We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
14
32
25
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
32
25
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015

As mentioned in some other reviews, the hotel is a bit hard to find - there is a maze of little one way streets that can lead the GPS on small circles.

The hotel is quite plain looking, but clean and modern inside, and most rooms have great view of the lake. Just down below there is a promenade along the lake and a small marina and ferry landing. It is the standard hotel for visiting scientists to stay while going to meetings at the big European Reseach Centre in Ispra. No wow-factor but quite adequate. Friendly staff who are willing to give advice on finding your way around. Restaurant is OK but nothing special. there is a small bar/café below which serves some minimal food and has a cheerful (i.e. noisy) atmosphere. In the surrounding narrow streets abpve the hotel there are a few interesting restaurants that mainly seemed to be closed - too late in the season I guess. We found one good but strange one - a Bavarian restaurant - German beer and schnitzl and a lot of fun.
Overall hotel is well located, has nice big rooms, quiet and so good value.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great. Ask for lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Not a good start - Address published is a private road and does not register on a Sat Nav. Phone hotel who apologised and gave me a nearby location to use. Then got there. Sat Nav address is:

Hotel Europa
Via Verbano
21027 Ispra VA
Italy

The good. Free off road parking, warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff, great location by the lake. Free wifi. Very close and a short walk to the town/village centre where there are a selection of shops, bars and restaurants.

The not so good. The hotel is dated and tired. Bedroom air con was a large noisy wall mounted machine, with a remote control to operate. It seemed to have mind of it's own and came on and off at random times throughout the night. Sleeping was really difficult.

Bathroom, ventilator didn't work, the room was smelly. Shower head sprayed water over the top of the shower soaking everything in the bathroom.

On reflection I wished I had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony1869831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

We were a little turned off when we walked in to our room initially because very outdated and at first felt old, but once Iooked around, it was very clean. As long as it's clean and beds are comfortable, it doesn't matter to me what era the furniture is from. This place is wonderful! We stayed for 3 nights in room 333 and views were worth the stay! The hotel is very affordable and includes breakfast. Their was lots of activity outside and a great place to vacation! Glad we stayed!

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Cristie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

The reception at the hotel was very nice and friendly, the rooms were fine although the airconditioning is quite noisy. Quality /price wise this is a good hotel with very helpful staff! (i was here on business). The distance to the restaurants are a bit long but on walking distance there is a beautiful pizzeria with fine staff. There is a nice cafe on the foot of the hotel and a little beach at the side. a very good wifi connection

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mvs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Most likely it is build in the seventies and since then nothing got changed. Rooms are very miss, You literally can hear you neighbor speak and you can enjoy flushing toilets etc. Rooms was clean, bed was ok. Staff is friendly, but is depending on the person. View is great. WIFI is good and free. Breakfast is ok for a 3 star hotel.
General conclusion: good enough for a night stay, but thats it.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews