We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
446
364
139
52
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
364
139
52
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire show half board golf buggy a superior sea view room lobby bar animation team a la carte restaurant all inclusive guests shared pool pool restaurant all inclusive package main restaurant main pool courtesy bus inclusive menu evening entertainment aqua aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We visited early September on a package holiday . We were last coach drop off but the journey wasn’t too bad and was certainly not 2 hours .

We were upgraded to a superior room and it was beautiful and spotless. Beds were comfy and air con was great.

Hotel is a little out of skala atleast a 30 min walk however the free shuttle bus is great and a taxi is around 6 Euro.

Food and the restaurant staff were a let down - it took ages to ask for drinks and food was repetitive and bland . Breakfast items were not replenished as often as needed.

Evening entertainment was poor but we only caught it for half an hour before going into the town .

Reception staff were extremely helpful - thanks for a lovely holiday - we will be back .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lucylou3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Just come back from a wonderful 2 weeks at the Apostolata.

OK, so first of all, as per many of the other reviews, it's not the equivilent of a UK 5 star. Although the prices reflect that. I think it's fairly obvious from the photos it's on the side of a cliff, so you would expect hills and steps. We didnt mind, but it's probably not suitable if you are infirm. Although the buggies are great for picking you up, but it would restrict you slightly.

We were the last drop off from the airport, but no big deal and its a lovely drive with lots of stunning views.

The rooms are a good size with a nice big bathroom. We had a bath and shower. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels replaced. Although we were happy to reuse towels, no matter where we left them, they got changed! The fridge was handy to keep water and wine! We also bought milk as it was slightly nicer in tea than the milk/cream supplied. We would have preferred a double bed rather than 2 singles.

The regular free hotel bus into Skala and Poros is great and we used it many times. A couple of times we got the last afternoon bus into Skala, had drinks and dinner then got a taxi back. There is a taxi 'rank' on the road by the sea and there was always taxis there waiting.

The food was delicious. It's buffet style, with absolutely loads of choice. I can't understand the people who make comments about 'it's great if you like pizza and spagetti'??? Perhaps they didnt notice the many dishes of meat, fish, veggie dishes etc. There was a huge choice of salads, meats or lighter choices if you wanted. We were half board, but you can swap dinner for lunch which gives you the option to go out for the evening. We did this a few times.

The hotel is a few miles outside Skala, but that's what we wanted, and with the bus and taxis it was the perfect choice.

Evening entertainment was OK and there was something on every night. The only thing we did say was that it would be nice to have something going on in the evening around the pool bar. There is the weekly fire show which was brilliant, but sitting out on the balcony at night it would have been nice to have something going on by the pool.

The little terrace down by the sea is perfect for swimming and snorkelling and the sea was warmer than the pool!

There's lots to do locally if you want. We took the boat to Ithaka and Fiskado, an evening trip to Argostoli (which is definitely worth it) and also a wine tour into rural Kefalonia.

All in all, we loved everything about this hotel. The views are beautiful with regular ferries and lots of boats going by. The staff were so friendly, although some a little more than others. Everyone was helpful. I lost my shawl one evening, and it was returned to our room the next day!

Thank you to everyone at the hotel, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Beautiful holiday,only snag, had elderly parent, did not realise no lift to pool, although the staff and buggies were helpful, no times were advertised. Apart from this shall return but not with anyone who needs a lift

Stayed: June 2018
Thank pam1960187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Bill and Susan would like to thank all the staff and guests who made our holiday so special. A beautiful hotel with friendly staff, great views, clean rooms, pretty and tidy grounds. The choice of food is amazing at every meal, not just at the award-winning breakfast. A big hotel, with several choices of accommodation which are spread into several parts for a more private and friendly feel. Menus for All Inclusive or other board guests were available. We enjoyed the local drinks we sampled. Spirits are served in very generous measures. The mocktails (alcohol-free) cocktails are also refreshing. Eva the singing waitress, the Fire Dancer and spa pool were just some of our highlights. The bay at the hotel was good for snorkeling, sunbathing or sitting in the shade. The path down is steep with several steps though there is a handrail.

Room Tip: Wide choice of rooms, suites, sea or mountain views, some with pools.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank billfisherleiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Where do I start. Well firstly the hotel is around 2hrs by coach from the airport. The scenery is fantastic. Once at the hotel the service is good and it looks very nice. You need to pay for the safe and sunbed towels. So a little downer early on. The room was satisfactory, typically Greek. Everything a little worn but working. Well almost the plug lifter was us in the sink. This didn't get repaired, but shower drain blockage got sorted straight away. You need to be fairly fit to get around as its built on a hillside and it's quite steep or lots of steps to get around. The po was very nice if very cold. The sea down at the Cove was far warmer and more enjoyable. There were plenty of sun beds available. The food was good with plenty of choice but typical Greek mixed up selections. The spa, I had a full massage which was very good. Nice facilities in the spa as well.
The real down side was the drinks. Only local brews and now diet/ sugar free mixers. Not good for a diabetic. Even the store in Skala only dad diet lemonade or coke. The hotel manager tried to get some from the capital but failed during my stay but promised to get them added in the future. All in all a very relaxing stay and I would go back! But I'd probably book a suite in the main hotel as these look newer and better finished.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews