We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Location, Staff & Atmosphere!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trawangan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Staff & Atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with a group of 9. We stayed in the 4 bedroom private villa with own pool. This is our second visit in 12 months! Excellent once again...

Service is of high quality, great to see the same staff again. Most of them speak enough English to have a conversation and some of them fluent!

Happy hour from 3pm - 7pm is great! The food is not fabulous but good for a quick snack and reasonably priced!

Located past the night life and a short walk out. It's pretty far tho from the boat in the heat & horse n cart is atleast 50,000 Rp.

Def will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellyw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    139
    66
    30
    20
See reviews for
87
180
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
163 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Other than was marked on some online maps, the Trawangan resort is on the far southeastern side of the island, past Kokomo. It's a 15 minute walk from the central marketarea, or a 5 minute bike ride. A bike is just perfect to explore the island.
Because of it's location, the surroudings of the resort are perfectly quiet, no noise in the evening.
The entrance is a bit weird, with a very long small corridor behind it that leads to the villa's, rooms and the central breakfast and poolarea. The pool is small, not too attractive while it seemed to be not in use, we saw the pump working only one early morning.

We had a room, which was just good for us with a large (but noisy!) bed, minibar (with quite attractively priced stuff), tv (few channels, but dvd's available), and a safe. The only thing we missed inside of the room was mirror. Wifi working all over the resort. Our room had a small private garden in front of it (unfortunately no outside light so impossible to read in the evening but when your neighbours are chainsmokers like ours, it's not attractive to sit outside anyway) and a outdoorbathroom in the back. We liked the outdoorbathroom but in the morning it got really hot in there - had to open the tap with a towel - because of the sun shining in it directly.
We arrived very early but our room was cleaned already which was perfect.
For environmental matters, maybe they should give guests the option not to have new towels every day, and refill water bottles instead of providing new ones every day.

Our room was right in front of the breakfastarea which didn't cause us any noiseproblems except for the last day when a very noisy group of girls woke us up very early but like I said this was an exception.
Breakfast is just fine, with a long list of items to choose from. The nasi goreng was perfect, pancakes a little thick. Large plates of fresh fruits, juice however very sweet lemonade and tea a little strong.

In front of the resort there's a lovely seafront with low trees providing shade. The sea is not perfect for swimming in here, but the views and silence are perfect. Happy hour from 3 to 7 pm with 2nd cocktail for free. Just perfect!

If I would go again to Gili T I would definitely take the Trawangan Resort as an option cause we had a great time in here but for snorkelling and culinary considerations I would also have a look at the places on the northern tip of the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely resort, just far enough away from the lively strip to relax but close enough to be convenient for dinner and drinks. The villa was high quality, modern and clean. The staff were super friendly and bent over backwards to help us.

The resort is undergoing some major renovation at the moment by what appears to be the building of a new front to the resort. Whilst they are doing this exceptionally well, it is visable and you can hear occasional noise from the villa. It would be worth staying in a villa far back (we stayed in villa 3 next to the building project). That said we still had a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This place is on the south end of the island near Kokomo restaurant and some other good places to eat/drink. The staff are super friendly and the room was really nice. Dont worry about the small hotel pool as you have crystal clear 27 degree water on your doorstep. The treehouse bar is a great place for an afternoon drink (although take the short walk to the islands west side to see the amazing sunsets). Only down side is that we had to walk 15 mins to the north side of the island to get away from the wind and nearer the really good snorkeling. But, for the price, proximity to other good stuff, and the high standard of rooms this was worth it to us!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsh_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

After several trips to Gill-T I have stayed at the top locations on the island. The Trawangan is one of the best.
After the initial teething problems that a new venue experiences they have now got it running to perfection.
With 16 years experience in the travel and tourism industry I highly recommend you come and experience this amazing place.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.3 km away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.3 km away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#19 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.5 km away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 km away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price range (per night): $89 - $175
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing