We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
651
136
29
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
651
136
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvesta baracross the roadvillage stylemain poolsmaller poolcocktail barair conlovely hotelrelaxing holidaynext yearhotel restaurantroom safestayed bed and breakfastbeautiful flowersthe main streetwell run hotelrepeat guests
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Had a fantastic hols here at the start of July. We booked through TUI on a half board rate and found it to be excellent value for money. The facilities are excellent and very clean - a choice of 3 nice pools surrounded by well-maintained gardens. I would say that this is a rare example where the photos on the website don't do the resort justice! The choice of food in the restaurant was extensive and the service was friendly. The Vesta bar is lovely for a Happy Hour drink and does an excellent Bloody Mary! I'd highly recommend that you hire a car while you're there (no need to book in advance as there are a couple of local firms where you can just pop in to the office). Island must sees include the loggerhead turtles in Argostoli (head to the harbour for about 9am when the fishing boats are coming in), Melissani Cave (arrive early to avoid the coach tours), Myrtos Beach (the facilities aren't anything special but the bay is breathtakingly beautiful), and the villages of Fiskardo, Assos and Agia Efimia (Paradise Beach is a lovely bathing spot just on the edge of the village).

Room Tip: The new superior rooms at the back of the hotel have much more modern decor but are still excellent value
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We had a lovely two week stay at 9 Muses.

I'd have to say that if I could take a hotel with me and stay at it at all my holiday locations, I would pick this one. It is extremely clean and the design is quaint, pretty and safe.

On arrival, your cases are collected and delivered to your room, which is a great touch.

The restaurant is spacious and the staff are both efficient and friendly. The food is of good quality and the menu is varied. You never feel rushed and it feels modern but not stuffy.
The breakfast is buffet style and the cooked ham, sausages and bacon are on a three day rota, everything else remains the same. Poached egg, scrambled egg, beans, cereals, croissants, toast, continental cheese and meat and fresh fruit cocktail etc
If i had one request, it would be to have bacon as an option everyday ;)

We didn't use the pool but there is a main one near reception, which has a bar. Again, it's the design of the Hotel that is so impressive. Everything close by but it feels spacious.
The barman is a really nice hard working guy and he knows his cocktails.

There is a newly built area which has two further pools, a small more private one and a larger one at the top of the grounds, which is simply stunning and the views are amazing.

There is also a small church, which is in a very pretty setting.

Our room was clean and modern and the beds were very comfortable. The air-conditioning is free and ours was very quiet and efficient. We had a mountain view but from what I could see, every room has a pleasant balcony.

Across the road is the beach, which has new comfortable sun beds, which is part of the hotel and they are 7 euros per umbrella, there is a very sweet girl who will get you bar snacks for the beach.
The beach has pebbles and sand and the sea is perfect.

In summary, if you want a break in the sunshine in a safe and friendly Hotel, with beautiful flowers, spacious but quaint design, a very nice restaurant, a choice of pools and a safe and beautiful sea across the road, 9 Muses is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Runningman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Stayed here in June. A beautiful location overlooking the beach. 10 minutes walk to Main Street bars, restaurants and shops. Attractively designed hotel buildings. However, no mention is made in the hotel description beforehand of the steep slope and climb to access many of the bedrooms. The staff were most unhelpful when we asked for a more accessible room. On arrival, we awaited our luggage which reception told us would be taken to the room. After a long wait, we left our room to have dinner in town. When we returned a few hours later, our cases were outside the room alongside a road accessible to the public! Complimentary toiletries and coffees and teas in the bedrooms are not replenished, and we were told that they are merely a first day welcome gift! The room safe with a basic locking key is charged at a premium rate. The dining room is on two levels. We sat at a table on the lower level one morning, but were told to move as breakfast was not served there. The next morning they served breakfast there to other hotel guests. The no inflatables, diving, etc sign at the main pool is totally disregarded by some families and staff, despite a designated children’s pool at the rear of the hotel. The tired beach sun beds and umbrellas are charged at a rate of 7euros per day, although the 5star Hotel along the beach charges 6 euros with complimentary towels. Happy Hour cocktails which usually include the whole range of cocktails offered at each establishment, are limited to a basic few.
Overall, this did not meet four star standards.

Stayed: June 2018
5  Thank LissieSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

We apologize that we were unable to meet your standards. May we suggest you discuss this matter with your booking agent since it is known that Skala is located on a a steep incline (hence the name of the town which translates to “stair”) and that most reviews discuss the location. All beach chairs are supposed to be a uniform price throughout (since this is regulated by local government regulations and tax laws and to be honest a professional agreement amongst hotel owners) . We sincerely apologize if you felt unaccomodated... that is quite disappointing to us. While we did not meet your superior standards we pride ourselves on being a local family run business who come from humble backgrounds and are proud of what we have made thoughout the years . We will continue to try to improve . Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Stayed at the 9 Muses for a week in July with my husband. What a smashing hotel in a great location. We had a lovely & relaxing stay.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with small children as it's not really got the appropriate facilities and the beach is stoney/gritty so no sandcastles to be made.
However if you want a hotel with character, very clean with welcoming & hardworking staff then this is the place to come.

The hotel is right on the sea front with all the watersports just outside the hotel. Sea sandals would be recommened to help you get in & out of the water as can be hard on the feet.

Our room had a lovely view, great aircon, plenty of cupboard space & for the first time in any hotel I have stayed in an insect screen to slide across when your patio door is open, great idea! And another first for me, the combination of a plug socket, table and a mirror all in the same place! At last I could straighten my hair, while seeing what I'm doing & not having to sit on the floor.... result eh girls?

I take other reviewers point about the breakfasts, however there is plenty of choice and if you don't like the 'bacon' there are lots of alternatives to pick from. I quite enjoyed the breakfasts.

There is a large supermaket a couple of minutes to the left when leaving the hotel which is cheaper than other smaller ones. You can fill your fridge very cheaply & they have lots of choice. A bit further on from the supermarket is a large hotel with a spa and you are able to book treatments there. I had a full massage by a physiotherapist for only 27 euros, bargain! In the other direction is the main part of Skala where there are lots of lovely restaurants. Didn't have a bad meal anywhere during our stay.

Personally we had no complaints and hope to come back again next year with my brother & sister-in-law. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenbark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! We appreciate all your kind words . We look forward to your return with your brother and sister in law .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

First visit to this hotel. Very pretty with well maintained gardens.The staff particularly Athena and Manos were so helpful and friendly.Situated on a slope which made it difficult for those with walking difficulties.However there were buggies to take luggage and guests round the hotel.We requested a ground floor room when we booked With Tui but were told this could not be guaranteed. We did get a room on the lower floor but there were still a few steps to door which made it difficult for husband who uses a rollator and impossible if in a wheelchair.Also requested a walk in shower on booking and again told could not be guaranteed. We were lucky to be given one however.We were meeting our son and his family who live in Australia but again on booking were told not possible for them to join us in hotel as they did not fly from U.K !We hired an electric disability scooter from "Mobility Kefalonia" which helped my husband considerably to get about the hotel and the sea front and town. In summary a well run attractive hotel but a little more thought needs to be given for those with mobility problems.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Hurricanelard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time out to review us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by non accessible areas. The island is a difficult topography for those with mobility issues ... we will work to alleviate issues at the hotel.. thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews