of the island the beach is much nicer, but almost all the spots there are of other hotels/resorts and reserved for their guests.

Note that any time you want to go from Ombak Sunset to a nice beach, if you like to go for a walk in the main area (near the Harbour), to eat in a restaurant outside the resort or to have drinks in a bar, you need to ask the hotel to call a horse cart (75,000 rupias per way) to pick you up and take you to the harbour. 

During the day an alternative option is to ride a bike. Some hotels give bikes FOC to their guests, but not Ombak Sunset Resort. One day my friend and I tried to rent two bikes from the resort, but the only bikes they had at that time were broken and the guy in charge of the bikes could not speak english. He was just nervously laughing instead of trying to help us to find a solution. So we had to call again a horse cart. 

Third option to go to the main area is to walk. It takes about 40min to walk to the harbour, but during the day it is very hot and during the night the way is completely dark. Unless you have a big torch and you do not mind to walk for a long time in the dark in the middle of nowhere, again the solution is to take a horse cart.
On the way back, if you are planning to go to a party on the beach, you really have to hope that one of the horse cart drivers will decide not to go home to sleep. One night we tried to arrange a pick up with a driver at 1am (which is not so late), but he never showed up.

I would like to go again to Gili, but even if Sunset Ombak is a good resort, I will definitely book another hotel, in a more convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We visited the resort for five days, and that was just the perfect amount of time for Gili T. Any longer and you would be bored.

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow, behind the resort reception which was lovely. There is large main building just being finished beside the reception, however we were not disturbed by any construction noise as garden area with the villas, is too far away to hear anything.

The staff could not have been any more lovely and helpful if they had tried. They really went out of their way to make us feel special.

The only complaint I had about the accommodation is that I am paranoid about getting bitten by mosquitoes, and the outdoor bathroom of the villa (although very enclosed and absolutely lovely) did tend to have a few mosquitoes if you went out at night, that followed you back inside if you were not quick!

I asked if we could be moved to a villa with an indoor bathroom, and they moved us immediately and very graciously however the villa was not as nice as the one with the outdoor bathroom but hey, you can't have it all! And it was still perfectly nice.

Bed sheets were changed every day, and villa was cleaned really well and fresh fruits placed in room. Food in the restaurants was lovely, and the pool area was a great place to chill out.

The private beach front (belonging to the resort) is the most beautiful place to watch the sunset, possibly in the world! You get best view on the island, and there are loungers and day beds and drinks service. Also a lovely restaurant on the beach, where you can have dinner and watch the sunset....very romantic!

The spa was absolutely wonderful. The spa manager Gary is incredibly healing,and he does reflexology like no-one else. I went back two days in a row! The body massage I had was also great, and all the staff lovely. Only complaint about the spa was that they were using cheap nail polishes, and my manicure didn't last very long. Manicure was great though, apart from the polish so take your own polish.

Only other negative things that I would say are: Wireless is only available in the reception area or in the villas beside the reception. They need to increase the wireless coverage. Also they give you individual session log ins and passwords on paper for logging on which is not necessary, as they could just give everyone a password and change the password every few weeks.

Also, the need to increase their medical supply box. There is a doctor on the island but he is an hour away by the time they send for a donkey and cart to get you, and sometimes you don't want to travel to the doctor on a donkey and cart when you feel ill! I got a mild vomiting bug the first day we were there (almost certainly from breakfast I ate at another resort) and I needed hydration sachets and anti-sickness pills and they had none, and also no thermometer as my partner wanted to check my temperature but their old mercury thermometer was broken. I ended up having to make the journey into town on the back of the donkey to get stuff from the doctors. Not fun when you're being sick!!

All in all though, this is a beautiful resort! Perfect, romantic place for any couple.

Room Tip: Choose one beside reception if you want wireless in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

What a pleasant surprise on Gili Trawangan. Great rooms with nice outdoor Bali style bathrooms. The standard rooms are still under construction, leaving only the bungalows open for customers I think. All of the facilities are ready though, including the great pool and really nice breakfast. Because of the construction, we had these facilities mostly to ourselves. We only ate one other meal there, because the prices were a bit high and the menu was only ok, but that was no problem as we worked other meals into our excursions to the other side of the island. I enjoyed the walks across to the other side of the island which was lucky because the cidomos (horse powered passenger carts) were a bit uncomfortable and slightly expensive, at least by Indonesian standards.

Happy hour was good, if a bit lonely; the bartenders at the pool were great. The bar at the beach was nice for drinks while watching the sun set. The staff made sure we had everything we needed every day, they all spoke English, and they all smiled a lot. Electric socket adapters, flashlight for a night walk, extra towels, turn down service, etc. all provided. Their service was truly outstanding. Free internet in the lobby area was adequate, and I'm sure is diffucult to provide given the location. TV channel selection was good. Beds were great.

The beach is pretty and clean, no trash floating around like in Bali. The downside is you can't swim in the ocean here, too shallow with lots of plants and creatures. We walked across some stepping stones in the ocean, looking for the dropoff, until my son was poked by a sea urchin perched on one of the stones; end of that walk. Anyway, still beautiful from the shoreline and the pool covered the swimming needs. Pool water was just a tiny bit saline, water in rooms is fresh. Really recommended for honeymooners due to the quiet and beautiful surroundings. To a lesser extent, I recommend it for kids also due to the great pool, though it should be even better when more rooms open up and there are more kids around. The construction wasn't really bothersome.

Room Tip: I think all the bungalows are similarly good, not sure if any other room type is yet available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samichhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,907 reviews
1.4 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
614 reviews
1.7 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
1.2 km away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
573 reviews
0.8 km away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $74 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing