We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
30
46
21
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
46
21
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel toasties self catering distant sea view pool bar air con late bar plenty of sunbeds toilet roll limited cooking facilities electric hob rooms cleaned regularly plug hole these apartments basic accommodation pool area was clean hand held shower
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Not long returned from another stay at these apartments in Skala. We were lucky enough to have two rooms side by side this year and Stravroula will always try to accomodate you if she is able. We had rooms 84 and 85 and I would like to say a very big thankyou to Rita and Elaine for leaving the toaster in room 85 as this did come in very handy for the morning toast! Overall these rooms are basic greek style and the beds can be a bit hard. Towels and bedding changed two/three times a week. We always find these apartments adequate for our needs as we eat out every night in Skala so don't use the limited cooking facilities. The pool is lovely for a dip when you get back from the beach and Dina once again was welcoming and friendly. Would stay here again as the distance to the beach and town is only about 10 minutes and hopefully will be back again next year.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Eleana Studios for 7 nights.

Basic studios with plenty of storage, nice terrace to sit out on and small kitchenette which we only used for making coffee and preparing continental breakfast. The bathroom was a bit tired looking but was adequate. It is the first time we have been in a Greek studio with a bath. Shower curtain needed replacing. There was always plenty of hot water.

There is air con which costs 7 euros per night. There is also a safe which we paid 10 euros for the week.

The studio was clean when we arrived. Cleaners came in all but one day (our 6th day) to empty the bins and make the beds. Towels were changed once during our stay.

Lovely pool area with plenty of sun beds. Dina (Ntina) looked after the pool bar. She was always very helpful and always smiling. Drinks are priced okay. Food wise you can only get toasties from the pool bar.

Lovely well kept gardens.

You can also use the facilities at the sister hotel over the road. We called in there a few times for a drink - again prices were okay. The staff we met there were pleasant and helpful.

We had a lovely holiday and would return to Skala and Eleana studios.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Missi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Come every year sometimes twice - dirtiest apartment we’ve ever stayed in skala.
Lots of storage and wardrobe space but a very sparse kitchen area with a disgusting filthy extractor fan with black and green slimy fat all hanging down where you had to prepare food.
No thanks! We paid and ate out.

Pool and bar, gardens are clean but the rooms were very bad.
Dust & dirt, cobwebs, dirty floors, black bath, mound and slime around the soap dish, plug hole etc. Didn’t change bath mat. Balcony never swept off or ashtray emptied.
Air con which we paid for was hit and miss!
No toilet roll in the room, we! as others staying here, helped ourselves out of the pool toilet,
really hard uncomfortable bed with the springs sticking up. But the beds were changed once a week and clean towels provided.

Not enough pool umbrellas for shade. Only 9 around the whole of the pool. You can use the Marietta across the road but it was the same there.
And on the day we were due to leave at 6.30 pm no shower or changing facilities offered, just the pool shower( outside) no lock/ privacy. Then get changed in the indoor loos. We didn’t want to shower in our pool wear, as it would have to go into the case wet.
Paid £1200+ for the privilege of a dirty room and a noisy busy road.
Never again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Budget accommodation is not always great in Greece, although I had hoped that things might have improved over the years. I guess you get what you pay for, although I'd like to know how much TUI (with whom we booked) take in profit from the price of the holiday, and whether the hotel staff are adequately paid.

The room was satisfactory, with good storage space, albeit in rather tired flatpack style furniture. The kitchen was very poorly fitted out with a pretty inadequate range of equipment even for our very basic and limited preparation of light lunches. We would expect a reasonable kitchen preparation knife, perhaps a salad bowl, and a toaster or grill as basic, in addition to the single plate hob. The bed was ok, although you could feel the springs beneath the mattress surface.

Cleaning services appeared to be poorly managed, and we don't blame the individual staff who seemed to do their best. We found that cleaning staff often came to our room at exactly the time when we had popped back for some lunch, and they seemed to expect to come in and work around us. Surely the management could put in place do not disturb/please clean the room signs, and then guests can help the staff by letting them know when the room is free for cleaning. The standard of cleanliness was adequate at best, and poor in several respects, such as dirt in the corner areas; we were not aware of the wash basin ever having been cleaned; and replacement of toilet rolls was inadequate. If the hotel does not provide toilet paper, there should be information in the room to tell guests what the arrangements are. There wasn't anything in terms of information in the room, not even a pool bar menu.

We had four minor complaints that we took up with reception, none of which were resolved satisfactorily. We decided not to pursue them, because our intention was to enjoy our holiday (which we did), not to waste emotional energy on problems. One of the minor queries was that there was no remote control for the TV in the room. The person we raised the problem with came to the room, then went and fetched the cleaner to ask him where he had left the remote when he serviced the room. This was potentially humiliating for the cleaner, to raise a possible issue with him in front of us as guests, and we regarded it as unacceptable. Surely the hotel management should be on top of this sort of thing? A remote was provided for us, but the batteries died within a few minutes of using it, and even when we could use it, the TV didn't work properly. We gave up at that point, for the reasons given above.

On the positive side, the pool area was pleasant, and it was rarely difficult to get a sunbed. The pool bar staff were helpful. And Skala is a decent enough, relaxed sort of resort, although it is dominated by tourists, and feels less authentically Greek than other parts of the island.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the main road, to avoid road noise.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve been coming to skala for many yrs and have stayed at a few lovely places but we were so disappointed with Eleana studios.
We know skala is basic. It’s not that! As the rooms have plenty of storage, the beds & towels were changed twice, in our stay but
The room/ bathroom are very tired, dirty & the bed is incredibly hard and uncomfortable
We never had our bath mat changed during our stay.
We never had toilet roll put in the room. We had to keep pinching it from the pool toilets.
Thick dust & cobwebs in the room.
Cooker hood was disgusting I’ve added a photo.
We did ask the man to put toilet roll in and clean but I’m guessing he forgot.

We paid €7 per day for Aircon. Which we called them out too ! Great maintenance service, he came the same day but then after he fixed it it played up again. Just wasn’t cold at all. The safe was €15.

The road outside is very busy & noisy with big lorries thundering by. It’s a short walk
Into town but along a very busy road, with a blind corner to cross over.

Pool is lovely and pool area is clean with a pleasant young girl on the bar, she also gives you your key. Soft drinks are €2 and a large bottle of water is €1 -
Plenty of sun beds but not enough brollies- only 9 for the whole hotel which made it as some days we couldn’t sit which has never happened before.
We did go over to the Marietta.
As it’s the sister hotel but still no available brollies. Such a shame.
Wouldn’t stay here again.
Sorry

Photos are. Cobwebs / dirty floor.
Bath tap disk- black mold.
Bath mat - filthy
Black mold in bathroom.
Soap dish - thick slimy mold all around.
Dirty-bath
And tired tiles.
The extractor fan and all the black greasy mold hanging down

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shelleywelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews