We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
38
36
26
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
36
26
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street basement room breakfast area pool area some tlc small pool cleaned every day village centre small hotel tea and coffee safety deposit box ham quiet location rooms are basic top floor lovely pool across the road
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated at the top end of skala main street. Arrived at reception no one about. Eventually found staff a pool bar. The room we were allocated was 203 . It was small dirty and dangerous. The kettle lid was broken, it leaked and didnt switch off. The bedside light had duct tap around the on off switch and plug socket. There was another pile of loose wires behind the bedside cabinet. The walls were dirty..looked like someone had thrown a drink at the wall and been left to drip down. The top bedding sheet was stained( looked like blood) and dirty. In over 30 years of visiting Skala never had such a poor standard of accomodation. After speaking and showing the tui rep the problems we were moved after a couple of days to another room. This room was better but certainly not worth a tui 3T . The breakfast was basic...but i prefer jam without at least 30 wasps walking around in it. They simply need to provide adequate covers for the jam pots not ripped tin foil. Needless to say we passed on breakfast after the first day. The shower curtain in the bathroom matched the mould on the shower tiles.Before booking this place as always do my research but clearly a lot of the reviews i read did not reflect the poor standard. This for me was below basic Greek accommodation. I would rather stay on the beach in a cardboard box as at least the beach is clean. Would not recommend in any way shape or form to anyone.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kitty12342015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely week in Kefalonia. I don't think we've ever had a more relaxing break as we did in Scala.
The Ocean View offered typically Greek rooms with all of the amenities you would expect.
Although our room was very basic and quite small we had no problem settling in very quickly.
The hotel was clean and all of the staff were very welcoming and polite especially the delightful young lady who served breakfast. After day 1 she new exactly what we both wanted and nothing was too much bother.
The pool area was clean and there was no problem getting sun beds.
The hotel was situated very close to the local restaurants which were plentiful and we never had a bad meal. I would particularly recommend the Moussaka at Makis restaurant next door to the hotel.
I would also suggest that you try one of the Kefalonian pies before you leave.
As I said the resort is very quiet so don't go looking for the nightclub although we did enjoy the Northern Soul / Motown club at the Loco Bar on Saturday night.
We hope to return next year.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Ocean view near the top of the hill in Skala Kefalonia. . May not suit those who have walking difficulties especially as there are more steps to enter hotel. Rooms typically Greek... Hard beds and pillows but you get used to it after a few days. Our room had a kitchenette area... No utensils, but kettle and fridge were great. Staff really friendly and helpful. Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed as often as you wanted. Pool area clean with plenty of beds.. Yianna does breakfast daily and remembers everyone's preferences... Choice was adequate....Greek yoghurt is divine... We took our own fruit, no problem with that. Skala itself was a bit isolating... Public transport unpredictable which I'm sure gets worse as season goes on. We hired a jeep for a few days as this worked better for us as we don't like organised trips.. An enjoyable relaxing time and great if your. Couple over 50 who likes the quiet life...

Stayed: September 2018
Thank calisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

There are no bells and whistles with this hotel. It is comfortable, well situated, has a clean pool and plenty of sun loungers. Maid service daily. Quiet location at the top of the main street. Wi-fi only really worked in reception, not in our room.

Room Tip: Air-con is extra. Double lock your door as single locking doesn't always work. Safe is free.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel room was clean. Tv, fridge and hairdryer supplied. Maid service excellent. Beds made every day and linen changed frequently. Breakfast area was lovely as was food. Service was spot on. No problem in recommending this small and friendly hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews